We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 6 August 2014

WE love this motel as it is close to Papa Hogs for diving.
On our last stay we were a little let down. Had to get the room key re set about 4 times as it wouldn't work and the hot water was off and on. Pool was nice and warm but cloudy and full of bugs, they appeared to be trying to clean it up at the end of our week.
Beds are getting tied and the TV is very small. It did appear that they had upgraded a few rooms to new beds and a bigger TV
The A/C worked great.
My wife was not happy to find a tarantula in our bathroom one morning after we came back from breakfast, I understand that this is a tropical destination, and it happens, no damage done just had to shoe him out the door and get my wife off the ceiling.lol
One good thing is they have added safes in the rooms and they are very reasonable priced.
We plan to stay again this winter and hope they continue to do some improvements!
The last few times we have stayed the Wi/Fi worked in the rooms, this time it did not but it will work around the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Goingdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I liked this hotel better than my husband did. We usually stay at the Blue Angel across the street, and walked past this hotel many times wondering what it was like. The Blue Angel was full so they arranged a room for us here.

We had a suite for the price of a room, it was all white marble with an unusual octagonal bathroom. The shower was also a white marble tile tub, and it's unusual to find bathtubs in Mexico. Our suite had a king sized bed on a marble pedestal, also a refrigerator and local tv.

The outdoor jacuzzi by the pool was hot and clean, I really enjoyed that. The grounds look Mayan, with statues and lots of topiary gardens, and the whole hotel looks like could be a century old (though it is just as likely to be modern, I do not know.)

We really enjoyed dinner in the restaurant/bar with French cooking, and will review that separately.

The staff was attentive and there when you needed them, spoke good English and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room "Suite S" was adjacent to Papa Hog's Dive Shop, and we heard dive tanks being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank merry_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star all inclusive hotel, this is not it. This place is a small, quaint, relaxing, garden hotel across the street from the ocean. They have a small, friendly,hard working staff with Aurturo at the helm. Aurturo is on top of it! You can normally find him in the dining area talking with locals and guests and serving food. We ate there almost ever morning and we were lucky enough to be there on Sunday for the Mexican BBQ. It was delicious! If you are looking for a quiet, simple, hotel close to the ocean and jungle where everyone is friendly and helpful, this place is for you. It is a good price for comfortable beds, clean room, air conditioning, wifi, well maintained pool and hot tub, beautiful gardens, TV, frig and is close to the airport/town and south end. If you are a diver, there are 3 scuba shops on site. However, I would recommend calling Troy from Pelagic Adventures for scuba. His crew Alejandro and Hugo are top notch. Across the street from Villablanca is a lovely little restaurant called La Hach. If you do go there, you must try Fish Tacos, they are the best. Luis Lara is my favorite server. There is also a convenient store located about 3 miles south which is open 24 hours. The Villablance is a nice little gem on Cozumel. I will go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank islawhaleshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good hotel for the price. Not fancy but quite adequate, stayed for 8 nights and never a problem. Great for divers, 4 shops all close. Boats pick up at dock across the street. Good snorkeling right from the beach. Restaurants close by and friendly people. Easy to get a taxi to town 5 minutes away. Basic breakfast included in the price and Arturo was always there to make sure we were okay. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room, very roomy. A/C was always cold. wifi worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parrotheadannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at the Villa Blanca several times. Very clean, and it's comfortable. It's not the fanciest hotel on the planet. Instead, it's relatively small and has some local charm.

The grounds and pool are well maintained. The beds are comfortable. All the rooms have a TV, phone, and fridge. WiFi access in the rooms is spotty. Superior rooms are spacious and have a day bed. Standard rooms are somewhat smaller, but certainly adequate for 1-2 people.

There is a restaurant on site. My preference, however, is to go into town for supper most evenings. Town is an easy 45 minute walk, or a $7 cab ride.

The hotel caters to divers, and has a rinse tank and hanging bars for gear. There are 4 dive operations within a 60 second walk, including my personal favorite, Papa Hogs. The hotel is across the road from the shore. There is a beach of sorts, although the best beaches are not found on this section of the coast.

Overall, excellent value.

Room Tip: The hotel is arranged as a 'U' facing out toward the street. My preference is a room toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is a bit outside of town (ferry or cruise ship dock areas) but its only a 5 minute cab ride to either area. You are between both "towns" so its only a 5 minute cab ride to either area. Scuba shop is attached to the hotel so if you plan to dive you are in a great location. The hotel rooms are nice. Plenty of space. Good AC. Food is good too. Very friendly staff. For the price this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisChris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in early May 2014 while scuba diving (Papa Hogs Scuba Emporium is next door). This hotel was both convenient to Papa Hogs and was a very good value. The "Superior" rooms are spacious and clean with a refridgerator and TV. Hotel hot tub and pool were also very nice and well maintained. The walk to town and restaurants is less than an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.7 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 3, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £39 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villablanca Garden Beach is a beachfront hotel located approximately 5 miles from Cozumel Airport and two miles from town, right in front of Villablanca Reef and Wall (great for snorkeling and diving).Our exclusive property includes 50 rooms and suites, two villas and a Pent-House, all units are equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, refrigerator, satellite TV, telephone and sunken tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villablanca Garden Beach Cozumel
Hotel Villablanca Garden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing