We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays here last week. This hotel was a great find, thanks to comments on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, the weather was not the best; wind and rough surf due to Hurricane Sandy, but we still had a great time. Everyone here goes out of their way to be helpful, nothing is out of the question. My husband asked one of the waiters to order a birthday cake for me, which he did. The bakery (Zermatt Bakery) delivered it on very short notice. The room we had was very large and had a separate living room and an extra sink/vanity area just outside the bathroom. There's a lot of closet space, a safe in the room, nice bed and linens and the AC worked great. The food was fantastic. We opted for the all inclusive. No buffett lines, you order directly from the menu. The menu had almost anything you could want in the way of appitizers, soups, salads and main courses, including Mexican specialties. The fish tacos are excellent! The drinks are good and they have a nice selection of white wines and beers. We met the owner one day while hanging out at the pool. Also, the manager stopped by a few times while we were having dinner. I'd like to especially thank bartenders Filepe and Kermit. Waiters Gil, Carlos, Carlos, Tomas and Juan took excellent care of us in the dining room as well as at the outdoor restaurant and poolside. All in all, an excellent hotel, nice beach, friendly and exceptional staff, and relaxing spa which I would highly recommend to family and firends. We are already planning a return trip. Hopefully the weather will be better and we can do some snorkeling.
See our separate review of Isis Car Rental and Mystic Snorkeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MDavisTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    173
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
282
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Two reasons for staying here...1. Reviews 2. Golf. This is all you need to know...K.I.S.S!

Hotel, golf, breakfast package. Our 1st time to Playa Azul and easily saw why all the rave. The hotel is nice and simple and may be somewhat dated but not a big deal. Staff/service/food all excellent! Met the owner who made us feel at home. 3rd time to Cozumel...previous was 13 and 20 years (no golf course the last time). Thanks so much to Fernando, Hernan, Felipe, Gil, Carlos and Carlos, Rafael...everybody. Love the Cozumel quiet north end. I really liked the CCC golf. Played everyday that ends in "y" and sometimes 36.
Hope to see you again soon. We will be back!

Room Tip: We asked for a fridge and got one. Rafael found us one that worked. Should be in every room but ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I have only been to Cozumel twice, but both times we have stayed at Playa Azul. We could not imagine staying anywhere else! The staff are so nice and accommodating. Food is delicious. Views are spectacular. Drinks are good and strong. Snorkeling out front is beautiful. This is the only hotel we will ever stay in while visiting Cozumel! Hopefully, that visit will be soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The room was nice and spacious, all rooms have ocean views and a balcony. Great view of the Caribbean and Playa del Carmen, with wifi but we missed a mini fridge which makes self catering a bit more difficult.
We chose this hotel because it is a bit further away from the city center and cruise ship terminal and it had great ratings.
The hotel has a lovely little beach and you can snorkel from the beach area. But the better snorkel spots are further away. I recommend a rental car to discover all the beaches and Punta Sur.
All in all a nice, quiet hotel.

Room Tip: The corner units have a jacuzzi, the upper rooms have a fantastic ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clou123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have stayed at the El Presidente which is very nice and the Occidental which if you like all inclusive is ok, many years ago. However, we have stayed here several times and the Playa Azul has become our hotel of choice when we visit Cozumel. We stayed here September 23rd through October 1st on our most recent vacation. It always feels like you are coming home or coming back to visit close friends or family. Hernan at the front desk always has a friendly smile and a willingness to help you in any way that he can. The beds themselves are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Virtually all rooms have an ocean view. The restaurant staff led by Carlos are the absolute best. Juan, Phillipe, Gil and Kermit will treat you warmly as though you were family. The housekeeping staff do a fantastic job of cleaning your room and providing nice little touches along with the turn down service. Tip them all well as they certainly deserve it. Let me not forget the food here, whether it be a casual breakfast lunch or dinner in the Palma Azul or a more formal dinner in the Chan Kaan restaurant is as good as you can get anywhere on the island. Slow season is a great time to visit. There were times that we felt as if the small beach area was our own private domain. The water is warm and the snorkeling is good. Most of the time things are pretty quiet but can get lively when some cruise ship passengers stop by. I cannot forget to mention that golf at the Cozumel Country club can be pretty exciting with some of the wild life that you might encounter. The Golf course itself is a lot of fun and the course can be challenging. We always look forward to coming back to Cozumel and the Playa Azul.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our second stay at Playa Azul was great. We stayed in Sept of 2011 and just returned in Sept 2012. Room was very nice, clean, roomy and had outstanding views of the ocean. Service was outstanding and price was an excellent value. The hotel is excellent. We enjoyed the small but private beach. We virtually had the beach to ourselves. Breakfast was very nice and cooked to order. Wait staff was excellent. Golf was great. Clubs and cart were at total of $30. Golf course has abundant iguanas and a few crocs. Only issue was shorkel gear costs $8 additional though I did not have to pay additional for the gear on our first visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Playa Azul and loved every moment. It's clean, the staff are wonderful, the beach is small but very nice. The drinks and food (we had all-inclusive) were fantastic and it was easy to eat and drink at any time that you got hungry or thirsty since the restaurant/bar was open 7 AM to 10:30 PM. It was nice not to have to rush to make breakfast, lunch or dinner by a certain time. It made for a very relaxing trip. I have no complaint about anything and I'm a picky person!!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanview so you can't go wrong with any one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dluvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,708 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#2 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing