We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't ruin you time”
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Let's start with the good thing, because they are few.
The position of the hotel is very nice one, no natural sandy beach, just a rocky entry into the water. Still a good view, clear see, with a but of a reef, and a sand platform at about 6m deep, few tropical fishes, an eel and a school of squids.
The infinity pool is small but nice, sun beds enough for a half full hotel, not the most comfortable ones in the world, but they will do just fine.
The rooms are big enough, and the view over the sea is nice, if you are on second floor or above. If you are on the ground level, forget about the view.
Also a good place for families with children, but just for visiting, not spending the night here.
Here stops the good things.
The scuba spot was closed all 4 days we've been here.
The so called "activities" are just on paper, nothing is going on here.
You pay for a deluxe room and they try to talk you to accept a room on the ground floor: you are close to the pool, sir! 
If you are smart enough, you'll get the top floors and have a view.
We waited for three hours to get the room we paid for.
Inside now!
Check the pillows first time you enter the room, we have them change 6 pillows and they all smelled like an old dog . Not a chance for an unsmelly one.
You want to drink something cold? not a chance, no fridge in the room (306)
No mosquito nets, but you get repellent for free.
In the bathroom is clean, but from time to time you need your gas mask because of the sewer.
Internet is up and running, 2 networks. Up time? 50% on sunny days.
Chairs on the balcony are a real threat, you end up on the floor too often.
You got a b&b? wrong choice! 
Breakfast is called "american breakfast" and on booking you get it for 200 pesos and in the restaurant for 230. Some eggs and at you choice "fruits plateau" or orange juice. Fruits are at list as old as me, so no way. If you like butter, bring your own! they offer margarine. Every day!
The menus you will see in the pictures, 3 or if you are lucky 4 A5 papers, with a "big" choice of 4 types of fish, 1 chicken and 1 aracerra. 5 pastas in the menu, at the most 2 available.
"Sorry, we don't have linguini"...
Service at the pool  is so prompt, you will die of thirst.
After taking the order, in 5 minutes you will be asked to repeat it.
Coffee drinker? bad luck! colored water.
BE CAREFUL with what you sign, at list one thing on the check is not yours. Happened every single day with every tab.
The front desk staff will be the first to cheat you if you need a taxi or ask for an external service. Taxi to the city is 30-40 pesos, they will tell you 60-80.
To the south part? 300-350. We payed 100 ...
Come with cash (pesos)! no ATM near,  so the Mexican ATM tax will increase with at list 80 pesos (taxi to city and back)
Bottom of line, come during the day, enjoy the pool, the view, even some dolphins if you are lucky, but fly away as soon as the night falls or you get hungry.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VladJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice and quiet very clean and the staff was very nice there are only four floors but no elevator, so if you can’t go up and down one flight of stairs don’t stay here. Because the lobby is on the second floor and the pool and restaurant is on the first floor. The food was very good and affordable and you are only five minutes from town.

Room Tip: Try stay on the first or second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbartleyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Quite nice hotel. Comfortable, quiet and well located.
We really enjoyed it!
Good and tasty breakfast and meals. Nice staff and service.
We loved the details in the room and lobby!
Swimming pool and open space with sea view are just marvelous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcabralfdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBCozumel, Sales Assistant at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you loved Hotel B and all the details that it has in the room.
We would be glad to invite you to come visit us again anytime you would like to enjoy our Hotel with its view and all the wonderful sun sets.

Saludos from teh Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Was traveling with a friend and we really enjoyed our stay! Breakfast was good, with beautiful views ... bartenders were nice, rooms were spacious and clean, snorkeling was decent right off the dock, and the location was perfect - a little off the beaten path but only a few minutes from town. We definitely felt like we got great value for our money and I would not hesitate to stay here again! Staff is very friendly and helpful. My only suggestion would be to turn down the music at the bar a little - some afternoons it was really crankin' and just wasn't my preference in music (and it was a little difficult to tune out at that volume). Overall a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBCozumel, Sales Asisstant at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank your for choosing us as your hotel to stay when you come to Cozumel, we will be more than happy to acoomodate you and your friends again.

Thank you for letting us know about the music volume at the bar, we will look into it as soon as possible.

Saludos from Sunny Cozumel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

excelent place to spend time like day pass but no cover yust whatever you drink and eat you will pay,prices very good....nice pool and open sea water beatifull,very relaxing,clean and the service a little slow but ok,the best choice for local people to spend the day like sunday chillout whit the friends or even alone..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica4071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Beatiful hotel for fair price. Hotel restaurant is lovely (although a little slow). Rooms are spacious and well kept. Hotel is in a quiet location away from main town and diving spots so quiet but still easy to get places. All in all a lovely break.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiRailton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The rooms were clean, comfortable modern adobe style with an entire glass wall/door looking onto the balcony that looked onto the ocean. Down below is a great pool area and below that a natural pool that opens into the ocean.

The staff at the front desk were friendly.

Breakfast is included and is ok with eggs and fruit - not amazing but ok. Like almost everywhere in the area, the coffee was terrible.

We chose this hotel because it was far enough away from Centro to be quiet. Unfortunately after walking downstairs to the patio to get breakfast in the morning and listen to the waves, our tranquility was broken by music that started at 7:30am. The music wasn't really loud - they were trying to create a cool boutique hotel vibe. It just wasn't needed. The sound of the waves is all that is needed at such a great spot.

Also, Saturday night was party night with a loud band that didn;t finish until the early hours of the morning. It was their one year annaversary so maybe this was a one off event.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter_NYC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
3.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
11 mi away
Ventanas al Mar
Ventanas al Mar
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
259 reviews
5.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £70 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing