We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We could not have asked for a better stay in...”
Casa Carlita in Cozumel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Carlita in Cozumel
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Casa Carlita in Cozumel
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dining area
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
bathroom
Kitchen area
Office with twin bed
Cozumel June 2006 024
courtyard by entrance gate
Casa Carlita side courtyard shower/rinse tank
outdoor shower and rinse tank
Pool area
livingroom
Dining area
Cozumel April 2007 093
kitchen
Casa Carlita front
Guadalupe our  wonderful maid
Guadalupe and Carlita
Victor and Guadalupe
Guadalupe and Victor 003.JPG
Abel Casa Carlitas pool man
outdoor shower /rinse at night
partial view of courtyard at night
worker removing the coco's
Iguana checking the water meter
Outside gate Casa Carlita
2 Bikes for guests to use
Casa Carlita kitchen eating area
Outside Casa Carlita's gate
Living room
desk for internet
Small office with twin bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cozumel, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aljameela
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We could not have asked for a better stay in Cozumel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cozumel and we stayed at Casa Carlita with my business partner and our husbands. The property is gorgeous, comfortable and nicely located. The beds were comfortable, the house had everything we needed, to include wifi and a land line that allowed us to stay in touch with our kids back home. The pool was perfection, just the right size for a cool-down dip after lounging in the sun. There were bikes and beach towels provided, and we wanted for nothing.

But what really makes this property shine is the management. Victor was our "fixer" and he arranged everything for us, from our airport pick-up to the delivery of a rental car. Esperanza cooked for us, which caused us to regret having to return to our normal lives back in the states. She had some valuable tips about what to see on the island as well. Her husband, Abel volunteers with a local environmental group dedicated to conserving sea turtles, and on her tip we were able to participate in the release of baby sea turtles, even holding one! Thanks to my husband's good Spanish we also learned from Esperanza about the endangered island mapaches (raccoons) that we were able to feed by hand!

We appreciated the careful attention to detail offered at Casa Carlita and look forward to returning. The island is just the right size and offers everything we could ask for: Great snorkeling, wonderful food, cool breezes and sun, and endless hours of relaxation. Each morning we walked to Starbucks and watched the cruise ships empty their masses into Punta Langosta for a day of shopping and we felt lucky to have a longer stay, with a more local flavor than usually afforded to tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities, staff
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about your stay. We truly appreciate it. We are glad your stay was a good one and you seemed to have captured the real essence of Cozumel. Thank you again for staying at Casa Carlita. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Carla and Craig Hanson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loves_goo...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home and more!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful, well appointed property on a quiet little side street. We wanted a "non-touristy" experience, and this provided the perfect setting for that. Close enough to walk - or ride a bike - to the _big_ nearby supermarkets, but it was hot enough in July that we drove more than we usually would. The a/c units and the pool made the heat bearable, which was wonderful since the water temp in the ocean is fabluous during the summer! (Cooler on Cozumel than on the mainland, for sure.)

The owners were very helpful during our selection process and afterwards, and the rental management staff was also helpful and very nice.

Highly recommend this for more adventurous travelers who want a more local experience. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of privacy; attractive but unpretentious decor; great layout for 2 couples; outdoor shower and rinse area for dive/snorkel gear
Liked least: iPod player wouldn't play tunes from our iPhones, but we survived. :-)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2012
Hi Caprice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Casa Carlita. We appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Take care and thanks again for choosing Casa Carlita for your trip to Cozumel.

Carla Hanson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Reviewed 1 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it. We are happy your stay was a good on and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Take care and keep in touch.

Carla and Carig Hanson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsS711
Livonia, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great location and great house but staff was a bit pushy”
Reviewed 21 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Carlita for our honeymoon and LOVED it! We loved the privacy and cleanliness of the place. Its location is also great. It is still in town, however, it is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the cruise ship ports. You can walk or take a cheap taxi pretty much anywhere in San Miguel. We did rent a car and used it to explore the island and to go to some of the beach clubs, since they are not typically in the city.

One drawback was Lupe (the cleaner) and Victor (the house manager) came early in the morning and would ring the doorbell four or five times thus waking us up. If we didn't answer, they would return an hour later and do the same thing. Lupe was not a "sweet little housekeeper" that some of the other reviewers painted her as. She came off as rather rude to us. Check in was a bit of an issue as well. Our flight arrived and Pedro was there to show us the way, however, he had to wait for someone else to arrive and didn't seem to know when they were due. We said we could find our way since we had a map but he insisted we wait for someone to show us the way. So after a long flight and long lines we waited another fifteen minutes for someone else to arrive to show us the way. It was a very simple drive and we could have definitely done it ourselves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Cozumel. We are happy you loved Casa Carlita, its cleanliness, privacy and location.

We are sorry you felt our housekeeper was not as friendly as you had hoped. We are surprised to get such a review on Lupita. In over ten years we have never received a negative comment related to her and she has always been considered a very real part of what makes Casa Carlita a wonderful home in which to vacation.

The maid service is scheduled to arrive at 9:30 daily. If guests prefer they can request afternoon cleaning instead of in the morning. Also if desired, the mangement company will work with you if you would like the maid to come every other day. Iam sorry that you were unaware that you had the ability to control her schedule.

Victor is our house representative. He regularly checks in with guests to make sure their stay is going well. If guests do not want regular check ins by Victor, he can be told that it is not necessary or that he should come by at a scheduled time. I am sorry that his conscientiousness was a problem for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing Casa Carlita for your stay in Cozumel.

Carla Hanson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 8 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing