We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All at your fingertips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
nsb
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“All at your fingertips”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We love this hotel because they are family run, away from the hustle of the center of town, and has the best beach in all the island. Clear blue waters with lots of fish and snorkeling opportunities at your door step. Low key atmosphere in the hotel and from staff. We were glad not to see 'spring-break' types, or anyone too chic or stuffy.
The value is not the best, however...and they could stand to lower their prices. We chose the breakfast only option, and were very happy with having a full delicious breakfast while venturing out to find dinner. There is a calm beach club next door with lunches available.
Very memorable stay, and we will come back as often as we can afford it.

Room Tip: Ocean view are a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eps_nsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Happy New Year!!
Glad to read that you want to come back with us. Don't forget to check our web site, we offer a couple of "Web Specials" in both Golf & Breakfast and All Inclusive Plan so you can choose and the price is really good.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
158
290
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Playa Azul for 4 nights for a friend's birthday. We really enjoyed this property. Our room was nice and had a beautiful view. It was also clean and comfortable. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The beach was a little small, but we didn't find it to be crowded and the water was quite pleasant. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. We also ate there a few times for snacks / lunch and found the restaurant to be good. Overall, a good place to spend a few days in Cozumel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lojo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Happy New Year and thanks for posting your experience at Playa Azul.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in a future and pamper you as you deserve.

Have a good day!
Kindly
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We choose this hotel for a week in Cozumel, because location looked not so close to the busy tourist center. And location, beach meets expectations, Rooms are clean, spacious, but .. no refrigerator (a family friedly holidy hotel ?).

But the real downgrading fact is the restaurant: we arrived december 24th and choose the x-mas dinner, at 500 Pesos not a bargain but such a total desaster: the athmosphere like a cheap cantina, the quality like tourist class dinner in an aeroplane, and the service .. Service??: Just deliving the plates .. the food was really lousy, and we had different starters, a turkey, not chrispy, no spices, just some pieces of chicken meat .. and the dessert .. dry wine (no winelist !) came as a sweet low quality liquid ... Breakfast in the same athomosphere, just delivering food and coffee, beach bar: bad cocktails at first class prices. We didnt try a 2nd time.

Result: we enjoyed the view from the balcony, but didnt use any facilties of the hotel but
breakfast ... taxi drivers are happy, the city is 80 pesos away, which we payed up to 4 times a day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boobietour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul,

First of all thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are really sorry that you had a bad experience... Likewise we are happy to inform you that we have reviewed it, and based on it we will be able to improve our service to give you and the other guests a better service.

Thank you very much
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July of 2003, (not 2013 as this review makes me choose this year). We had breakfast here, and sometimes dinner, but mostly hung out at the beach and went sight seeing. Never saw a spa or workout room. Why would you need one when the warm clear waters and beautiful outdoors are right out your doorstep!

I remember the staff being VERY friendly and accommodating.
All the buildings in Cozumel and Cancun smelled a little mildewy, but I think that is to be expected, as the climate is very humid/tropical. I think the bed was a little hard, but honestly I loved the hotel. Not too big. Quaint, clean and comfortable. Has it's own beach. Just lovely. Perfect for the price. We couldn't afford anything super fancy, and I was very worried as the taxi drove by some very very run down and shoddy hotels...I was so glad when he stopped at Playa Azul, the one I had booked. It was my first online booking outside of the US and I think I did pretty good!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hola from Playa Azul!!
We are very happy to read that you choose Playa Azul and that you were pleased and pampered as you deserve.
We hope to see you in a near future so you can enjoy another vacation with us.
Have a great year!

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked a "Ocean Front Suite" with a All-Inclusive package...
Outview was great, the food we chosed from the menucard, the drinks we ordered at the bar. The staff was extremly friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank andrewsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for posting your nice comments!! We love to be friendly and helpful with our guests that become Playa Azul family.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Have a wonderful year!

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing holiday and this hotel was perfect. In spite of the fact that the hotel offers a golf package and we are not golfers, we chose Hotel Playa Azul initially because of the comments about snorkelling being available right in front of the hotel. Indeed, it was possible to see lots of fun fish just a few feet from the beach! The hotel has a restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast every day but we also enjoyed the chance to eat at different restaurants in town in the evening. It is even possible to walk into town (takes about an hour) but taxis are plentiful. We had planned to rent a car and do several excursions but in the end it was too tempting to just relax on the beach by the hotel or sit on our balcony and watch the waves. The water is crystal clear and very warm. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Cozumel!
It is a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing time and the hotel fits to your plans. We hope to see you in a future and to pamper you as you deserve.
Happy New Year

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Playa Azul for our 10 day honeymoon and are so very pleased with our choice! We got the all inclusive package and it was quite nice to just be able to have all of our meals in one place. The menu is varied, and while we both ordered the same things several times, we enjoyed the variety. Breakfast was either a buffet or to order, depending on how many other guests were there (our first two or three days were early in the week and there were only a few other guests, there were about double during the weekend, but still not very many people). The servers and bar tenders were all wonderful and remembered our preferences for things after the second day!

We had one of the balcony rooms with a hot tub and it was wonderful to unwind out there every evening. Gorgeous sunsets every evening and a wonderful place to sit every morning to read. The hotel was very quiet the whole time, only one evening was the restaurant noise even noticeable, and then only from our balcony. We did have a small issue with our sliding door that they fixed as soon as we mentioned it and an issue with the a/c that took a day to fix, but it was bearable at night with just the fans.

We also used the connected dive shop, Blue Dream, to get our scuba certifications. They were equally wonderful and it was convenient to not have to travel anywhere for our classes or to get to the boat (except for our last dive when we wanted to go somewhere on another part of the island). The little beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, plenty of ocean life to see if you like snorkeling. We were there during the end of the rainy season and there were a few days when the water was too choppy to swim in, but it settled back down quickly and visibility didn't suffer much from all the churning.

We definitely plan to return here many times over the years, it seems the kind of place you could happily take the kids to and was definitely the romantic place we had in mind for our honeymoon. I have a feeling the staff will still remember us, many of them have been working there for quite a while. I found this place on trip advisor and want to say thank you for pointing us toward this wonderful place!

Room Tip: the balcony rooms with hot tubs are phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havalinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayazulhotelCozumel, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments! We are so happy that you had a great honeymoon and that you are planning to come back. It will be a pleasure to host you again and to organize you a romantic dinner or something special for you anniversary.
Please feel free to write us before your trip so we can help you with your journey.

Have a wonderful day
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing