We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just enough for a nice stay”
Review of Blue Angel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Angel Resort
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our first stay with Blue Angel. We normally spend a full week at one of the all-inclusive chains further to the South but since this was to be just a few days we tried a place that was more diver-centric. This is a clean and friendly place with a relaxed atmosphere that caters to divers. We liked the open air lobby. It was a nice place to hang out and share dive videos with new acquaintances.

The on-site dive op is expertly managed. No cattle boats or rushed dives. They schedule the afternoon boats late enough that the morning divers aren't forced into 40-45 min dives in order to get back by 12:00.

The double beds were too small to share for a couple used to a king bed but were comfortable and not broken down or caved in. The place is set up for dive groups so the rooms would be ideal for two singles.

There was a nice balcony with a table and chairs and a drying rack ready for hanging wetsuits and gear. The AC unit and mini-fridge were in good working condition. Wi-Fi was available in the lobby and the restaurant but getting a signal on the fourth floor wasn't possible.

We were on the top floor so you couldn't put t.p. into the toilet, which makes the place a bit like camping, but again, not a big deal just not "five star". They provided plenty of potable water for drinking or to brush your teeth. Large water coolers were located on each floor to refill the bottles in the rooms. Many of the bigger resorts will only sell you bottled water :(

The place is right on top of the busy street so road noise was noticable until about midnight by then there was very little traffic so no issues sleeping. We had a heavy downpour one night and we both slept like babies and didn't hear the street noise at all.

The room was always cleaned by the time we returned from the morning dives so we could deal with our gear and relax. Always plenty of clean towels and the mini-fridge was kept stocked.

There is no beach, but there is a clean swimming pool with several lounge chairs. There is a walk-in area for shore diving.

We decided to walk into town one evening for dinner. A bit of a walk, but it was fine unless you are disabled or lazy. Taxis into town were readily available for a few bucks US.

If you like cats, they have a small resident kitty that likes to chase your ankles and frisk around.

We will definitely consider staying here for future dive trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visit Cozumel every year, but this was our first time staying at the Blue Angel.
Everything exceeded our expectations. Great happy hour. The location was perfect for us as divers and you could walk to town if you wanted. Wifi was good for us everywhere. Road noise was there, but not that bad at night with the AC on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 535skibum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a great little hotel and dive shop. Great views, spacious rooms, extremely clean. I loved that they had bottled water at the end of the hallways to refill your bottles or the pitchers in the rooms. The food in the restaurant was delicious! Don't forget to collect your welcome drink!
The service was impeccable, very gracious. It is located right on the road in Cozumel, so expect some road noise. The views, however, from the balconies are enough to overcome the noise!

Room Tip: Located on the main road, so bring your ear plugs. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We just got back from our stay at this place and thought we would point out a couple of things we did not notice already posted in other reviews or affirm comments that are true.

1. The wifi IS iffy in the rooms and only slightly better in the lobby or restaurant.
2. The street noise is loud. The speed bumps in front of the hotel probably increases the noise level all the time and it really only quiets down until midnight but kicks back up at 5:30 am.
3. The dive shop and dock are busy and run a lot of outside business thru, the side effect of this is that a lot of outside people then use the pool/lobby/wifi inconviencing the paying guests. Nondivers will notice this if you are hanging out trying to use the hotel. A simple sign restricting access or a staff member responsible for running the cruisers out would help!

The staff in the hotel, dive shop and restaurant are wonderful and will try to do anything to please. The view is good, we really enjoyed watching the dive boats and cruise ships come in and out of the port.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is belated from our stay earlier this year, but our stay at Blue Angel was awesome. Since that visit, we would be hard pressed to stay anywhere else. Is the resort a 5 star - no, but also not 5 star prices. We are divers and I consider this the ultimate diver resort on the island. So here are my summary points:

Rooms - Clean, Spacious, and Clean. All rooms are ocean view.

Staff - Awesome, very accommodating and friendly.

Restaurant - great food, we did breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our favorite time each late afternoon was happy hour and looking out over the water. Spectacular views. Margs and appetizers really good and very reasonable. I am a big iced tea drinker and they made me a pitcher for our stay and kept it behind the bar.

Location - A good walk to town (if I recall correctly about 50 min) but a beautiful walk along the ocean.

Dive Shop - will review under that section, but Blue Angel Scuba School was great. Chicago Matt was great. Front staff was really accommodating as my wife had ear trouble and missed some dives.

Overall - awesome stay in a great location.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I were here for a 7day stay, our first time. To start off our dive trips were great. Norman a dive master we really enjoyed, very personable and let us pick where we wanted to dive. No stress as to rushing through dives, it was really a great experience. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning worked great. We were on the 2nd floor and the road noise was very annoying to say he least. The food was very good as we had breakfast included and we ate lunch and dinner a few times here. In our opinion the menu is very limited for breakfast and lunch and could really be expanded. The service for dining though was excellent. We did have a problem with ants, fire ants at that, we were bit quite a few times through one night. They were very prompt to spray our room and help solve the issue but there was still quite a few. A heated pool would have been a plus, it was pretty chilly, even with the 80 degree weather. Wifi was a plus, but did not work In our room. If you are not a diver this is not a place for you. It rained for three days straight and when not diving, there is not much to do. Beds were pretty hard, but everyone Is different in what they prefer. Staff exceptionally great and made our stay memorable as everyone is more than willing to help with whatever they can.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubaRN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

When we travel, we are looking for a clean & secure room, on the oceanfront with a good view, with friendly and professional staff, at a good value. We are divers and we spend little time in our room, but will sit out on the balcony to relax. As already noted by others, a restaurant & dive shop are on-site and very convenient & smoothly run. Small refrigerators are in the rooms if you choose to pick up some snacks in town, as we did, although Breakfast is filling & included in the room price. This was our 2nd ( a return visit) for myself & my husband to BA this year. We have not stayed anywhere else on Cozumel, and probably never will, because BA is perfect for us.

(A special thankyou to Landi who helped us with our spanish during our stay, and also the wonderful gentleman who had coffe brewing at 6:30 am each morning, so I could sit on our balcony watching the sun rise, before our morning dive, with a cup of Joe).

A closing note, this is a great place for divers to stay. If you are bringing non-divers, you may wish to consider what they will be doing while you dive.

Room Tip: Balconies on upper floors probably not safe for small children; ground floor best for those with mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Angel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Angel Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km. 2.2, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Angel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms, each with patio or private balcony for you to enjoy the beautiful sunsets or you can relax under the palapas on the ocean or around the fresh water pool. Friendly/helpful staff - on-site restaurant where food is freshly prepared and you can get a quick snack or full meal - on-site full service dive shop. This is a smaller, more intimate hotel. The staff will know your name, and you will know theirs after a few days. We like it this way and we will never change that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Angel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Angel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing