We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Angel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Angel Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“First trip to Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was my first trip to Cozumel and my stay at the Blue Angel was excellent. The location is perfect, right on the water and a few minutes to town by taxi. The nice part regarding the location is that there isn't much in the way of tourist shops/restaurants in the immediate walking area, so even when the 2-3 daily cruise ships arrive in Cozumel you really don't notice. The staff members on location were all excellent, very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was surprisingly good, I only ended up eating in town a handful of times. The rooms were pretty basic, but comfortable with a great view and definitely fit for purpose (concrete floors) if you are there for diving. The diving was great, plenty of different dive spots to try out during the two tank boat dives. I ended up doing 15 dives in 8 days with a few of the different dive masters (all excellent- friendly, professional and very familiar with the dive sites). I enjoyed all of the dives sites, but Palancar Caves and Palancar Gardens were probably my two favorites. Night diving directly behind the resort wasn't something I would have normally done if I hadn't taken the PADI advanced open water course, but I'm really glad I did because a variety of marine life normally hiding during the day seems to come out at night (octopuses, eels, rays, etc). Overall it was a great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    143
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
110
285
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just finished our second stay at the Blue Angel earlier this month. Again, we had a wonderful trip. The rooms are always clean and good repair. They are not fancy but comfortable and spacious. All rooms are ocean front. The dive operation is professional and safe. We felt blessed to dive with Jorge all week. The restaurant's food is always fresh and fast. To me though what really makes the Blue Angel stand out is the staff. Every person from the owner on down are friendly and always willing to go that extra mile with a smile no less. That kind of service on top of an already great dive operation is truly why we went back a 2nd time and will return again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBiddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would like to make a few comments on my recent stay at the Blue Angel Resort in Cozumel. This was our second stay there in a year. When we decided on our second vacation, choosing the Blue Angel was a no brainer. The food continues to be really good with a diverse selection; the rooms are clean and comfortable and good for the value. The convenience to the dive shop and restaurant can't be beaten. We have dove with just about all of dive masters and I have had nothing but good experiences. cites. What I like best about the Blue Angel is the friendliness of the staff and the diversity of the people that stay there. The staff I found are always willing to assist you with issues that tend to pop up that you may not have any control over. The diversity of the people that stay there great. I met and dove with couples from Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Europe, Canada and the U.S.A. Most people I spoke to said they just keep coming back to the Blue Angel over and over again. Coming back for the second time myself, I understand why. There can't be many diving resorts out there as nice as the Blue Angel. My wife and I are making plans for our third trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reed2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Not being a diver, I wasn't sure what to expect from this resort but booked due to positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't steered in the wrong direction that's for sure!
Each room has a wonderful ocean view, the rooms are clean with good amenities. And the staff- friendly, helpful and always great service with a smile. The location is a little bit from town but if you, like me, need to walk off the holiday calories you can be in town in 15 minutes easily. Eva's note by the bed with helpful hints for your stay in Cozumel was really useful. The breakfast is great (and included in the room rate)- and trust me, try the mango margaritas-they're to die for. Thanks to all at Blue Angel for a relaxing and great value stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchickvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We are eco-friendly persons but we have had many very bad experiences staying in horrible hotels in world famous ecological cities... Example, Too much parties and noise at night, and too many beer cans and garbage when we woke up in front of our room. We are traumatic for this kind of memory happened before and didnt want to have the same experience any more.
We were kind of worried before arrive here, but things are very different! We noticed that both Hotel staff and guest are dive and nature lovers and concious for environment...!! (In the restaurant menu, there is no conch ceviche cause its in danger of extinction..I am so glad!!)
The room is very clean, out side of the room, there are full of lovely decorations of local plants.
Most people who stayed is divers from all over the world. We had a snorkel boat from the hotel and the experienced guide took us a beautiful ocean to see sea turtles and mantas. It was really unforgettable experience for us. I understand why guest is coming back later.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanchandayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We returned to Blue Angel to take advantage of their fall promotion. I was VERY disappointed with our room assignment. I had requested top North and received bottom south. The resort was full so it was what it was. The AC units are new and work great. Food was great as was the service as always. Dive operation was good, but several of the regular guides were on vacation so we had a few fill ins. I forgot our passports in our safe and didn't realize it until we were in Playa the day we left. Andrea was great going out of here way to help us. We'll be back again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view, but the upper floors on the north side are preferable. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahBrowntrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been staying at the Blue Angel for years and wouldn't consider anywhere else. This is not a five star resort but its appeal is in the simplicity. Each time we visit we meet interesting people who carve a new memory. The appeal of the pairing of a good dive shop, great restaurant and really nice hotel staff is hard to deny. This last visit we only stepped on the street once, there was no need to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmiller_33708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Angel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Angel Resort

Property: Blue Angel Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km. 2.2, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Angel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms, each with patio or private balcony for you to enjoy the beautiful sunsets or you can relax under the palapas on the ocean or around the fresh water pool. Friendly/helpful staff - on-site restaurant where food is freshly prepared and you can get a quick snack or full meal - on-site full service dive shop. This is a smaller, more intimate hotel. The staff will know your name, and you will know theirs after a few days. We like it this way and we will never change that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Angel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Angel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing