We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at B & B & Apartment Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarindo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at both the B & B & the apartment location. The apartment location (with the pool) was very nice & clean. We had a functioning kitchenette (fridge, microwave, stove top, drinking water, full stocked kitchen utensils, etc.) 2 bedrooms (king size beds), bathroom (very clean & big). We loved this location! It was easy to find with the directions provided & would definitely recommend staying here. We then moved to the B & B location. It was easy to find with the directions & was still alright. The suite had a 'kitchenette' (fridge-- that was not cold as it hadnt been plugged in, microwave, 2 very old coil hot plates, veeerry few kitchen utensils. The only thing we were able to use was the fridge. After we checked in we had to ask for soap (there was just an empty container on the sink), we also had to ask for drinking water, there were no had towels in the bathroom or kitchen & there were lots of bugs all over the counters & shelves (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom). We would give the first location a 10/10 & the B & B location at 5/10.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaMacNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here on my own in one of the upstairs rooms for a week while diving. Eliane, the owner is lovely and cooks a delicious breakfast, served on the roof terrace, even though she'd sprained her wrist at the time. The room was simple, in a backpacker style (complete with hammock as well as the double bed, for that genuine Mexican experience!) but very clean and perfect for me.

The location is about 10 minutes' walk from the ferry terminal and the main square so handy enough but not particularly close to anything. The benefit of that is that it's quiet and secluded.

Be warned that *nothing* happens in Cozumel at night. The bars and restaurants are mostly geared towards the cruise ships and once the passengers are back on board, most of them shut for the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a lovely stay in this B&B, and the hostess is the reason we would return in the future. We stayed in the Palapa room which is charming, but was more dingy than we expected. There is a distinct musty odor, and the room is very dark. Open and roomy with natural sunlight in the bathroom, yet we never felt that we wanted to lounge in the room for long. This room stood apart from other hotels due to the strong and flowing water pressure (welcome after a day of salt water). Also, as mentioned in other reviews this room is very noisy and near the street. We noticed one of the other ground floor rooms has a noisy pump which turns on occasionally. On the up-side, the grounds are beautiful, the morning breakfast is yummy (albeit modest), and is centrally located. Good value for the money...but upgrades would help. **new pillows, blankets, and deep clean.

Room Tip: chose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eps_nsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in the Palapa cottage for 3 nights while we were in Cozumel for scuba diving. This is a nice and quiet Bed&Breakfast. Eliane, our host, was really helpful for recommanding nice places in town. Great value for the price! And you can make reservations online!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms : the palapa room first at Tamarindo 1, and then a small flat at Tamarindo 2.

We don't recommend the Tamarindo 1 palapa room : it is clean and nicely furnished (I liked very much the bathroom) but it is noisy and as it is as the entrance, you have to close all windows if you want some privacy. But we payed 35 USD per night in November, I can't criticize too much : for this price it it is a real bargain :-)

Eliane was accommodating and proposed us a small flat at Tamarindo 2, the price was 70 USD, but it is big, quiet, there is a nice swimming pool ... perfect !

Room Tip: Don't take the palapa room, except for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lboutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My boyfriend and I backpacked through QRoo for nearly two weeks, and Tamarindo was the best place we stayed! We extended our stay from 1 night to three because it was such a lovely place. Eliane and Olivia are beautiful ladies, incredibly kind and helpful. They provided us with maps, tips, and anything else we needed. We stayed in the free-standing thatch-roofed bungalow which had a hammock, full-size and single beds, a hammock, wetbath, refrigerator and optional a/c (for an upcharge). There is filtered water provided upstairs in the community kitchen, which is fully stocked and available to guests wishing to cook a meal or make coffee. The home and other rooms are within a gated stucco area, which left us feeling very secure. I cannot stress how lovely Eliane and Oliva were to us... they even found some isopropyl alcohol to disinfect a laceration I acquired on the beach! You MUST stay here if you go to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetwhiskeyvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This beautiful place was only a few blocks away from the main road but far enough away to feel like you can escape the touristy area. The little French woman was very sweet and went above and beyond. We stayed in the palapa hut on the ground floor and it was more than enough space. The kitchen and eating patio were great to for having a nice meal at home. The place feels very homey, safe and clean. We were pleasantly surprised and will come back again.

Room Tip: The palapa hut, make sure you get AC if it's hot out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#4 of 25 in Cozumel
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribo Cozumel
Caribo Cozumel
#1 of 25 in Cozumel
185 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calle 4 Norte # 421, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: £19 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tamarindo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarindo b&b
Tamarindo Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing