We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for divers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A great place for divers”
Reviewed 9 April 2006

Hey, just a great time. Went there with a group of divers and had a lot of fun. Easy and very convenient.

And, great value.

Bob Roath

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    149
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
226
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2006

This is my first time at the hotel.. I love it... the staff are helpful and friendly and always smiling.. Not to mention very cute... Very clean and safe.. You can leave your stuff out in the room and never have to worry about. The food and drinks are perfect. Ivan the bartender is mucho good at making a drink and will learn to make any drink for you if he does know it.. Carlos the manager is great, he makes sure you are always smilling. I will be returning again..

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2006

Thomas and his entire crew were very nice, met and exceeded all our needs. Very helpful with hints of where to do, what to do and what to avoid!

The rooms were spacious, I recommend the superior or the villa(for 4 persons), although the bathrooms left something to be desired. This has been recently corrected (according to Thomas via email) by renovation, and the minor problem they had was corrected in one hour. (water pressure was lost for an hour or so).

THe food and drinks were awesome, aand a good value. the band was a nice diversion as well.

we didnt use the guide or rental services, and the spa is new to us as well so cannot comment on these.

overall a very pleasant service and enjoyable experince away from the cruise and touristy pier scene!

Other hints: utilize the bakery two blocks east of hotel for packing a beach lunch, breakfast/lunch at the museam or the small cafe across street, Isis car rental 2 1/2 blocks away, and go to the square on there weekly "local" events. Also stay away from the scooters for rental-we've heard a lot of horror stories, and always take before and after pictures of anything you rent to prevent additional charges no matter who you rent from!

Most of all enjoy, relax and eat where the locals eat-we did and loved it all!


  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 March 2006

We were two couples and an 18 year old son staying at the Penthouse at the Hotel Flamingo - unfortunately for only two nights. We found the employees very helpful and the Penthouse pleasant. Where else can you get a rooftop patio right next to your room, and a complete kitchen even equipped with a Broncos Barbeque grill? We had a lovely ocean view, a living room and two bedrooms at a VERY reasonable price. The town square and the ferry were within easy walking distance - all the shopping that we could handle and many non-tourist restaurants (79 cent tacos!) were very close as well. We did not use the restaurant but the Margaritas were good. Sunsets were great. We will be back unless all of you readers beat us to it!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Having used the hotel as a destination 5 times over the last 12 years some of the pluses have been to see the hotel evolve to a spot as a hangout for a lot of local living americans and it has always been an extreme pleasure to chat and share drinks at the bar to get a feel for what the island really is like.there are so many interesting characters that grace the premises that the hotel itself is a trip!!! not since "JOES" was a hotspot on the island has there been a better place to hang on saturday nights ,the live music and the feel are unbeatable.one of the other pleasures is the way the front desk handels travel issues and scuba plans,it creates a worry free stay. William


  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2006

This hotel is MUCH better than it's star rating.

My wife and I started with a 4 day reservation (Feb 15th) for a 2 week stay on the island so that we could have plenty of time to evaluate where on Cozumel we should spend the rest of our vacation. We found that staying the whole 2 weeks at the Flamingo was a deal could not be beat.

No, not a 5 star resort, but this hotel does a lot for a very attractive price (under $75 a night). This 3 story hotel is built with most rooms facing a central courtyard with a fountain. There are some rooms on the ends of the courtyard that have small balconies. The courtyard rooms are shaded, quieter and darker while the balcony rooms are bright, get more noise from the street (it is a fairly quiet street though) and get more heat from the sun. The rooms have nicely updated equipment. New A/C units (worked great), new cable TV's, new bathroom fixtures, etc. Most rooms have 2 double beds but they found us a room with only one bed which gave us some added floor space that was nice.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from the main Plaza in San Miguel (5 minute walk) and it is just a bit further to the ferry dock. It is a couple of blocks from the waterfront and although there is some sand on the rocky shoreline, I would not call it a beach. The location is perfect for enjoying the restaurants, festivals, bands and services of the main town. We were here during part of the annual Carnival celebration and almost every night there was free entertainment on the plaza in the form of bands, Carnival costume contests, dancing contests, fire dancers, etc. so we had a great time and the hotel was a perfect base to operate from.

Restaurant (The Aqua) was great. Our room included a free breakfast that included eggs and tasty fresh orange juice. I loved their chicken burrito (best i've ever had).

Service was very personal and friendly. Tom the owner and Rosie helped us with every need from finding a rental car to great restaurants to finding fun things to do. David at the bar became our friend and even whipped us up a special gourmet dinner in the kitchen one night. Housekeeping was very good. I dropped a wad of about $70 in pesos one night. I had forgotten all about it the next day until we came back in the afternoon to find that the maid had carefully put it back on the nightstand for me and had even declined to take the $3 maid tip we had left for her because it was not in the envelope meant for tips to the maid. I think that is very rare to find this kind of honesty in other parts of Mexico.

Negatives? Almost none. There is no pool or beach. The rooms are lacking dressers (Tom, the owner says he is working to add them in the near future). Each Saturday a live band really rocks the place and we loved it. Others may not. The hotel is not fancy but does everything else very well for a great price.

We booked part of our stay through an online booking engine. I would recommend that you email Tom the owner/manager, and ask if he can offer you a special rate for the length of your stay. I think you will get a much better deal than is available through the booking engine.

If you are looking for a good hotel stay in Cozumel, I recommend the Flamingo.


  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunlover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIssion Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2006

I first stayed at the Flamingo in Dec. 1997. Had a great time then, even before it was remodeled. Now with a nice club the place is even better. Tom is a great guy who has a great desire to please his guests. The hotel is in a great spot close to the heart of town. I will stay at the Flamingo anytime. See ya'all soon.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 51 in Cozumel
241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing