We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We spent a little over a week at Amigos, Kathy was a wonderful host with great recommendations for pretty much anything we wanted to do while on the island from diving to eating to hiring a car. I would definitely recommend this little oasis to anyone thinking about going to cozumel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessa_rulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

As you'll gather from other reviewers, the #1 best thing about Amigos Hostel is the attentive and personalized service you'll receive from the hostel owners. You will feel as cared for as if you're staying at a 5-star resort, no matter how many days you're staying for, while still paying only ~$12 / night. They will hook you up with whatever you're looking for: diving, beaches, bike rental, scooter rental, dining recommendations, etc. To short list some of the best hostel features: A/C in your room at night, a clean kitchen with ALL tools and applicances, the clean pool with no hour restictions, hot showers, hammocks, free lockers with locks, cute cat. To short list some of the "worst" things: the pillows were very flat - could be replaced, location isn't "the best" (decently long walk tot get anywhere), no party atmosphere (if that's what you came knocking for you won't find it here). Thanks Kathy! You were awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChelleMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Amigos Hostel is by far one of the best hostels at which I have stayed. The owner, Kathy, personally emailed me the day before I arrived to check that everything was ok, and she was there to greet me when I arrived. She was very helpful, provided me great insider information about Cozumel and some maps that proved to be quite useful as I had rented a car to drive around the island. The rooms are kept clean and tidy, and the hostel offers lockers for everybody for free. I was also fortunate to meet some great people at the hostel who were also keen travelers and great chat.

Kathy also made a killer guava pie for everybody staying at the hostel! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were greeted by Kathy who truly was proud of the island and the hostel, she provided us with all the info that we needed and recommended a great dive shop (deep blue). The rooms were clean, also provided us with locks! The pool was clean and refreshing, the rest of the grounds were great just to hang out in. Nice cool A/C at night. Slightly out of town but in a nice area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cteclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great place Kathy is so nice, The place have a Kitchen, clean pool, fruit trees one of the Best values that i have experience. I have think intolerancia retina the Who le place for a Groupon next year. So fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

if you are looking for a great stay in a super clean hostel, with great facilities, including a large clean pool this is it.
the owner lives on site as does the wonderful cleaning lady.
local knowledge is amazing as it should be from an expat new yorker who has been in mexico for many a year, (not that she is old,lol)
enjoy

Room Tip: lower beds away from AirCon in dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I traveled mexico for a month and this was absolutly the best hostel ive been at.
The host is amazing.. very warm and she's there for everything you need.. and the hostel itself is very comfortable and has anything you need

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElieMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beds Friends Hostel
Beds Friends Hostel
#1 of 47 in Cozumel
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
2Tank Dive Hostel Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos Hostel Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel Cozumel

Address: Calle 7 sur # 571 | between Ave 30 & 25 Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Amigo's B&B Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: £11 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amigos Hostel Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel Cozumel consists of two 4 bunk dormitory rooms, each with capacity of 8 people, with shared bath, lockers, extra sink, AC at night from 10 pm to 8 am May to October, and large communal kitchen area for cooking. Communal palapa area with Dish US TV system, high speed Wi Fi free internet access. Large pool and lush gardens remain part of the enjoyment of Amigos Hostel. Separate private cottage with complete kitchenette, safety box, private bath available max of 3 in three single individual sized beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Amigos Hostel Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing