We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent price”
Review of Suites Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suites Bahia
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Suites Bahia is located three blocks from the ferry and just off the malecon, so very convenient. The kitchenette includes a microwave, plates, bowls, no cutlery and no dishcloth or dishsoap. Our room had one queen and one king sized bed, both were comfy. There was a nice balcony that looked onto a side street, air conditioning and lots of cable TV. The streets below are noisy with party people in the evenings. So, if screaming in the middle of the night bothers you, this is not the place for you. There is a safe in the room and the Mexican architectural feature of a window that opens into the hallway. So, people concerned about security, might be sleepless. Some of the staff spoke English, and sometimes there was someone at reception, and sometimes there was no one there. There's a GREAT coffee shop across the street.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10flags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Staff was gracious and friendly. Room was nice and well maintained. No noise problems for sleeping. They partner with another hotel about two blocks away to provide a lovely breakfast.

The location is good, too, if you like being near the heart of the action. Walking distance from the ferry, restaurants, supermarket, and the local municipal market. Also, near a shop selling fine tequilas (better than the Duty Free shop).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherZen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a great value hotel. When off the ferry you to to the main street (turn right towards the cruise ships) - go down 4 blocks and look to the left down the streets and you will see it - or see the Pizza Hut. The hotel entrance is right across the pizza hut.
You don't need a taxi and can walk there from the ferry with a 5 min walk.

Location is great close to all the shops shopping and you can get to the town center and restaurants, grocery store anywhere to get anything you want really with a 5 min walk. If you need any recommendations the hotel staff will tell you where everything is.

I booked expedia.com.mx and got a deal and check-in was easy and seamless. The hotel staff and service is friendly and very helpful with anything - restaurant recommendations and getting set up on the free wifi. I was on the 4th floor off the street - quiet and great location. The room I had was two queen beds, a kitchenette with refrig. Simple- clean - and aircon and also TV.
Some rooms have a balcony and are on the street.
Includes a free breakfast at a sister hotel - Casa Mexicana - a short walk on the main road down a couple of blocks away from the ferry. Breakfast incl. - with cereal, made to order omelets, waffles, eggs, toast, fruit and so on. 1st class breakfast.
There are some great restaurants pizza hut across the street - a really nice Italian restaurant Sensi -

Bottom line it is not a luxury hotel and can be a bit dated. Beds were nice and and not too bad to sleep. This hotel is a safe bet for someone solo - or traveling with friends, or diving. You really can't go wrong with the hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Initially I booked another hotel, but was moved to Bahia due renovation. The upgrade was to better as this was closer to everything, few meters from main avenue and few blocks from the center. Many local restaurants around. The breakfast is organized few blocks from the hotel in "sister" hotel. we just loved the breakfast, so many choices and they all so rich! The room was decent size and it had little kitchen - great for making fast snacks or cooling down your drinks! Will come again!

Room Tip: Make sure you purchase with breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This budget hotel is just a couple of blocks away from the ferry terminal. No need to take a taxi! The entrance is on the side street, with a small reception area and has a couple of free computers for guests to use. We got a corner room on the top (4th) floor, which has a balcony with ocean view and side street view. The room has free wifi, a jacuzzi, a mini-fridge, a small walk in closet, and a mini tv with mostly Spanish channels. The bar/restaurant on the side street can be very loud, but if you close the door and turn on the air conditioning (which is loud), much of the noise can be minimized. We spent 4 nights there, and I think by midnight the music has died down. I had ear plugs and didn't bother me. But I suppose it can be a bit louder on the lower level. The room itself is a bit dated, but for the price, it's definitely worth it.

The free breakfast at Casa Mexicana a couple blocks south was great! It has good fresh orange and grapefruit juice, made to order eggs, french toast, pancakes, bread, some hot dishes, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereal to choose from.

Plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance. I would come back again for sure!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor or choose a room not facing the side street to avoid the noise from the bar/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you're looking for a hotel right in the heart of everything then this is the place for you. Located on the corner, across the street from the ocean, this place is affordable clean and convenient to the downtown square. No amenities to speak of but the hotel is clean and all about location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Since the late 90s I've stayed at Bahia probably seven or eight times. For the price and convienience it's hard to beat. I enjoy staying here during Carnival, especially if I get a front room overlooking Av. Melgar. I have such a room booked for Carnival (our version of Fat Tuesday, the day before Lent begins) in March 2014. The included breakfast at sister hotel Casa Mexicana is just one bonus. The entire hotel staff are really great and very eager to please. It's right in town, so expect a little noise or just turn on the air conditioner or TV. You'll be just fine. It's not real modern looking but it is super clean. Suites Bahia makes vacationing affordable and enjoyable all at the same time!

Room Tip: Front rooms with balcony offer the best views (for a little more money).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtcusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Bahia

Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar sur 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £34 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suites Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Bahia Hotel Cozumel
Bahia Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing