We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo. The unexpected.”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flamingo. The unexpected.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I'd change the name of this hotel if I could. It looks and feels nothing like a Flamingo. I've never seen a Flamingo in Cozumel and moreover they are pink, not yellow. We did not know what to expect from the pics online and the hotel's web site. If anything I expected to find a run down dump with a mattress and a small bathroom.

What we got was COMPLETELY different! From the start I liked this place. The open air front desk and bar greeted us. The room we had on the third floor was huge and so nice I had to check my bill! Windows that opened to flowers and humming birds. A large bathroom with everything. Even a sitting area with a TV. There was a small fridge fully stocked with extremely reasonably priced beverages and snacks (I raided this after several nights at the bar, and in the AM after a night...at the bar). Ivan makes THE BEST drinks.

Nothing but the best service, this place has everything a luxury hotel claims to offer, but with a better atmosphere and no crowds. Situated in the best location too. There is a museum just around the corner from Flamingo that you should check out when you go.

Thanks Flamingo for making our trip (Blue Planet Scuba) a very memorable experience, both in the Ocean and out. I will definitely be back!

PS, I rated the pool 5 circles because the pool is the ocean and there's no better place than that!

Room Tip: Tip: book, open door, enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    151
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
231
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I genuinely enjoyed our stay at the Flamingo. The room was beautiful! Very clean, with a very comfortable bed. It was nice to have a hair dryer in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good location, about half a block down from the waterfront shopping and restaurants. There is no pool, however, so be advised if this is an issue for you.

Room Tip: We had the Superior room, which we loved. I did hear from another couple that the beds in the regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnigmaSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflamingo, Owner at Flamingo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your gracious comments. We do have a cool down jacuzzi on the rooftop sun deck for guests and we also have an arrangement with a local beach club where there is pool access.
We hope to see you again at the Flamingo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We missed our flight out of Cozumel and found the last room in the city due to the Carnival taking place. We could not have been luckier! Ivan (the bartender) was so helpful and accomodating. I wish we could have stayed more than one night. It's just lovely and one block or so from the ocean. I highly recommend this place and we intend to stay there on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflamingo, Owner at Flamingo Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you during that busy period and look forward to seeing you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a really great deal for the amount of space you get. I would've loved to have a kitchenette (yes I think they could fit one in the spacious room!) and a coffee pot. I won't let those small details keep me from staying here again. The beds were really comfortable and I am picky about that. The staff was great! The place was in a great location for us since it was a 3 block walk from the ferry when we arrived and just an $8 cab ride to the airport when we left. The end of our street was a nice spot to catch the carnival parade. Nice neighborhood with a lot of friendly locals. Breakfast was good. The hotel bar was a great spot to have a drink or 2 (happy hour 430-6 i think) and the place always smelled great from the steak restaurant down the street. Have been recommending this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was nice and served its purpose well. Based on reviews it was between here and Hotel B, and since this place was half the price we figured this was the way to go. The advantages about this hotel are reasonable price, nice people and service, 2 blocks from the main plaza and lots of restaurants, 3-4 blocks from the ferry port (also close to airport, ~500 mtrs), also great breakfast (coconut french toast is amazing!!). The room we stayed in ("superior") had a nice queen sized bed and was basically a studio with a very limited ocean view off the small balcony. It was clean, the bathroom was nice with plenty of hot water. limited noise from the street, overall very peaceful I thought.
As far as downsides, I was a little disappointed with lack of beach access in the area, but I think this was more because of a lack of knowledge of the island on my part. We ended up renting a scooter at Isis for 3 days and this worked out perfectly as far as getting around to snorkel and beach spots in the island. Also, their "jacuzzi" on the top of the building was a tub with cold water in it that may not have been changed in a while, the heater didn't work. There is no pool but a sunbathing area on top next to the jacuzzi.
Overall, it is a simple place that serves its purpose well for the price. It was a good home base as long as you have some form of transportation to get around the island to explore. I thought about renting a car but I am not sure where I would have parked it. The Isis scooter people were really nice and let us keep the scooter there at night while we weren't using it.
Also, Ramon's dive shop next door is a nice resource to have since they are a group of really nice guys that will take you out diving or snorkeling for a decent price.

Room Tip: we chose the superior option, didn't see any other rooms so I don't know what to compare it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I thought that I would take a few minutes to write a review of this little Hotel. I found the Hotel to be very clean, the staff friendly helpful and honest, and a quiet environment in the central of town. What an enjoyable place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterdog138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We read the reviews for Flamingo on tripadvisor and asked on check in about the two negatives that concerned us. One -" no hot water". This was definitely not true. The water was so hot I need to add some cold. Two-" the safes don't lock". We upgraded to a superior room and the safe lock did not work. Adrian, the manager, came in from home to fix it.
We found the hotel to be delightful. The manager and staff are friendly and helpful. They go beyond the norm to meet needs and requests. The manager and each staff member greeted us warmly each morning. Ivan, the bar tender makes great margaritas and mojitas and is the resident expert on where to go for dinner.
While this is a three star hotel, the service is definitely five star.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a sitting area that gives a feeling of openness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#5 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing