We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My husband are I are staying here right now, and are extremely impressed with everything about this cool little hotel! Rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Best breakfast we've had on our trip so far. If you prefer an intimate hotel experience as opposed to a resort, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    151
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
35
231
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was perhaps my 12th trip to Cozumel. Ususally we rent a condo, but this was last minute over the holidays, and no small rentals were to be found. So we decided to try Hotel Flamingo. Good idea!

The hotel is 2 blocks from the plaza, but on the north side, where it's quiet. only 14 rooms on two floors, Tom Fryer, the owner was frequently present, and his management was excellent.

We chose a "superior" room and on the 1st night were put in room 21, a bad choice. This room is sandwiched between the street and the stairway, with noise coming from both. A streetlight was about six feet outside the sheer curtain. The water only got up to luke warm, and that after running for at least ten minutes.

For the rest of our stay, we were moved to room 28, which was so much better. Larger, and quiet in the back of the building. It had a separate seating area and plenty of hot water.

We paid less than $100 per night over new years, including a full breakfast. the a/c worked, the beds were firm but not uncomfortable. Linens were soft, and included nice robes. The people--both staff and guests--were very friendly. What more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandia Park, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband, neighbors, and I stayed for a week in the penthouse this November and enjoyed it so much we're returning this spring. The staff was efficient, kind and most accommodating. Love the breakfasts. The hotel was immaculate, the penthouse well appointed and staff all seem to genuinely care about their work and guests. Located off the main street means quieter and more relaxing ambiance away from the hustle, bustle just a block away. There's a variety of quality restaurants within walking distance and I always felt safe. Awesome diving and snorkeling everywhere. The people in the area are friendly and helpful and much more "laid back" compared to those in larger metro areas on the mainland. Very relaxing and rejuvinating week.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMTraveler5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I have celebrated my birthday at the Hotel Flamingo for the past 2 years and hope to go back in March 2011 for more leisure time. The entire staff is friendly, helpful & welcome us like we were family. Location is walking distance to everything yet far enough off the main road to be quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Our stay at the Flamingo was very good, friendly staff. Elizabeth, our maid at the hotel went above and beyond when she managed to board the ferry to bring an item that was left behind in our room. I don't think the Ritz would go to such lengths. That is a true testiment to character, our gratitude.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesslovesscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

we stayed at hotel flamingo for 3 days! the staff were fantastic however the amenties the property offers were terrible! our friends air conditioner blew up so they recieved a new room where the hot water did not work and niether did there phone. In our room our safe did not work half way through our stay our remote did not work and the hot water did not work half way through our stay either! when i went to complain there was no one at the desk and the bar attendent was suppose to be in charge however he did not no how to fix it. Im not a fussy person when it comes to a hotel room but this hotel was very disappointing

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a__harris90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflamingo, Owner at Flamingo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
I remember this young couple in November because I was there supervising the improvements to the rooms( We were installing a new solar water heater, new doors, and redecorating the rooms). We did inform them that the hot water was going to be turned off for a few hours while we installed the new solar water heater. Thus, they did not have hot water for a few hours. The air conditioner in the other couples room did stop working, but did not blow up. The condenser went out which is what eventually happens to all air conditioners at one point and we moved them right away to another room. We had an AC technician there in 2 hours to fix it. When they had problems with the room safe and the Tv controller, we replaced the batteries. In a warm and humid environment like Cozumel, batteries do not last as long and do need to be replaced on a regular basis.

As the owner, I am very conscious of good maintenance to the property and I am always making improvement to enhance the stay for our guests. I think our other reviews reflect the care and concern we have for our client's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This 20 room hotel is one block off the water, convenient to the airport, and an easy walk to main plaza and ferry terminal. Nearby are a number of good restaurants and the excellent Zermatt bakery. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary full menu breakfast starts at seven. Owner Tom lives on site. My wife and I were here a couple years ago for a short stay and could not have been more pleased. Talk to Margareta at Isis Scooters and Cars for great value on rentals.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsmith77565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Calle 6 Norte 81, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel. We are just steps from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square. Yet quietly hidden away....The Flamingo prides itself on a high level of personalized service and attention to our guests needs. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Cozumel
Flamingohotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing