We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Friendly”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Playa Azul is a nice little gem in Cozumel. Went for a golf tournament and took the entire hotel with our group. The staff was friendly and helpful. English is easily spoken and they are even willing to help you pick up a bit of Spanish here and there. The balcony rooms have a lovely view! Anything we requested was handled quickly and with a smile. The Peña Colada's are yummy. Ask for a floater of dark rum on top to make it extra special. The diving is great and the golf fun.
The only draw back for me was the bed are very hard. Some like it that way, just not my preference.

Room Tip: I would definitely request a ocean facing balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Cozumel
Thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to inform you that we have reviewed your feedback, and based on it we will be able to improve our Hotel to give you and the other users a better service. Do you remember your room number by any chance, so we can check the bed? Can you send it to me by email at playanet@playa-azul.com
Thank you very much and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again next year at the Playa Azul Invitational.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
154
287
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Returning to the hotel for the 4th time and knowing what to expect and to be handled better than expected is always a good thing. This is a small, quiet, friendly and clean hotel. To be able to pay a small price for golf and hotel at one of the best Mexico destinations makes it hard not to return to this "gem" of a place. We were part of the Playa Azul Golf Invitational that is held every April. The food and bar service is impeccable. The ceviche is a must when visiting this hotel. Thanks gang!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaChicTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hola from Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa
Thank you very much for posting your nice compliment!! We are happy to read that you had a great time and that you were part of the Playa Azul Invitational!!
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you for the next tournament.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Returned to Playa Azul in early April for 3rd consecutive year during my wife's spring break. Great spot 10 minutes north of the downtown hotel zone. The 50+ rooms are clean and comfortable, not fancy, with terrific oceanfront views and nice balconies. Beds are quite comfortable, even by US standards - not always a given in Mexican hotels. Housekeeping and restaurant staff are friendly and go out of their way to meet your needs. Guests are usually golfers or adults looking for some quiet time. away from the busy downtown hotels or bigger properties south of town.. Beach bar is convenient to the outdoor lounging area but not intrusive. Breakfast buffet is included and more than adequate - several hot dishes plus omelets, waffles, plenty of fruit, etc. We rarely eat on-site other than breakfast, but food quality and prices are on a par with other hotels. Blue Dream Divers is on-site and departs from the pier in front of the hotel - prices are somewhat higher than in-town dive shops, but not unreasonable for the convenience of door to door service. They seem to go mostly to the northern dive sites, so diving Palancar may require using another dive shop. Golf course is just up the street and worth playing at least once for a change of pace and observing crocs and other wildlife. Green fees are free for Playa guests; cart and club rentals run around $100. Taxis are a must and fairly priced, though we always get a car so we can get to the beaches to the south and eastern side of the island. After 3 stays we still have no desire to stay anywhere else but Playa Azul.

Room Tip: Higher floors (3rd or 4th) get a nice evening breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck4lifeVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Family Hickman!!
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments, we love to hear that you had a great time and wish to come back again. You are part of Playa Azul family and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a smaller resort (50 rooms), which means that they avoid some big, loud crowds. The rooms are not huge, but are clean and well-furnished, with large balconies facing the water.

There's a small spa and golf (which we did not try), but the highlight for us is access to a small beach with easy but rewarding snorkeling, and a dive shop with fishing and scuba charters, parasailing, and more. It really did have a nice balance of things to do with quiet and relaxation (absolutely no fighting for beach chairs). The property is lovely and well-maintained.

It's a little out of town (3 miles), so either plan on renting a car or budget for cabs. You'll be going in to town a fair amount, and it's worth it to not do the all-inclusive--although the food at the resort is quite good, the town have some wonderful options.

Service deserve a special mention. It's crazy good--partially a function of the size, but they also do not treat you like a corporate resort would. Our daughter lost her eyeglasses just before we were checking out, and Hernan from the front desk found them, emailed us, then drove to the airport and waited for us at the front door with the glasses for us to retrieve before we got on our flight.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and face the water; did not seem like any bad options but first floor, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings from Playa Azul Hotel
Thank you very much for your preference. We are really happy to know you had a great time and that we did a good job making you feel special.
It will be a pleasure to host you again and pamper you as a Playa Azul family member.
See you soon
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to Playa Azul for 10 days in March with my husband and two sons. Playa Azul is something special. If you want entertainment, buffet lines, loud music and crowds, this is not for you. This is a quiet place with great service. We thought our boys would get bored and they did not. They snorkeled all day, went boogie boarding not to far from the hotel and loved jumping off the pier. The snorkeling is great. We did buy swim shoes, but did not use them to get in the water. There was enough sand for us to walk in to swim.
The rooms are dated and do need an update. For the price, I would think the rooms would be nicer. But the view and service made up for this!
The beach bar is great. All the bartenders are wonderful. You meet a lot of new people just hanging out and eating lunch at the bar.
If I can suggest anything, the beach bar should be open later. Sometimes would close at 5 or 6pm. I feel that it should be open until 9 or 10pm, so you can have drinks in the evening or even dinner at the bar. Other customers mentioned the same thing as well.
Will we go back, YES! Already made our reservation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HolaAloha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hola from Playa Azul Cozumel
Thank you very much for posting your beautiful compliment!! It feels so good to know that you had a great time and that you plan to come back next year.
Thank you very much for your preference.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beach club is a great place to spend a day. Easy beach entry, plenty to see while snorkeling, not to mention the sooo blue water. Waiters are attentive. Prices are fair compared to area venues. Key Lime Factory across the street rocks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobenoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello from Playa Azul Cozumel
Thank you so much for your Beach Club comment. We are very happy to know that you had great time and we hope to see you in a near future.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I are here from April 7 - 13. We are seasoned vacationers in the Caribbean and usually stay All-Inclusive. This trip we decided to go pay as you go. Our budget was less than previous trips. We selected this resort based on the following; recommendations and internet travel reviews.
This resort is older than nearby resorts and very laid back. I was very disappointed at arrival. There is only one restaurant, an inside/outside bar. The pool is small and in need of remodeling. The staff does a great job at managing what the have and are very friendly. The food is very good. The drinks are very good.

Reasons for not coming here; small older resort. One small swimming pool. Don't stay here if you want nice sandy beaches. The small section is loaded with coral. Once you get passed the coral it' sandy. You will not get your money if you pay All inclusive. I would not stay here with children because of the beaches and lack of activity for everyone. They would not like the food as well.

The resort web site does not depict the true conditions here. Will we get our monies worth, Yes!. However, I would not come bach here again. We have spoken with other adults staying here and they come back year after year. My wife and I cannot figure why.

I hope this review is helpful.....Terry

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room on the top floor in the four hundred area. Management wanted to move us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola P, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hola from Playa Azul Hotel
Thank you for submitting your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to inform you that we have reviewed your feedback, and based on it we will be able to improve our Hotel to give you and the other users a better service.
If you change your mind, we will be happy to host you again and pamper you as you deserve.
Kind regards
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing