We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in paradise”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Playa Azul for our 10 day honeymoon and are so very pleased with our choice! We got the all inclusive package and it was quite nice to just be able to have all of our meals in one place. The menu is varied, and while we both ordered the same things several times, we enjoyed the variety. Breakfast was either a buffet or to order, depending on how many other guests were there (our first two or three days were early in the week and there were only a few other guests, there were about double during the weekend, but still not very many people). The servers and bar tenders were all wonderful and remembered our preferences for things after the second day!

We had one of the balcony rooms with a hot tub and it was wonderful to unwind out there every evening. Gorgeous sunsets every evening and a wonderful place to sit every morning to read. The hotel was very quiet the whole time, only one evening was the restaurant noise even noticeable, and then only from our balcony. We did have a small issue with our sliding door that they fixed as soon as we mentioned it and an issue with the a/c that took a day to fix, but it was bearable at night with just the fans.

We also used the connected dive shop, Blue Dream, to get our scuba certifications. They were equally wonderful and it was convenient to not have to travel anywhere for our classes or to get to the boat (except for our last dive when we wanted to go somewhere on another part of the island). The little beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, plenty of ocean life to see if you like snorkeling. We were there during the end of the rainy season and there were a few days when the water was too choppy to swim in, but it settled back down quickly and visibility didn't suffer much from all the churning.

We definitely plan to return here many times over the years, it seems the kind of place you could happily take the kids to and was definitely the romantic place we had in mind for our honeymoon. I have a feeling the staff will still remember us, many of them have been working there for quite a while. I found this place on trip advisor and want to say thank you for pointing us toward this wonderful place!

Room Tip: the balcony rooms with hot tubs are phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havalinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments! We are so happy that you had a great honeymoon and that you are planning to come back. It will be a pleasure to host you again and to organize you a romantic dinner or something special for you anniversary.
Please feel free to write us before your trip so we can help you with your journey.

Have a wonderful day
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
154
287
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

When we were considering going to Playa Azul for the first time I was wondering why a three star hotel is rated so high. I understand it now.The absence of some amenities, such as fitness club, business center did knock off a couple of stars from its rating. No yoga classes, no pottery classes, no Zumba classes, no karaoke. But it's just so happened that we did non care about those things. We, and so many other people that we've met there, who were coming to Playa Azul for years. At Playa Azul they do not do everything, but what they do, they do really well. It's all about small things. The food is freshly cooked and is really good. The restaurant does not look as flashy as in some big hotels, but the food does taste better. The wine is higher quality than we usually were getting at the big hotels. And, for the first time in our trips to Mexico and Cuba we've got good coffee! In other words, it's all about the substance. There is no pool bar, but the beach bar is really close to the water and one of our favorite things was to sit at the bar closer to the end of the day with a book, sip cocktails or beer, and watch the cruise ships passing by. I understand, it's not everybody's thing but we loved it. Speaking of cocktails, they don't skimp on rum or tequila when they make them. Again, unlike some other places that we've went to. You get great snorkeling right of the beach. But we liked to walk a couple of hundred meters south and let the current carry us all the way to the hotel. You will see lots of fish, even some barracudas.
I have to mention wonderful personnel at Playa Azul. They truly make you feel at home. There is no constant hints about tips, and if you've just happened not to have any cash with you, your cocktail will be just as good as usual.
A few changes I would like to suggest. First, on our second trip it was low season, and we did not get buffet in the morning and had to order our breakfast. It would be nice to have a breakfast menu instead of trying to guess what's available. Second, there is no minibar in the room. I think there should be at least a mini fridge in the room for cooling water. And, I would love to have better chairs on the balcony. All the rooms are facing the sea, but there are only standard plastic lawn chairs on the balconies, and they are quite flimsy. It would be nice to have more comfortable loungers there, to enjoy those great sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slava_M68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul.
Thank you very much for your nice comments and for your suggestions, we really appreciate that and based on it we will be able to improve our Hotel to give you and the other users a better service.
We hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My family and I recently took an extended vacation (21 days) to Cozumel. And even though we were staying down the street at a condo we spent at least ten of our days on the beach at Playa Azul. Very friendly staff, great drinks, pretty good food, nice and clean, nice freshwater pool, great snorkeling and did I mention the great bar staff. Oh and we saw lots and lots of Dolphins. My family and I are very much looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perkie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We hope that next time you will stay with us at Playa Azul and live the experience of being a Playa Azul guest, but most of all, a Playa Azul family member.
Have a great day and thanks again
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I loved our stay at Playa Azul. I didn’t want to stay at a mega complex but I also wanted to stay at a place that was big enough to afford a level of comfort that, as a rather spoiled American, I am used to. This hotel not only fit the bill, but also had a lot of little extras that made our stay a wonderful vacation.

We rented a car and appreciated that the Playa Azul had parking that was not only off the street but also in a lovely landscaped area. The grounds around the entrance were charming. We walked into the lobby after the tedious plane ride and were greeted by name at the desk. We checked in and one of the staff helped us up to the 3rd floor with our bags. I upgraded to a suite because we were staying in Cozumel a week and the price difference was reasonable. We walked into a sitting area with a sofa and love seat and through the hallway that had a lovely tiled counter and sink and the door to a large bathroom. Then we entered our bedroom. The beds had a cute towel animal on it but the best thing about the large room was view out off of the balcony. Like the rest of the space, the balcony was also of gracious proportions. Although the beds were a little short for anyone over six feet tall they were pretty comfortable.

We changed into our swimsuits and went snorkeling in front of the hotel. We found some little sea worlds right away. We saw parrotfish, angelfish, blue damsels, a small ray, a plethora of Sargent Majors and many other wonderful creatures. We later saw a tour from one of the cruise ships come by. Apparently the snorkeling is good enough off the hotel that the tour brought their group up there to snorkel. My favorite was seeing the cuttlefish.

After our swim we returned to the hotel where we found lounge chairs, wrapped up in beach towels the hotel provided and ordered drinks and shrimp tacos. Then we returned to our room and the air condition blast of air was refreshing. We sat on the balcony and watched the cruise ships go by. Then we would try to learn a little Spanish by watching TV.

The service was wonderful, the drinks divine and the food superb.

I signed up for the breakfast plan. The next morning we went downstairs and sat at a table that looked out across the water. We watched the birds as they tried to steal the sugar packets off the tables. Going in October we were one of the few guests in the restaurant. Instead of the high season buffet, we ordered what we wanted and Carlos and Juan brought us such wonderful breakfasts that we were all set for explore the wonders of Cozumel. The orange juice was fresh squeezed; the fruit cut into bite size pieces, the omelets perfectly cooked, and waffles were delicious. It was such a great way to begin each day. Carlos and Juan were so gracious and attentive that we were sad to say good-bye to them when we had to leave.

For supper the hotel gave us recommendations, and at times we got a percentage off because of them, and their recommendations were always wonderful.

So Playa Azul, although not a 5 star hotel, was the perfect choice for a reasonably priced, comfortable and relaxing hotel. The staff there were wonderful and It was exactly what I was looking for in the perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MabeltheDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Wow, thank you very much for your preference and tell your experience so detailed. This makes us very very happy but also helps other people to know Playa Azul better.
It will be a pleasure to host you again.
See you very soon

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were very fortunate to be invited to spend the day at Playa Azul, we stayed in another hotel but were told that the snorkeling there was much better. We were taken to the beach and there found a little slice of heaven. The water and reef were spectacular, we actually went again the next day. We were impressed with the service of KERMIT at the bar....he told us he went to Cozumel for two weeks 22 years ago..and never left...he's been at the hotel for many years and made our stay very endearing!!!! Thanks Kermit for making our days very relaxing. We toured one of the corner suites...and have every intention of returning to Playa Azul for a vacation.

Room Tip: Go snorkeling just south of the large WILMA destroyed hotel...the reef there is awesome !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, it makes us happy to read that you had fun and love snorkeling here. It will be a pleasure to host you at Playa Azul in a future and become part of Playa Azul family.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thanks to the TripAdvisor community for this one. Based on the great reviews and especially the great reviews from the multiple-repeat vistors to this resort/hotel, we decided to take a vacation at Playa Azul, Cozumel.

The statements that many made about the place being a bit aged were correct. However don't confuse aged with bad here. Our room was spotless and remained so due to the diligence of the cleaning crew. This was our first trip to Mexico that we didn't stumble across some bug lurking on the ceiling or scurrying away when the bathroom light came on.

The rooms were a bit small but we were easily able to sleep our family of 4 (10 & 13 y.o kids) on the 2 queen beds and the sofas that got made up into beds in the living room area.

We did the all-inclusive and the food was very good. Although we found ourselves wandering into town for dinners because we wanted to experience more of the local cuisine.

Our kids would take their left over bread and papaya out to the entrance area where there were turtles in an enclosed area. They had a great time tossing the food to them (and some iguanas).

The pool-bar-ocean proximity was fantastic. Each was about 30 yards from the other. So we could be at the beach or bar and keep track of the kids at the pool and vice versa. It's a small place and our kids are old enough to behave. I would not recommend leaving kids who are a bit rowdy unattended as it is a small place and people can be easily disturbed by excessive horseplay.

The service was great and friendly. Tipping was appreciated but not required. If I had some pesos or dollar bills on me, I'd tip. If I didn't I'd catch 'em later. Never got any of the typical "tude" when I was in my swim trunks at the bar without money to tip for my drink.

The beach/ocean was nice. We snorkeled right from the hotel everyday. We could swim in both directions from the hotel and see things although the reef to the right going towards an old ruined buidling was the best snorkeling area. I counted close to 30 different species of fish in any 30-40 minute adventure. The reef is a bit beat up (to my unsophisticated eyes) but there is a lot of aquatic life there.

In the area to the left of the hotel you can rent Jet-Skis. We saw boats taking scuba divers out from the dock at the hotel. The bigger hotel about 200 yards up the beach to the left had a nice restaurant (Buccanos) and offered rock climbing and zipline towers that our kids enjoyed.

Our vacation was purposefully in the low season and it was quiet and great. I don't know if I would like it as much if this small place was loaded with a bunch of little kids running around.

Anyhow, we were pleasantly surprised by Playa Azul and may be one of those Trip Advisor people who indeed return for more another day....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Greetings from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your preference and your comments. We really are happy to know you had a great time and that TripAdvisor community helped you decide.
It will be a pleasure to host you and all your kids in a future.
See you very soon

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Love this place -- location isn't close to town but just a short ride away by taxi-- rooms r gorgeous-- be sure to ask for Kermit at beach bar. Great staff all around too!! Rooms r also ocean view and some have jacuzzi's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,137 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing