We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The perfect accommodation if you want to dive & relax!

Clean and quiet, great value for money! Very relaxing, beautiful garden with different fruit trees and a pool. The beds are comfy and the rooms have fan + air con. Great common areas where you can hang out with other likeminded travellers. The owner is very friendly and can help you with pretty much everything. I was so happy to find this oasis away from all the cruiseships and partying. One of the best hostels I´ve been to!
Hope this place stays the same. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to make one. It was my pleasure to host you here at Amigos Hostel Cozumel and I wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    27
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
19
60
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beautifull place, nice garden with pool, dorms are perfect (cleanliness, accomodation, condition, etc), really clean bathroom in the room, large lockers, all good words for this Hostel!

The owner is really kind, she takes time with every costumers to explain the rules and accomodation of the hostel, but also to give helpfull advices for all Cozumel City and for the dives. As it was always raining when we were there, She did offer to dry our cloths with her own dryer machine.

I recommand it to everyone!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make such a kind review. It was my pleasure to meet you and to host you here at Amigos Hostel Cozumel and I wish you all the best in life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Thank you very Much for your hospitality !
I stay a week there and was so relaxing : garden, pool and commun areas are clean :)
Not so far from the center , secure, clean and relax atmosphere
I definitely recommend it
If you get a chance , maybe you will have some Muffins waiting for you on the table !!
Helene

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ln1nebio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and more importantly for choosing Amigos Hostel for your lodgings while here on Cozumel. It was my pleasure to host you and meet you and wish you the best life has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was one of the best hostels I have stayed in my trip. The hostel is very well taken care of. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Kathy explained everything I need to know when I arrived. The location of the hostel is about 20-25 minutes walk from the ferry drop off point. Their price is great. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and more importantly for staying here at Amigos Hostel Cozumel . It was my pleasure to host you here for your Cozumel holiday and wish you all the best in your career.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the amigos hostel for 2 nights, there is a very beautiful garden, big pool clean rooms and everything that is needed in the kitchen. When we arrived, Kathy gave us a map and told us what were the best places to visit depending on what activities we were expecting to do. The only thing i didnt like is the distance from the ferry and restaurants, which is not that bad but i was scared to come back late. Azul, the amigos hostel's cat was also nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank van-s-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for spending your Cozumel holiday here at Amigos Hostel and thank you too for taking a moment to write a review. It was my pleasure to host you here... Azul misses the tender loving attention you gave her during your visit! All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Amigos Hostel is a great place to relax; by the pool or in the hammock. But if you're interested in some more action, then the fantastic owner Kathy, can tell you everything about what the Island has to offer. Besides that the big fully equipped kitchen is a big plus if you like to cook you're own meal.
Thank you Kathy for creating this little paradise and for the tasty home-made pancakes and muffins in the morning!
I will definte come back when I'm in Mexico again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czmkathy, Owner at Amigos Hostel Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Sorry so late in responding but finally our 'slow' time has arrived and I wanted just to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and more importantly for choosing Amigos Hostel Cozumel as the place to stay for your Cozumel holiday.. My mangos are finally ripe so I've just made some jam to use on the pancakes for the next clients... maybe one day our paths will meet again and I will have some mango jam for you to enjoy! All the best to you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Kathy is super nice and helpful. She gave us an overview of the whole island plus other recommendations. It's a very quiet, low-key place to relax. Need to buy drinking water, bring soap. Has a pool table! Best place in Cozumel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keyan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beds Friends Hostel
Beds Friends Hostel
#1 of 44 in Cozumel
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
2Tank Dive Hostel Cozumel
2Tank Dive Hostel Cozumel
#10 of 44 in Cozumel
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos Hostel Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel Cozumel

Property: Amigos Hostel Cozumel
Address: Calle 7 sur # 571 | between Ave 30 & 25 Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Amigo's B&B Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amigos Hostel Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel Cozumel consists of two 4 bunk dormitory rooms, each with capacity of 8 people, with shared bath, lockers, extra sink, AC at night from 10 pm to 8 am May to October, and large communal kitchen area for cooking. Communal palapa area with Dish US TV system, high speed Wi Fi free internet access. Large pool and lush gardens remain part of the enjoyment of Amigos Hostel. Separate private cottage with complete kitchenette, safety box, private bath available max of 3 in three single individual sized beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amigos Hostel Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing