We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Azul
Nearby Hotels
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
447
181
32
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
181
32
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barfree golfblue dreambeach club next doorcart feesmall hotelall inclusive optioncozumel country clubfishquiet vacationall inclusive planevery morninghotel guestskey lime pienorth sidebreakfast was includedocean view
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This little resort is absolutely charming. There are many cozy touches--like a wall full of candles in the evening--that make it special. In May there were very few people, but were told that even when full it doesn't seem full! It is very quiet in the evening, and that is how we like it!

The beach is small but perfect for sunbathing and snorkeling--absolutely gorgeous. With water shoes, you could definitely go for a swim. The snorkeling right there was just as good as the day trip we did from a boat elsewhere in Cozumel.

The hotel is older and not in 5-star condition, but very clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive even though away from the front desk they speak just enough english. My husband left before breakfast each day to go fishing and the kitchen made him a box breakfast to take with him. The breakfast buffet was great, but the restaurant was a little pricey. We went into town each evening and found some great places to eat. We were also on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean from our patio. There is wifi--our connection was slow but not impossible. We did see a couple tiny house lizards in our room but that doesn't freak me out. The small shower head in the large shower had great pressure. The pillows were nice.

Went to the spa each day and enjoyed excellent services and value with their daily specials. Yes, the spa is along the busy road, but the beautiful atmosphere in the spa really made up for some minor road noise.

My husband and I both felt for the price, you could find nothing like this in the states. We WILL go back and would recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontanaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

No one could ask for a better place to stay! Away from the hustle and bustle - This property is first class! The staff is wonderful! Regardless of the request or question every individual, from the front desk to the restaurant to the bar to housekeeping could not have been more helpful and welcoming! We are already planning a return trip in 2013. We cannot make enough positive comments about Playa Azul! Cozumel is a beautiful island - folks are very friendly and helpful and it is SAFE! I rented a jeep from Executive with the assistance of Playa Azul staff and travelled the island ALONE while my husband fished.

Room Tip: The ocean front master suites are huge!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bch4me55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Hotel Playa Azul at Cozumel has been one of the best places y have stayed at. This small friendly hotel with Golf included in room rate is a very good choice if you visit Cozumel. It has a private small beach in front of rooms and swimming pool. A nice bar located at the beach is an excellent spot for sun settings every day. The golf court is at 10 minutes from Playa Azul; while playing you can see several kind of animals, from small and medium size alligators or caimans, to different kind of birds, iguanas, frogs, etc. The Hotel is very clean, with modern mexican home style. People is very friendly and competent; they make you feel at home. Food and services are very good. Ask to meet Martha, she runs the hotel and speaks fluent english and can give you very good tips about the island places to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice seashore view but ask for those that are just facing the sunset
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaime n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed for 4 days starting 4/30/2012. Playa Azul was a great choice. It was close to the golf course, peacefully quiet and had great service. We were in room 401 and I highly recommend it.
It's on the top floor, on the corner, has great views and a hot tub on the balcony.
Have to agree with the guy that said the door latches need a good going over...HA
Our new favorite place in Coz. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jracer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Playa Azul and again we loved it! This time my husband and I traveled with our two kids (age 5 and age6) and my best friend. It is located about 2 miles north of the city. It is super easy to drive into town or cheap to get a taxi we rented a car from Isis.

I did notice that there was a fair amount of bar noise this trip maybe because they are now offering an all-inclusive option. Most days we stayed at the beach at Playa Azul and would head into town for lunch and dinner. Compared to other places Playa Azul is more expensive, but what the bonus is that it is a smaller resort, you feel welcomed by everyone. Plus it has a great section of beach!

The Playa Azul staff are exceptional and really make this a great hotel! Everyone treated us well and they were great with my kids......the staff get 5 stars!! A special thanks to Hernan, Yassir, Carlos, and Juan.

Yes the hotel is older and maybe a touch dated, but very clean and maintained. The included breakfast each morning was always good. The chef even made my kids mickey mouse shaped pancakes which was a big hit!

Hubby golfed 7 out of 11 days that we were there…..he loves the course.

Our last stay the mattresses were extremely hard, but they now have foam mattresses on top which made the bed much more comfortable this trip! Each room has a balcony with two plastic chairs and plastic table. It appears each room has an ocean view.

Playa Azul provides an included breakfast. It was served buffet style. The breakfast was quite substantial for being included and we were quite happy with it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beau377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews