We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Angel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Angel Resort
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect dive hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We should have stayed 6 nights at Blue Angel, but for 2 of the days the hotel was fully booked. They suggested, that we stayed at a nearby hotel (Villa Blanca) for these 2 nights, and then getting back to Blue Angel. We would have preferred staying all 6 nights at Blue Angel, but it was an acceptable solution.

The rooms are basic, but perfect for a dive stay. All room facing west over the water (pier and pool).

The hotel is located 2½ km. outside the center (20-30 min. walk or 70 MXN taxi-drive)

All in all it was value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor and had a wonderfully view. If you have a lot of dive-equipment the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoerensenKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    143
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
110
285
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san mateo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had high expectations and this place delivered. It was perfect. Large rooms. comfy beds, warm and friendly staff, efficient and smart, good restaurant, great boats, good dive masters. We had no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaliciousDiveDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was worried because we were a family of 6 travelling together. 5 people are from cooler climates and were worried that the air conditioning wouldn't be cool enough. No worries here...it blasted! A big hearty breakfast, and the rest of the food was great also. 2 for 1 happy hour was a hit. Snorkeling in the water around the hotel is good, and there are free kayaks available for paddling. But of course the jewel in the crown is the dive operation. I had been having a problem with equalizing my ears before the trip and was considering cancelling my dives. One of the dive masters convinced me to give it a go with him (Sorry, I've forgotten his name...Pedro maybe?). It was slow going, but he hung in there with me and I managed just fine. Those who weren't divers came on the same boat for snorkeling, and they loved it. All the rental equipment was great...regulators, computer, etc. And for us older divers, no problems with lugging heavy tanks and gear. The shop loads,unloads and washes everything. A special thanks has to go out to Witt in reservations. He is lightening fast with answering questions, arranging special requests, and a terrific can do attitude. I will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean, great a/c, beds are comfortable. The staff always found a way to accommodate our needs. Very helpful and had suggestions for restaurants and shopping. Their restaurant is wonderful as well. Everything we had was great. Can't wait to return. Thank you Eva!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a brilliant stay at Blue Angel, and it was our favorite overall of the 4 places we stayed on holiday due to the friendliness of the staff and value for money.

First of all, our arrival... what a great start to your holiday to be welcomed with any cocktail of your choice - i asked for a strawberry daiquiri and it was HUGE and tasted amazing.

We were VERY pleasantly surprised with our room - I had very low expectations for a $80 a night dive resort and thought the room was lovely - big and spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable.

We ate at the restaurant every night because we couldnt imagine finding anything better anywhere else, being right on the water, fairy lights, great cocktails, amazing food AND live classical guitar every night which really set the mood.

We dived every day and had amazing dives. The dive centre is very well run and you can keep your gear safe in crates so dont have to lug it up to your room.

The staff, especially our waiter Rene, were super friendly and helpful, and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

My only slight criticisms, or more things for potential travellers to be aware of, are:
- the hotel is on a busy road, so although you have the ocean on the one side of you, you have loud traffic noise on the other side
- we were in room 406 which is at the end of the hotel, next door to a giant boat locker, and we got woken everynight with the noise of the boat being moved in/out of the locker
-Neither of these were biggies for us as we just used ear plugs.
- A lot of the sun loungers at the pool are looking a little worse for wear, and I think the pool area could be given a facelift to match the awesomeness of the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The rooms were nice and big and very comfortable. The staff were very accommodating, and made me feel like part of the family. They greeted me with a smile and a warm hello every time I came to the hotel. The made the trip all that much more enjoyable. I didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. They have balconies and wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent a long weekend staying at and diving with Blue Angel. All the rooms face the ocean and are very clean. The food is excellent. Live music at night. Another great trip! Thank you to Eva and all the staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
990 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
3,602 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Angel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Angel Resort

Property: Blue Angel Resort
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km. 2.2, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Angel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms, each with patio or private balcony for you to enjoy the beautiful sunsets or you can relax under the palapas on the ocean or around the fresh water pool. Friendly/helpful staff - on-site restaurant where food is freshly prepared and you can get a quick snack or full meal - on-site full service dive shop. This is a smaller, more intimate hotel. The staff will know your name, and you will know theirs after a few days. We like it this way and we will never change that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Angel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Angel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing