We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel, easy pool and beach access, but wouldn't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Hotel, easy pool and beach access, but wouldn't stay again.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you're looking for ritzy hotel, this isn't it. Mid march, ocean was cold, pool was colder, low 80s but very windy. We like to venture, most likely wouldn't stay at this hotel again. Giving it a 3 star because its very outdated. Beach and pool areas were being used by locals during our stay, but it didn't bother us any.

CONS:
1 Very outdated
2 Beach area very steep, tough current, not safe for my 2 year old (but there is another beach area walking distance from hotel that we used, although staff service didnt walk over to the area to take drink or snack orders)
3 Rainy day, power was out for few hours, unable to shower after we came in from outdoors
4 NO pm entertainment if youre looking for it, we were fine without it.
5 No iron or ironing board in rooms, Ours was picked up after one day of requesting.
6. Beds not greatest, one of two of our beds was bit stiff.
7. Bathroom wall plug wasnt working, we didnt ask for it to be fixed, but when I tried connecting the iron, i could hear sparks and some current trying to pass, bit scary actually.
8. Too many bugs(mosquitos, spiders, other flying insects) in room.
9. No fridge for toddlers milk, we just kept requesting ice from bar to keep milk cold in ice holder
10 Restaurant across street is over priced, wealthy locals eat there as well. Low key environment, you could wear shorts n sandals. Locals dress in heels and show up in bmws.


PROS:
1 Away from the city
2 Small, very quaint, quiet, definitely not hotel for spring breakers, which we loved.
3 Beach pool access was very simple, within 1-2 minutes.
4 Breakfast buffet was typical mexican dishes, nothing fancy, but edible. Omelettes and pancakes were avail fresh if desired.
5. We rented car, parking was fantastic and easy.
6. Check in/out was a breeze.
7. No card for room access, two keys with string provided.
8 Staff service was fantastic, although I felt on day one that preference was given to Anglo American visitors
9 At check in, we were loaned beach toys for our entire stay
10 Adult Pool was quite rough, could be resurfaced, but it had a built in kids pool inside adult pool for children, about 1- 1 1/2 ft deep, definitely a plus if you have small children.
11. Hotel has elevators if you need them.
12 Hotel lunch dinner menu is ok, its edible. We ate out almost daily, except for brkst.

Room Tip: Most all rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_mom713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Greetings from Cozumel!!
Thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to read that you had some pros and we appreciate all the details. Based on it we already have the maintenance person checking the bed on the room and the bathroom wall plug. The fridges are upon request, we do not have much but it is a small fridge enough for the baby’s milk, sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    178
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
161
291
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Playa Azul primarily because of the great reviews. We were sorely disappointed, right from the start. We usually stay at the Melia next door because of the inclusion of golf as part of some of their packages, but thought we would try Playa Azul because it also included the golf. We would not return to Playa Azul. We found the rooms, although quite large, to be old, musty and decorated like it was the 1960’s. This facility needs an overhaul. My bed slanted sideways and gave me a backk ache every night.
Further, everybody seemed to rave about the service. We never found the service to be anything but average, and many times below average. As an example, the facility advertises bicycles were available, when we asked, it turns out they don’t have them on site and it takes 1 – 2 hours to have them delivered, then , because it was a Sunday, they couldn’t get the bicycles delivered and we had to drive in to town to pay for the rental????????? All the while, it was like pulling teeth to get the information and assistance to find the bikes, finally, we went on line and arranged our own rentals. Another example of questionable service, is when we went to check out and pay our bill, we had ordered room service and paid for the service at the door, they wanted to charge us a second time. Also, my wife had purchased a couple of drinks, left a cash tip, and then had a 50% tip added on after the fact by somebody on the bill when we went to leave!!!!!!! We made sure they took these charges off the bill, and that was not an easy task!
We would definitely not recommend staying here, the hotel needs an update form the 1960’s, service was barely average at best and the only food we tried was breakfast (besides a very average room service of salad and sandwich) which we both found to be well below average.
Next time, back to the Melia……..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EddieNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello from Playa Azul Hotel
We want to thank you for your comments, and tell you that based on it we will be able to improve all our services to give you and the other users a better service. The extra cost for the room service was the cost that is added for the room service besides the total order and probably it was a misunderstood. Anyway we are sorry that you had a bad experience...

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clair Shores, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I returned from Playa Azul just under a week ago and I was pleasantly surprised. First let me lay the land for you on what I am comparing this to. We tend to be resort snobs so no this is not a 4 star hotel, but the service, general atmosphere, having a beach in Cozumel and not having a crazy crowded all-inclusive gives Playa Azul a 4 star. We also do not want a loud and crazy place and this was just perfectly quiet and every room has an ocean view.

Yes you will see reviews that say it could use updating, but I saw nothing that was broken, bad or ugly. (Don't forget folks you get what you pay for!) The staff were attentive and friendly. Our room was nice (nothing fancy) but clean and I slept well, had plenty of space to unpack and stow our suit case and dive bags. We had a 1st floor walkout (a must have in our book) which was closest to the beach (about 8 yards) and about the same to the pool! Don't bother paying extra for the outdoor "jacuzzi" ... as it is a glorified jet bath tub and we never used ours as it is not filled!

We opted for the all-inclusive as frankly when we go diving we really don't want to be trying to find a place to eat for dinner. We get back from diving, have snack/lunch, put back several cocktails, chillax and then have dinner around 7-8pm ... then hit the hay and do it all over again!

Food wise... breakfast is buffet with a cook to prepare eggs as you please. Plenty of choices to please anyone. Lunch (snacks or whatever you want) are from the standard menu. Everything we had was good. At first I was worried about opting for all inclusive at first glance at the menu, but I was pleasantly surprised. Everything I had was delicious. I do highly recommend the Lime Soup for dinner or lunch!

I would have no problem recommending Playa Azul to any friend or family member. We truly had a relaxing time and would not hesitate visiting again. For divers, there is a dive shop just adjacent/onsite called Bluedream Cozumel. They provided good service and very reasonable rates. They are a fairly new dive outfit, but they were flexible and courteous.

Kids: we did not bring our kids, but there were families here. There is no kids program, but as stated there is a beach and the kids seemed to have blast on the beach and the snorkeling was popular.

Cruise ships: Playa Azul does let some ship excusions use their facilities. We were off diving when one group showed up during our stay, but never heard any complaint about this being a problem.

If you are looking for a small boutique style hotel with a beach in Cozumel ... you found it!

Room Tip: Don't bother with a jacuzzi room .... all rooms have ocean view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubakaratemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hola from Playa Azul!!
It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Playa Azul for the first time. Wow it is so detailed and so nice :) This review will help so many to know the hotel, the dive shop and the staff!! and that's what we want for all of our guests, a great experience at Playa Azul!!
We all hope to see you in a future and pamper you as you deserve because you are part of Playa Azul family.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip to Playa Azul. I love it. The hotel is nice and relaxing, but the true gem of this establishment is the staff! My first visit to this hotel was almost three years ago, and most of the same staff is in place. I can not say enough about their welcoming and gracious attitudes. I've stayed all over Cozumel, and this place is my favorite. Thank you to the staff!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tgrinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul!!
Thank you very much for your preference and your comments. We really are happy to know you had a great time and that we did a good job making you feel special.
It will be a pleasure to host you in a future.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A good stay, rooms are nice but overall the structure is a bit old and needs some restyling. Food and cocktails are good. A romantic dinner at night in the gazebo in front of the sea is a must. Service is good. I had the impression that most of the hotels and facilities in Cozumel need some freshening up.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and your recommendation on having a romantic dinner at the gazebo.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This is our second year at Playa Azul. We looked at other places on the island but wouldn't change and will be back again next year. Everyone is friendly and helpful. There is a beach and you can walk south, dive in and drift snorkel back. The staff is the best and will give you personalized service. The picture included is of Kermit and a tourist at the beach bar/restaurant. Kermit, Felipe, Luis, Juan, Angel, Carlos, Salvador, Darwin, the housekeeping staff, everyone is friendly, polite and accommodating. Food is good too. We golfed, snorkeled, dove (scuba) and enjoyed the small beach setting. Both years that we visited we met many people who return to Playa Azul year after year. Great breakfasts at their restaurant right on the beach. They accommodated our request for the same room this year. If you are looking for small and quiet this is your place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back next year.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Playa Azul. Thank you Eleazor for the great job in honoring my for the same room and refridgerator. Coming to the Playa Azul is like visiting your family you haven't seen in a years time. Everyone welcomes you with open arms and can't do enough to make your stay nothing short of perfect. Thanks to Carlos- Luis and Juan for making our meals so enjoyable- Great service provided the entire week. Kermit- Ivan-Darwin thanks to you for keeping us all hydrated at the bar with some great Bannana daquiris- cervesa's and margarita's. The 2 gentlemen at the front desk thank you for the prompt checking in and checking out process ...and great recommendations for a taxi tour and a restaurant suggestion. The hotel is small- quaint and clean. Our room was spotless and everything worked perfect. Good things come in small packages and the Playa Azul is one of them. It is like a little slice of heaven on earth. Never have to fight for a lounge chair on the beach area or by the pool. Always friendly happy people to chat with each day. Never hearing anyone complain which is so nice. We are not snorkelers nor divers but just there to enjoy a relaxing week and once again Playa Azul and it's wonderful staff didn't disappoint. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianjams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hola from Playa Azul Cozumel!!
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back soon.
Thank you very much for your preference.

Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing