We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colorado visits Cozumel 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Edwards, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colorado visits Cozumel 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We loved Hotel B! Our group visited Cozumel this Nov. We have typically visited during the spring for the last 10 years. Our group was pretty large this year with various groups of people in at different times. We had two days on own before checking into the large Penthouse in town. We had not stayed at Hotel B in past visits, it was based on internet viewing only. We all enjoyed our time so much - we were dragging our feet at check out. We will return, this staff was amazing, the property was fun, updated and most of all accommodating. Christian was most helpful. The Hotel B has an employee that most the island would want to steel. He helped out with the most intense situation at check in by taking his own personal vehicle to give me a ride back to the airport where I left my Apple Computer on a chair. It saved the entire trip! As we had a 10 day vacation ahead of us. We won't forget our time at Hotel B and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearcatStables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    217
    69
    44
    43
See reviews for
95
395
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you want peace and quiet, do not stay here. While I was here there was a wedding hosted immediately outside blasting music all night. I brought this up to the staff knowing full well this was not there fault but one of management. Just know full well that management is more interested in making money wherever they can than guest experience. Seriously avoid this place unless your idea of a vacation in Cozumel is one where your room is next to a Señor Frogs. It's clearly possible this could be a nice place but the fact that management at this hotel doesn't place guest experience as a priority means you're playing Russian roulette on your few previous vacation days. Otherwise the staff were quite nice, but you have been warned.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just completed our first to Cozumel and had an excellent stay at Hotel B. We found it online, and it was even more beautiful in person than in the pictures. They offer yoga every morning and an excellent complimentary breakfast. The pool and jacuzzi are excellent, with a view of the ocean and neat cove where you can watch fish and crabs from the pool. The service is great and we are already planning to go back. While there we looked at few other hotels and confirmed that we happened to stumble upon the best one (for us at least!) on the whole island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelinaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel B was exactly as promised in the photos and we got a great deal online so I'd say we definitely got what we asked for. There are a few small things that I personally would change or improve for that ultimate experience but NOTHING that ruined our vacation or positive opinion of the hotel. Before reading on, know that we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

We stayed for 5 nights in the beginning of November as a couple. The deluxe ocean view room with a patio that stepped out to the pool was a great choice for us - waking up to coffee on the patio with the view of the ocean can't be beat! The ocean is incredible and it is magical watching the sunset and just looking out to the clear water below.

The food was very good at the hotel - we got the American breakfast included and it was much better than expected. Eggs, beans, toast, fruit and some Chilaquiles each morning carried us through to well after lunch! However, my one complaint was that there are cheaper choices on the menu for breakfast and I will never understand why in Mexico the American, but not Mexican breakfast is included. Would have preferred to simply have a choice up to X dollars each morning as the shakes and Mexican choices were so good!

Lunch choices were delicious as well - ceviche, calamari, etc.. Dinner was actually the least desirable - we opted for a dinner on the water one night and while the set up was GORGEOUS and they made every effort to make it nice, the food did not deliver. The fish was tough and the dessert lackluster. And overpriced. The rest of the meals were decent price when you figure in a round trip cab ride to town to get a meal. (Although we did manage to find a few taco shacks - yummy for $1/taco!)

The service at the hotel was top notch, but my one beef was with the towels - you had to ask for them at the front desk, not at the pool and they were hesitant to give them to you. Very annoying as our maid took them daily and we could not reuse them. Maid service was also another minor negative - I guess tipping at the beginning is better than the end - we got VERY late service daily and they forgot towels one day and no special touches like flowers, folding clothes or anything. Our neighbors tipped $2 at the beginning and got stallar service. Not cool.

Other points of note:
Happy hour is from 5-7pm and is a great deal - utilize it!
The music gets a little annoying and I could do without it all day every day. One day they had a musician and that was great! But he was only there for 2 hours.
The excursion shop is overpriced but comvenient.
The rooms are smaller than you imagine and not quite luxurious - the beds are small and sheets are hard. The bathroom is just ok and the bath towels are not soft. No fridge in the room was a little annoying - going for ice every 30 minutes gets old! Only one packet of coffee/day or you get an extra charge? Come on, how much is a little packet of coffee?
The location is a bit out of twon so you'll spend $120 pesos to/from town. Rent scooters or a car!
Wifi is good in the hotel - logging in is tricky until you get the hang of it.
Check in was LOOOONG - literally took us almost 30 minutes even though we had done everything online! Not the best way to start us off after a long day of travel.
Didn't use the spa services but they seemed decent, but overpriced. Go into town and pay 1/3 of the cost.
The pools close at 9pm, which is disappointing as we wanted to stay in the "hot" (I say "hot" b/c half the time it was cold) tub or pool late at night. Just put the chemicals in at 11pm people!

Again, overall great place, just some small easy to change things that would have made our stay an A+++!

Room Tip: Poolside is nice but could hear a bit of noise above from the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorgrrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I visit Cozumel regularly and stayed at this property many times when it was Hotel Fontan. We left Hotel B amazed at the changes since our last stay at this property. It has improved in every way imaginable and is now one of the best hotels on Cozumel.

The outdoor space at Hotel B is simply amazing. They have done a wonderful job creating a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Service at the hotel is solid. Everyone was very professional. Not overbearing, but always eager to please. Food at the restaurant exceeded our expectations and service was prompt and attentive. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Rooms are simple yet comfortable. They have been spruced up since our last stay and the showers are greatly improved with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. The safe in our room (Room 305) was broken. We asked for it to be repaired, but it never was looked at to my knowledge...my only minor complaint of our stay. The rooms need screen doors on the balconies. With all of the tropical bugs in Cozumel, you cant sleep with the balcony door open to feel the breeze and hear the waves crashing without screens on the patio doors.

The guests at Hotel B are an eclectic bunch. Guests from various nations around the world. They definitely market to Mexican Nationals and guests from outside of North America. I enjoyed the other guests of the hotel. A more sophisticated crowd than you would find at most Cozumel hotels and AI's.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at Hotel B. We generally prefer to stay in condos when we visit Cozumel, but I look forward to another stay at Hotel B. If it continues to improve as much as it has the past couple of years...rooms may be hard to come by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My partner and I just returned from Cozumel...we stayed at the HOTEL B and were very pleased with the accommodation and the staff...Roberto, Kinga and Rafael made our stay perfect...they are so very pleasant and gave us very good advice on where to go while there. This time of year is PERFECT for vacationing there...no tourist...no line to get in anywhere...the town was practically ours alone to explore...VERY SAFE and VERY BEAUTIFUL !!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room...they all have different décor...but all have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the beginning of October 2013 and loved it! We had stayed at all-inclusives on a bunch of other trips and were ready for a bit of a change. We had a deluxe ocean view room and the room set up was great. The views were amazing. The service and food at the restaurant were wonderful. We only had breakfast and lunch at the hotel and both were very good. I would say that they could improve their pool service as the waiters rarely came around and asked if we wanted drinks. But, it's not like the bar was super far away, so it really wasn't that big of a deal to get your own drinks unless you are super lazy. The wi-fi in the rooms was great. If you use it on your phone, it will go out if you leave your phone idle and you will have to log back in. But, it wasn't that much of an inconvenience. We weren't using it often enough for it to be an issue. We had a great experience and would definitely come back and recommend to friends!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
4.4 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
10.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Property: Hotel B Cozumel
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing