We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for divers”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safari Inn
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Sterling, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for divers”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This hotel is basic but very clean and comfortable. We have for the past few years taken the ocean front room just above the dive shop and our friends in the second ocean front room above us. Great view and I prefer our room over the one above because the balcony railing is more open. We have never had a bad stay here and the dive operation is tops. Once the dive masters get to know you and can trust you the freedom is there to take not to abuse. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful the one complainte I had 2 years ago concerning some rather noisy roomies next door was handled and resolved by Bill quickly. Will stay there again for every trip to Cozumel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shygirlSterling_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Rooms are extremly clean,super bed and air conditioning that will freeze you out.Bill and Donna are great people and run a top notch dive shop.The crew and divemasters are friendly and knowledgable.If diving is why your going to cozumel than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed 3 nights in the Safari Inn in June of 2008 and have nothing but positive things to say about our experience. Our room was probably the cleanest hotel room I've ever been in, the beds were fantastic, and the price was definitely right! (less than $50 per night). Safari Inn is located within walking distance of outstanding restaurants and any shopping you might need to do. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We do not dive, but many divers use this hotel and the attached dive shop is one of the most reputable in Cozumel.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to rest your weary bones after a day of exploring or diving that won't break the bank, Safari Inn is definitely the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briosochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 September 2004

Aqua Safari is a no frills hotel near downtown just above the Aqua Safari dive shop. Bill and his folks have been there around 15-20 yrs and have an excellent operation. The hotel has no phones, no TV, but some of the best beds in Cozumel....no slabs of rock here! Clean rooms and hot water added to that and you can dive your butt off and sleep like a baby after touring the town of San Miguel iso the best eateries or night life just a stroll away. Window unit AC that has the driest floors we've found so far, and clothes actually DRY out overnight in the room!

Helpful?
41 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agave Azul
Hotel Agave Azul
#39 of 52 in Cozumel
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barracuda
Barracuda
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bello Caribe Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: Rafael Melgar #429 between 5th and 7th Sts. | Downtown Waterfront, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing