We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barracuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barracuda
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Every time we go to Cancun we always take a day trip to Cozumel. This summer was no exception except we decided to spend the night on the island. So glad we decided to do this!! Found this hotel in Cozumel by looking on the web at our Cancun hotel and saw the price was like $70, but when we got over there we had to pay rack rate of almost $100 ... not knowing where this hotel was actually located we didnt book on line and wanted to ck it out b4 staying there... it was the perfect location!! We got off the ferry and decided to take the horse and buggy ride to the hotel. Directly on the ocean.
Room was clean, very basic (dont bother asking for more towels. U get 2 and thats it), had small balcony with 2 chairs that overlooked the pool and ocean, small bathroom- esp shower, and cold A/C. Pool is small but had swim up bar- a nice touch!! No beach but direct ocean access by steps leading down to a very rocky area. Dive boat pick up at hotel which is perfect for divers!
We walked in to town the next morning for breakfast right on the square... love eating outside!
Picked up our scooters for the day for the bargain price of $20 ea. They start at about $40 but they are really wanting to make the sale so they work w/u on the price! Drove the scooter back to the hotel, checked out and they held our luggage (1 pc) for the day.. a really nice touch. We always take our scooters around the island and do our own "Corona" tour stopping at all the local bars, snorkeling, and playing in the ocean along the way... love chatting with all the locals!! Got back to the hotel around 7pm just in time for a quick dip in the pool, and a few drinks b4 heading back into town for dinner on the square and our ferry back to Playa... yes they even let us use the pool to freshen up a bit .. really nice of them to do that!!
BONUS... MegaMart is directly across the street... u must go in and see all their neat products they offer and take a ride on the "grocery cart" escalatur... it was soooo cool!,
This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for - would not hesitate to stay again!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BUCKEYEBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    56
    49
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
46
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in April. Liked the ocean views from my room, comfortable and clean. Friendly Staff. Diving available on site. Nice pool area and accessible to the ocean for swimming or snorkeling. MegaMart right across the street. Close to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dubbinhottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Located directly on the water and downtown. Perfect scuba diving trip. You get picked-up directly from the hotel dock every morning. Rooms are very basic but clean. We dive up to 4 dives a day so did not see the room much. Walking distance to many restaurants, ferry, shopping, etc..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

When I arrive the front desk tall me there have no reservation under my name and they couldn’t give me any room because there were no vacancy.
I did make the reservation on line 4 weeks prior and pay for it, but as I can see they have terrible organization, no booking or software control other than a simple paper list of who is arriving that day. The personal has terrible service and they didn´t even try to find my another option.
Also the Hotel look old and not to clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luis_butron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at the Barracuda over Thanksgiving week 2011. Note that this is not a "resort" or luxury hotel by any means. The rooms are modest, and there aren't any resort-type services or activities. It is a great hotel if you are on the island to dive and primarily use a hotel for sleeping. If you plan to hang out at the hotel a lot, you may be happier with a resort.

The pros - great location (walking distance to town, on the water, all rooms have an ocean view, most dive operations will pick you up at their pier, across the street from Mega), clean with daily maid service, safe, inexpensive (prices often drop to fill vacancies if you wait to book your trip - I paid $48/night by waiting until 4 days before my trip), mini-fridge in room.

The cons - no in-room safe (keeping stuff at the house safe is a pain). Pool area is loud and crowded during the day - generally not a problem for me as I would get back from diving at 2 or 3 and the pool area quiets downs around 5. Water pressure in my room (401) was pretty weak, but manageable.

Other things to consider: No elevator and I had a 4th floor room - I like taking stairs, but if it is a problem, request a room on a lower level. Beds were very firm - again, I like firm beds, but consider if you have a strong preference otherwise. Staff seemed friendly, but I had very little interaction with them, so I can't really comment much about that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PSUsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband is a diver and I'm a snorkler, so we thought we'd try the Hotel Barracuda on this trip to Cozumel. My husband had stayed there many years ago on a dive trip, and didn't have very nice things to say about it, but that had been over 20 years ago. I was sure it had been updated since then. Turns out....not so much updating. Just a basic room with 2 double beds. HARD beds. TV, but no remote, no hair dryer, no shampoo; but we did have a small fridge. There is plenty of hot water and clean towels, and all rooms have a spectacular Caribbean/Pool/Bar view. From your balcony you can watch cruise ships come and go, parasailing, Mexican Navy maneuvers and many ocean swimmers and snorkelers. The dive boats will pick you up right behind the hotel, and you can snorkel right off the dock there. The pool is well maintained, food is decent at the pool bar, and the wait staff are friendly and helpful.The hotel houses the No Name Bar which is the gathering place for off-duty cruise ship crew. They are serious about blowing off steam, and the party goes on every day. Good news....they don't generally party late at night. The hotel is in a great location for restaurants, shopping, directly across the street from Mega, the local supermarket. Not a luxury hotel, but if you just want to dive and/or party, the Barracuda is fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for going on 11 years. It is great for scuba divers. Dive Paradise picks up up at their pier. Comfortable rooms. No frills. Recently remodeled. Nothing for kids, homeymooners, ect... But perfect for what it is. Also walking distance from town

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinnailbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#38 of 51 in Cozumel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 51 in Cozumel
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda

Property: Barracuda
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar 628, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barracuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barracuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Cozumel
Barracuda Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing