We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip to Playa Azul. I love it. The hotel is nice and relaxing, but the true gem of this establishment is the staff! My first visit to this hotel was almost three years ago, and most of the same staff is in place. I can not say enough about their welcoming and gracious attitudes. I've stayed all over Cozumel, and this place is my favorite. Thank you to the staff!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank tgrinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Greetings from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your preference and your comments. We really are happy to know you had a great time and that we did a good job making you feel special.
It will be a pleasure to host you in a future.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

A good stay, rooms are nice but overall the structure is a bit old and needs some restyling. Food and cocktails are good. A romantic dinner at night in the gazebo in front of the sea is a must. Service is good. I had the impression that most of the hotels and facilities in Cozumel need some freshening up.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and your recommendation on having a romantic dinner at the gazebo.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is our second year at Playa Azul. We looked at other places on the island but wouldn't change and will be back again next year. Everyone is friendly and helpful. There is a beach and you can walk south, dive in and drift snorkel back. The staff is the best and will give you personalized service. The picture included is of Kermit and a tourist at the beach bar/restaurant. Kermit, Felipe, Luis, Juan, Angel, Carlos, Salvador, Darwin, the housekeeping staff, everyone is friendly, polite and accommodating. Food is good too. We golfed, snorkeled, dove (scuba) and enjoyed the small beach setting. Both years that we visited we met many people who return to Playa Azul year after year. Great breakfasts at their restaurant right on the beach. They accommodated our request for the same room this year. If you are looking for small and quiet this is your place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back next year.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Playa Azul. Thank you Eleazor for the great job in honoring my for the same room and refridgerator. Coming to the Playa Azul is like visiting your family you haven't seen in a years time. Everyone welcomes you with open arms and can't do enough to make your stay nothing short of perfect. Thanks to Carlos- Luis and Juan for making our meals so enjoyable- Great service provided the entire week. Kermit- Ivan-Darwin thanks to you for keeping us all hydrated at the bar with some great Bannana daquiris- cervesa's and margarita's. The 2 gentlemen at the front desk thank you for the prompt checking in and checking out process ...and great recommendations for a taxi tour and a restaurant suggestion. The hotel is small- quaint and clean. Our room was spotless and everything worked perfect. Good things come in small packages and the Playa Azul is one of them. It is like a little slice of heaven on earth. Never have to fight for a lounge chair on the beach area or by the pool. Always friendly happy people to chat with each day. Never hearing anyone complain which is so nice. We are not snorkelers nor divers but just there to enjoy a relaxing week and once again Playa Azul and it's wonderful staff didn't disappoint. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brianjams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hola from Playa Azul Cozumel!!
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back soon.
Thank you very much for your preference.

Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

playa azul was a perfect place to unwind. options to play golf, scuba, snorkel, and spa are readily available. the best part about the place is the friendly staff. they dont know how to say NO. beach bar service and open air restaurant service wonderful. luis, carlos, alejandro, felipe, and juan...thank u all for your great service. checkin was a breeze. great place. we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Greetings from Cozumel!!
It is a pleasure to read that you had a great time and you are planning to come back!!
You are part of Playa Azul family and we will be more than happy to host you again soon.
Thanks for sharing your experience :)

Have a wonderful day
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A nice boutique hotel, clean and away from the hubbub of town. Staff were really nice especially the housekeeping staff. Angel in the restaurant was a sweetheart and went over and above to accommodate. Some of the wait staff in the morning were expectant of tips when we served ourselves at the coffee bar and buffet and then had a little attitude. That was the first time I've ever encountered that in Cozumel. Lots of room on the beach to walk and explore. Went to the far side of the island and LOVED the beaches there. The car rental at the airport was a nightmare and would never rent from Hertz in Cozumel again. Extra charges and it took about 1.5 hours to get our car with 2 people ahead of us and we had all ready pre-registered. Other then that, you can't beat the weather and you have to eat at the Rock n Java in town. Fresh, delicious food.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious with nice amenities, lots of towels and they checked on you in the evening to gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancycanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello from Playa Azul Cozumel
Thank you very much for posting your experience with us at the hotel, this helps us a lot and we really appreciated. I will send your comment about the wait staff attitude to the restaurant manager to improve the service and the behavior.

We hope to see you in a future to pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had just a bit of a blip with our room. We ended up with a first floor Oceanfront Master Suite. Booking from their website, we were not aware there was a first floor option and would not have booked it due to the lack of view and privacy. They promptly made a rate adjustment when we expressed that we weren't happy. We had a 3rd floor Ocean Front Suite our first night which we would have loved to stay in, but the hotel was booked for a large wedding party, so we understood the need to move to the room we had reserved. Overall the property is well maintained and housekeeping staff keep it clean. The air conditioning in our room seemed to have a very fussy thermostat, it was either way too cold or way too hot with only minor setting changes. We didn't sleep very well several nights as a result. We also had a problem with some of the light fixtures not functioning properly in the room near the entrance door and over the niche mirror, flickering on and off randomly. It never got fixed all week, but was really a minor inconvenience. There is a bit of a tendency to see spill over of beach goers from the paid beach next door onto the hotel property which some might find irritating. We didn't spend a lot of time around the hotel during the day, so it wasn't a problem for us. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful.We usually ate late enough that we didn't bother with lunch most days. We ate a couple of dinners at the hotel which were very good, nothing gourmet. The chef even prepared fish we had caught on a fishing charter to our liking. We would definitely return on our next trip to Cozumel. We like the quiet North End of the Island. This isn't the place to go if you are looking for lots of action with night life.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room if you get the Oceanfront Mastersuite. I wouldn't bother with thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraF841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hola from Playa Azul
I am sorry to hear that you hadn't the room that you expected, but happy to know that at least you had a rate adjustment. I hope you will be back in a future and let us pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
7.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £139 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing