We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oustanding Service”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Playa Azul has some of the nicest, friendlist staff in all of Cozumel. Everyone, from the guest relations people to the bartenders and servers were as nice and hospitable as could be. It's a smaller hotel so the staff tries really hard to go the extra mile. So, as far as service goes it was absolutely excellent- nicest people in the world. As far as the rest of the hotel goes, I would say it was fair to nice. The rooms are okay, not very luxurious, but very clean and you have everything you need. The hotel grounds are decent but not very nice compared to most other hotels. The food was pretty good with a very decent complimentary breakfast buffett every morning. The waiters were excellent and would not only remember your name, but also whether you liked cream or sugar in your coffee. They would ask you about your day and were always be willing to offer advice about what to do and where to go in Cozumel. There are not a lot of amenities and things to do around the hotel other than use the small spa (hardly a spa) or lay on the beach. The beach area is okay, kind of small but there are plenty of shaded areas and at sunset there are hardly any people out there. When the sun does go down, it's absolutely beautiful because your facing west looking out over the water. Overall, the hotel staff is what made our experience enjoyable. And for the price I think it was a pretty good deal.
Cozumel is a beautiful place and if your in to snorkeling or scuba diving then there are more than enough places to go and plenty of companies to take you there. And the people are incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PendletonAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    176
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
158
290
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This is our 6th trip to Cozumel and one of the best. Definitely a memorable vacation. We have stayed at El Cid once, Sol Cabañas del Caribe (which was our favorite until Hurricane Wilma remodeled and closed it down) 3 times, Hotel Cozumel 2 months after Wilma. Playa Azul is our current favorite. We prefer smaller, family friendly, laid back places, not too much nightlife (you can go into town for that), good food, easy access to the beach and simple luxuries.

The management and staff are accommodating, friendly and anticipate your needs. We met the owner, Fernado and he is a great host. Always available but not conspicuous. His family was also staying here for a visit and he always kept an eye on the guests even when dining and on the beach with his family.

The staff got to know us and would have our special requests at the ready. They learned that I like extra lime with my margaritas and always gave me a big slice or two without my asking! We knew all of them by first name and took many pictures.
When a small problem occurred with a check, they made it right by giving us a free drink or something else with no question or arguments.

We enjoyed the food every time. No so-so or bad meals. Breakfast every morning is included and the choices were plentiful. They served several standard items, waffles, pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereal with trimmings, fresh made eggs & omelets to order. Each day they would have 2-3 unique items such as chorizo with prickly pear cactus (very good). The buffet well attended and the waiters kept our coffee cups full.

The spa is small, but is big enough for the size of the hotel. Isbel, the manager/masseuse/manicurist, gave me a wonderful back massage that took out the knots in my back, and believe me, there were many. She also did a great job on my nails, which were in rough shape. The prices are very reasonable, atmosphere relaxing. The manicure area was outside of the massage rooms beside the courtyard, so as we chatted about everything, I kept a keen eye on the birds. A real treat!

The Wi-Fi works better in the lobby and is limited in the veranda restaurant. We had pretty good connection in our room. If no connection, they quickly reset the system. Oh my, we used to get upset when we couldn't get good TV reception, now we are desperate for the internet--hey, we're on vacation, do we really need internet? Well, we did find this site helpful for restaurant reviews, bird watching references and, of course, e-mail and Face Book.

We met many friendly families from Europe, USA and Mexico. Made new friends and exchanged e-mail addresses. That was a plus. Everyone liked the hotel and gave us tips on where to eat and where to find the best bird watching sites. Many recommended the golf course for bird and wildlife sightings, said it was the best spot and some shared pictures of the wildlife there. They weren't even avid or basic bird watchers, but the beauty of the warblers and water birds caught their attention. We have yet to go there because they prefer not to have non-golfers on the course after 8:30 am, so we may rent a cart and clubs for $75 usd to pretend we are golfing to get in there. They do offer a guided tour early in the day for $50 usd. Not bad, but we would prefer to do it on our own as long as we keep up with the golfers.

Also, we must say, at this time of the season, we sighted many beautiful birds right in the hotel courtyards. Many endemic species as well as migratory warblers, orioles. It is a wonderful experience to walk out the front door of your hotel and see three or four new species every day without a lot of effort.

We definitely will return to Playa Azul and look forward to renewing our love of this island paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkronCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were really pleased with this hotel. I thought it looked a bit dated & worn in some of the pictures, but that is not the case at all. It is beautiful, with Mexican terra cotta tiles & other tile throughout, stucco walls. Our room was very large, with a great big bathroom, large shower, and 2 closets. As far as I could tell, all the rooms have ocean views. You can sleep at night listening to the waves. Breakfast is included. It was good, but not great. There was an omelet bar, fresh fruit, waffle-maker. It was fine, just not as good as we got at other places in Mexico. The food was expensive if you stayed at the hotel for lunch or dinner. If you don't have a car, you'll have to take a cab into San Miguel to eat & shop. It costs 80 pesos each way in Dec 2010, about $12-14 so that can add up. The hotel is isolated - not much around there. On the up side, it has a beach & great snorkeling right in front of the hotel. I didn't see that combination at a lot of other facilities. There is a snorkeling/scuba business located on the property. My husband & I did a PADI refresher course in the hotel pool & did 4 dives each. Total cost $400. I think that was very reasonable. I know we paid a lot more last time we dived (15 yrs ago in USVI).
On the downside, the pool needs to be repainted/resurfaced. It was clean, but not too pretty.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandinmyshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssmithne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I can't give this hotel 5 stars because I've stayed at the Ritz in St. Thomas and that hotel warrants 5 stars. However, this hotel is about one-fourth of the cost and is very charming and we enjoyed our stay almost as much. I believe every room has a porch that overlooks the ocean and the view is wonderful. The rooms were clean and bed has nice linens. The service was good and the staff always seemed to try to please. The breakfast buffet was perfect with made to order waffles, pancakes and omelets. The drinks were not watered down and the lunch was good. We did not eat dinner there. We enjoyed our spa visit very much. My husband and son are divers and they thought the dive shop was professional and their dives were great. We did not golf.

The location was on the northwest side about 10 minutes from downtown (the airport was only about 5 minutes away). We took taxis (which were always waiting at the hotel) and was $8 for our family of four. The only excessive cost was the price of the taxi to the hotel. We were charged $80 and not sure why it was so expensive.

The negatives: Small pool size (which didn't bother us since we go for the ocean) and needs some updating. Also, there is a public beach club next door so occasionally people not staying at the hotel would walk through the hotel's beach. (Apparently in Mexico, all beaches are open to the public by law.) It is best not to leave anything of value laying around at your beach chair. The elevator was broken when we were there and we were on the fourth floor (but again, we didn't care since it was the only exercise we got all week).

One final thought..We were told that the economy in Cozumel is suffering terribly because of the global economy and because of bad press relating to violence against tourists in Mexico. However, we felt safe in Cozumel. We rented a jeep for a day and toured the island on our own and ate at a neat restaurant called Coconuts, which was in the middle of nowhere. It seemed to us that Cozumel was safe and the island needs tourists to survive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerby12
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We are the type of travellers who don't need a lot of glitz and glamour and this hotel was perfect for us! Room was big and clean. and king bed was actually very comfortable. We had more pillows than we knew what to do with. I loved keeping the screen open at night and listening to the waves. View was awesome. Beach was small, a little rocky in spots but felt very private and was great for swimming and a little novice snorkeling. Breakfast each morning on the veranda was quite nice and I liked the selection. Turtles out front were funny. We rented a car to get in and out of town which is only a five minute drive-worth it. Parking downtown was no problem.
We were looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation and got it. Thank you Playa Azul. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My fiancee and I stayed here for 5 nights in December. We booked through the online four night special and stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool, with the Caribbean Sea beyond. The rooms have a traditional Mexican feel with an aquatic theme. The hotel is not centrally located. It is an 80 peso ride from the ferry. The location kept us away from the hotel for the entire vacation, except for sleeping. Everyone who works in the hotel is very helpful at any given time. There is a pool table, shuffle board, treadmill and computer available during your stay. We had the breakfast that was included one day. We arrived minutes before the end of breakfast and some items tasted as if they had been sitting out all morning. However, the made to order eggs and waffles were tasty. The dinner menu was good, but limited. We never utilized the free snorkel equipment, the pool or the beach for that matter, but they all looked nice. We spent the last night in a room with a hot tub. This room was quite large and the view was impressive. The hot tub was great too. I have no actual complaints about the hotel, but I have had better in Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_K-of_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My family (12/17 y/o girls) and another with a 14/16 y/o girls have been to Cozumel a few times before together. Each time we had stayed at the same hotel, the Casa del Mar. Wanting a change, we decided to try the garden house at this hotel. The hotel was far from everything. Going to the town from there would have been an expensive taxi ride. The garden house we booked felt unsafe, being in the front of the building open to everything, and someone to the side, next to service entrances and a laundry facility. It was really sketchy, and we saw it during the day! HUGE iguanas, lizards, birds and bugs were all over the way to the house. This may not be bad to all, but to young girls it was terrifying. There were really only twin beds or terrible excuses for doubles. (which isn't ideal when you have to couples). If we would have stayed the couples would have either had to squish together (in which case they would have stayed up sweating all nice b/c the air conditioning didn't work). Aside from that, it was dark, the terrace they claim to have was nothing but an old lawn chair stuck outside a door, and the kitchen (as well as the rest of the place) was run down. The living room was small, so our group wouldn't have had a common area. The TV was also broken. To make matters worse, there were lizards IN THE HOUSE, and lets not forget the bugs to compliment them. The hotel was far from impressive as well. The pool was OK, but the beach was tiny. There was no space to lay out or swim, seeing as there were rocks everywhere. The water was gross and greenish looking, and filled with baby jellyfish (which may have just been bad timing).The food at the restaurant was OK. If it wasn't the only option at the time I would have never eaten there. The service was bad, as well. We couldn't stay in the garden house we booked, seeing as the girls were too scared to go anywhere near it and there was not enough room for us (not as many beds as we were told there would be), etc etc so we went to the front desk to ask to be moved to rooms. The rude woman refused to do this, unless we paid even more money. There were also only two rooms left, with only king sized beds, which would not work for having teens. Four grown people on a king sized bed? no thanks. After saving for this trip for a year and months of planning, we were not going to waste our time at this place and asked for a refund. They would not refund most of the money we had paid. As a result, our budget for extras was cut significantly. In the end, it was worth leaving this godawful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesthecarribeansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing