We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful boutique experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel B Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel B Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful boutique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I debated over 4 or 5 stars, then decided Hotel B deserves 5 stars in its category. In Cozumel, I usually stay at El Presidente, which is hard to beat, but it's a totally different ($$!) experience. Hotel B is a relatively small hotel with just 4 floors; nearly every room has a fantastic ocean view. Me and my kids (teenage boy and girl) booked a "suite" (actually just a large room with a king-sized bed, a daybed, and a small bar with stools) on the 4th floor. We also booked the adjoining room (queen bed and bathroom), where my son slept. The suite was pretty; the adjoining room was not as nice, but perfectly adequate for my son. Hotel B's staff members, led by gracious manager Christian, were welcoming, polite and helpful. Very clean and really pretty property, and we always felt safe and well taken care of. We ate many meals at the casual restaurant located poolside (can't beat the view!), and the food was generally very good, though service was a bit lacking when the restaurant was busy. Gorgeous cabana and pool areas, and a jacuzzi at ocean's edge. As I'm sure you've read in other Hotel B reviews, there is no beachfront entry into the ocean. And once you're in the ocean in front of the hotel, you're immediately in 20 feet+ water. There is a small snorkeling area, but it's a very tight spot with many sea urchins and a fair amount of current; not suitable for small kids or more than a couple of experienced snorkelers at a time. We booked some diving through the on-site dive operator, Scuba Du (which is also the operator at El Presidente). Here's where I can best advise Cozumel travelers: if you're a daily diver, this is probably not the best location for you. Because Hotel B is north of town, and most of the dive sites are south of town, you're in for earlier wakeup times and much longer boat rides to your dive destinations than if you stay in the south hotel zone. If that doesn't bother you, I say go for it. Hotel B Cozumel is really a gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    214
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
92
385
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Very clean, creative and quiet. I loved it!
There were no so many people and this is very good.
The only thing that I didnt like is that the hotel doesn't have access to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila_1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having seen mixed reviews I was quite worried that this hotel would not meet my expectations. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the pool and ocean. The room was perfect, the view was incredible. I've stayed in plenty of ocean view rooms, most of the mega resorts are so setback from the water that yes they do have an ocean view, but the ocean is so far away. Not at Hotel B, it feels as if your on the ocean from your room. From your bed, you look out and all you see is ocean, oh and the sunsets..Incredible.

Its true, you can snorkel right in front of the hotel, plenty of sea urchins in the tide pool in front. We organized a dive trip and the boat picked us up at the dock next to the pool. Awesome! The hotel organized the entire trip for us.

Restaurant, great hotel food and very affordable. The ceviche was some of the best i've had, the fried fish was great as well. Breakfast was included and was pretty good, I'm not a breakfast person so I just had fresh fruit and coffee.

Staff were super friendly and helpful, great service experience. I will definitely stay here again!

The only negative is that the hotel offers day passes to use their amenities. We and a few other guests complained about the obnoxious young Israeli's coming in for the day use, hogging the pool, monopolizing the hammocks and taking endless selfies while never actually enjoying the ocean. It's as if this group travelled to Cozumel to complain about everything and take selfies in front of an ocean they never got in. I heard from other guests they were appalled that some young Israeli's gave the waitstaff a hard time about a burger they ordered. First off, your not staying here, please leave, Second, you order a hamburger on the beach in Mexico and have the audacity to complain that its too small?

On the 2nd to the last day we were there we got to witness the front desk turn away this group of rude Isreali kids. Witnessing this made our day and we cheered with the other guests who had complained about them. I do hope these obnoxious Isreali kids see this review, they need to learn how to show respect to staff and other guests especially at a place they are not staying. We wondered how bad could the place they are staying at be that they needed to pay for day passes at our hotel simply to use the pool, take selfies and complain. I'm not anti Isreali at all, I realize these vain obnoxious kids are not a good representation of Isreali's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had done a bit of scouting around on Cozumel island on a previous trip and this time while on just a day trip over from Playa del Carmen I wanted to share a very special place that I had discovered with my travel companion. After a long day of snorkeling and beaching and driving around the island, we showed up at the B Hotel in the north hotel zone just in time for an early dinner at sunset before catching the last ferry back to Playa. We were both enchanted at the lovely hotel grounds, mini-beach, Jacuzzi, and pool areas, as well as the lovely little restaurant with its incredible view out over the ocean and the mainland coast. It is a wonderful boutique hotel and the food at the restaurant was outstanding! All in all, a perfect little outing in a very special place in the world. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a lot of expections from the hotel from things we read about but the reality was different..for first we came to the hotel after a long day and in the room there is not double bads and we were on our honeymoon and it was our demand, and also wasn't hot water, it was very frustrating...we gad aunts in the room...
The hotel have a nice and fun whirlpool withe a great view on the balcony but it's just not it...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is not the same on picture, web, social media as it is once you get there... The place is old. Needs some management, Big Time... Food is just Ok, rooms are not impresive, service in general just horrible!!! Trust me I travel alot and this is not a Boutique hotel, not at all. They are missing a few things and big detail to be a Boutique hotel. Some better small hotel downtown for half the price. I would say this place is a lie... Try something else. No supervision in the areas. Guys start working. A.S.A.P.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_traveler_69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were pretty skeptical considering how cheap it was. But we figured it was only for a few days before our main leg of the trip, Playa del Carmen, and hey, the pictures were pretty nice. Don't think this is a 5 star hotel. My high rating is based upon my header--bang for your buck.

Rooms: The room itself is on the smaller side for American standards, but average in Europe/Asia standards. But what it lacks in "suites" it makes up for with oceanfront property with a killer view. We booked an ocean view room and it was nice to see the clear blue water each morning. The beds were harder than what we're used to in hotels, but still comfortable. There is a wall-unit AC which definitely helped us manage the humid heat, although we had trouble figuring out anything beyond on and off. Warning: there were a lot of mosquitoes when we were there so be sure to swat away any that may be hanging around your door, we definitely had some swoop in the door with us.

Food: We only ever had the complimentary breakfast which was much better than we expected. The restaurant is an open space with clear views of the pool and ocean. There was a menu that you could select your breakfast entree and beverage from. And all of the items looked appetizing. It was definitely a step up from your typical American "continental breakfast" (cereal and muffins) so we made sure to not miss it! Who doesn't love a free hot meal?

Service: I've read some negative reviews regarding service but when we were there the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk helped us call taxis and rent scooters. The rest of the staff seemed pretty helpful to everyone.

Amenities: They have an infiniti pool that overlooks the ocean, and plenty of chairs strewn about the property. There were some along the pool, and another deck area if you want some more quiet, and some in the grass. Although it's an oceanfront property, there is no beach but is actually situated off a cliff. However, there is a little ladder off the cliff rocks where you can jump into the ocean for a little swim or snorkeling. Just know that like most rocks, there is live coral which can sting you if you're not careful. I definitely did and it wasn't fun to say the least. There is also a rental shop if you want to scuba dive or snorkel.

Location: On the north side of the island but was a quick taxi ride from the airport. I definitely recommend renting a scooter as it is very scooter-friendly and makes it much easier to get around the island. We rented one for our 3 days in Cozumel and it was perfect to ride around and make pit stops wherever we wanted. We were able to ride around the outskirts of the island in a day with making numerous stops and enjoying the ocean views.

Overall: Good experience, would definitely recommend to friends, and would definitely stay here again. My only gripe is that there were a large group of young foreigners that unfortunately were there at the exact same time we were there and they pretty much took over the pool and were pretty loud with their music during the day. It didn't bother us too much but if you're looking to lounge at the hotel during the day, be aware that you may run into a similar situation with the hotel being such a good value.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the small upgrade fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBCozumel, Gerente at Hotel B Cozumel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip advisor, we are really glad to read that you had a great experience at Hotel B and that you enjoy our American breakfast at Costeñito Bistro also allow me to recommend for your next visit our energetic juices and the house bread.
On regards the day passes is to create a nice atmosphere at our beach where our guests could interact with and have fun. However, we totally understand your observations and we will make immediate adjustments so that our guests can relax and enjoy our beach area, the natural beauty and good service.

We really hope to see you soon at Hotel B Cozumel.

Kind Regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
7.2 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B Cozumel

Property: Hotel B Cozumel
Address: Carretera Playa San Juan Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B Cozumel has an original and avant-garde offer for travelers in search of new experiences,It combines the natural beauty of the Caribbean with a cool concept of space.The hotel is a fusion of contemporary design and Mexican treditions with a creative touch of young talents. Hotel B Cozumel invites you to ladge in the most privileged plce of Cozumel-5 mintutes away from downtown, the airportand the golf course, in a quiet and exclusive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel B Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Cozumel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing