We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but off the beaten path, so not easy to stumble across.”

Ranked #270 of 379 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food, but off the beaten path, so not easy to stumble across.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My daughter and I participated in The Amazing Race - Cozumel version while on a cruise. The race ended at this restaurant. The chips and salsa were good, the service was excellent. I ordered tacos and my daughter asked for a vegetarian fajita meal. They didn't have one on the menu but they created one for her. She is very picky and she ate every bite. My tacos were authentic and wonderful. The restaurant is open on three sides and has a ceiling fan to circulate the air. I enjoyed eating here and would recommend it if you are in Cozumel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridjetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot off the beaten path”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We participated in an excursion which ended here - we were famished so we decided to have lunch. They provided chips/salsa which were pretty decent. My wife ordered mixed fajitas which she said were delicious. I had a shrimp quesadilla which was also quite tasty. The guacamole was probably my favorite part. Service was prompt and pleasant and the bathrooms were clean. You eat in a nice large outdoor patio which was clean and pleasant. It's a good number of blocks off the water so it's not the easiest place to find, but if you happyen to be in the area I would definitely give it a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST ceviche!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We first came across Mama Linda's restaurant in October 2013, while participating in The Amazing Cozumel Race. They serve the Best ceviche! It was a huge serving of fresh and flavorful fish, shrimp and conch. This serving was more than hubby and I could eat!
When planning a return trip to Cozumel this month, we knew Mama Linda's was a top priority. We weren't disappointed in our return visit! Again, the ceviche was delish, and again, the serving was more than we could eat. The piña coladas were yummy too, but the ceviche was the best we have ever had, and since we live in Florida, that is saying a lot!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RadTechJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a little more off the beaten path. We were exploring and ran upon the restaurant. It is a large open building. We were the only ones there. With it being low season, they don't get as many customers. The server was beyond awesome, he took such good care of us. They even asked if we wanted to choose the music to listen to.
We enjoyed our choices from the menu. It was a reasonable price and good flavor. This is owned by the same people who run the restaurant at the museum.
We were treated so well that we felt like royalty. It is worth the trip. Since it is kind of shaded and surrounded by foliage.. I would recommend taking bug spray.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biology-Teacher308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome end to Amazing Cozumel Race.”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a lovely lunch here after coming last in our Amazing Cozumel Race LOL. we were served salsa and chips on arrival and then jerked chicken, rice, beans and salad for mains. Service was fast and the staff were lovely. Would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Linda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mama Linda Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing