We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diver ease to pier”
Review of Barracuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barracuda
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As a middle-aged woman diver, this is the hotel for me and my diving friends. For over 12 years I have been coming to this hotel for Cozumel diving. The hotel has 37 standard rooms and two kitchenette suites – a majority of the rooms have a Caribbean ocean view. Each room features A/C, ceiling fan, two double beds, balcony, cable television, and a refrigerator. Free Internet is available in the lobby.
I can walk to the cheaper local taquerias for dinner and avoid the expensive restaurants. Jeanie's for breakfast next door offers a 10% discount to Barracuda guests. The breakfast at Jeanie's is a full meal for the price. Amenities near the hotel include a health spa with licensed chiropractor and full staff of message therapists to pamper you, car rental, souvenir shopping, grocery store, and a wide variety of restaurants. Also in easy walking distance are Star Bucks and an excellent movie theater showing recent releases in English. The hotel manager Juan will accommodate any room needs, but as written in other reviews this is a diver's paradise hotel with little to no luxuries for those hanging out at the hotel for the day. The best luxury is the view and the easy walk to the pier! Dive Paradise on site makes diving easy and the dive masters are extremely experienced. Three dives a day and then go out to dinner -- that way it is easy to avoid the No Name Bar music. Night dives from the Barracuda pier will provide everything from octopus to eels. Room Tips -- if using only one bed in the two bed hotel rooms, just double the mattress! The hardness of the mattress will not be an issue then. Another tip is to keep the shower floor drain covered to avoid unusually smells that can occasionally happen...use a plastic lid or a grocery bag. I have also seen friends buy cheap new pillows at the Mega (grocery store across the street) and just leave them when they head home. Cheap and easy fix! Last tip for a cool room temperature is to pull the metal screens on the windows closed while out diving and leave the A/C on; the room will be very comfortable or even too cool when you return from diving!

Room Tip: All rooms have stairs so you will need to be ready for the climb each day. The view is worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim59730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Barracuda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

For the money you can't beat this place. The view from out deck was great. My wife and I and our 17 year old son snorkeled off the hotels pier. We saw quite a few fish, we also seen a large yellow star fish, as we swam a little further out. There was a small plane about 30 feet down and several other items to be seen, one looked like a huge concrete clothes iron. We walked from the pier to this hotel in about 12 minutes. Once there they let us get our room a few hours early. They also set us with a rental jeep. We've been to Cozumel several times and wanted to go around the whole island, which we did. I went to the Mega store across the street and purchased some cerveza, soda and snacks. We did eat breakfast at the no name bar/restaurant at the hotel. The restaurant was expensive for the amount of food you get. The hotel has free Wi Fi which was great for my son and wife. I would definitely stay here again, no complaints.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed there last week. Hotel clean and close to restaurants (which are pricey) and city center. Loud during the day at the pool but if you keep your balcony door closed you can hardly hear the noise. When you check in and pay with pesos watch to be sure you are not charged more than you were quoted. They tried to charge us at least a hundred more dollars but finally agreed to take the money in US. No Name Bar is great especially the waitresses Dani and Addie do an excellent job. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor is great, not that many stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Check in took forever.No computer.They have a typewriter and carbon paper.!!!!! Grumpiest guy in the world Luis.
Perfect location.We were never in the hotel except to sleep. Absolutely no amenites. Only bathtowels soap and toilet paper.Very clean and most of the staff very nice,especially the manager.Maybe would stay again because of the location. Great to watch the cruise ships coming in in the morning

Room Tip: ITry not to get the sevens eights or nines.Also no elevator
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creamydreamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel Barracuda is one of the oldest hotel in Cozumel, there are no amenities the mattress and pillows are thin and the bathroom are small with poor water pressure. All that been said for 4 guys this was the perfect spot for our diving trip. The hotel was clean and the boat picked and dropped us up straight at the pool side(we actually will watch from our room as the boat approach and walked to the pier). The pool area had a shaded "beach" area and the bar had a good menu. I will stay there again but no way that my wife will.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejhernandez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Was referred to this location by a cruise ship crew member. Apparently this is the spot all crew members go hang out in port. Free swimming in crystal clear grotto and Carribean. Free snorkeling. Restrooms. Amazing food!!! International food and beer menu. I had the Shish Kabobb and Hummus. Best I ever had. Also beach area and a swimming pool. I liked it because it's a good place to hang out that's not Americanized or touristy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you are in Cozumel just for SCUBA diving and can do without luxuries this place will work for you. There is a room for improvement as the place is getting old. We had two rooms and in one of them AC had only two settings on or off. I recommend checking out your room before you select one. Hotel doesn't have a beach- you'd need to take taxi or rent a car to get to the real beach. Rooms over the bar can get noisy at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mscada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#39 of 52 in Cozumel
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda

Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar 628, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barracuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Barracuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Cozumel
Barracuda Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing