We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, pretty beach, would visit again”
Review of Chavez

Chavez
Ranked #122 of 374 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Nachi Cocom All Inclusive Beach Break Includes: All Beach Club Amenities All you can Drink - (Open Bar including: beer, liquors, cocktails, water, wine, sodas, juices and bottled water) A 4 courses lunch served a la carte at your leisure and includes Mexican Specialties as well as Caribbean treats Lounge Chairs
Avinger, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, pretty beach, would visit again”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The beach is an all inclusive daytime resort. There were 10 in our party from our cruise ship. We did book on their website, not through the cruise ship. All of us had no trouble booking and they gave explicit directions to the beach by taxi. It was only a 15 minute ride from the ship and they made sure we had a taxi back. Our group's beach chairs were all seated together. We had a blast all day. The beach was very clean and the water was gorgeous. We played in the water and snorkeled. They have a pool and hot tub, some in our party used it, but I didn't leave the beach. If the sun was too much, there was plenty of shade under the palapas. You can rent floaties, paddle boards, jet skis and other activities. Take your beach towel or they will charge you for one, but we knew this ahead of time. They have a huge covered eating area, but we ate on the beach with small tables. The place was very clean, including the bathrooms. The food was great. If you go back hungry, there is something seriously wrong with you. They had a good selection of food on their menu (mainly Mexican). Everything we had was very tasty and fresh. With 10 of us in our group, we tried almost everything on the menu. And then the drinks. Anything you could want was available from the bar. We tried beer, frozen drinks, sangria, bloody Marys, screwdrivers, margaritas and all you wanted. It was well worth the money. There were not very many kids there the day we went, but it is not a water park. They keep it to a minimum of 100 people, but the way they have the chairs situated you do not feel all cramped together. The wait staff was friendly and courteous, but we usually had to go search them out to place an order. All in all we had a spectacular time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kissinkousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Spent a chill day with nice service and beautiful beach.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The food and drinks flowed (4 star but good), the palapas felt private, the hammocks were a treat, and the beach was clean and pristine. We rented a kayak and a paddle board and explored around. The bathrooms were clean and the pool was nice for a quick dip. Only complaint is that the hot tub was full of kids and not very hot. If you want quiet and lazy, this is the place. There was a place next door with water slides, etc. if you want more action. Beware that they close at 5:00.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing even In the rain”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Me and 4 of my friends visited this resort in nov 2013, it was well worth the $$. All inclusive was wonderful and the 4 course meal was more than filling we didn't even make it to all four courses. This was a quiet and relaxing atmosphere and had interesting fish to watch snorkeling. Unfortunately it rained most of our time there but with the drinks coming and the hot tub it was still very fun and nice. Shout out to Carlos the best waiter who was there for us for anything I wanted. I would 100% go back here rain or shine! Only disappointment was the water sport guys left early and we did not get our banana boat ride :( even after we told them we wanted to do one. They didn't even tell us they were leaving although I think they are contracted out and don't actually count as part of the resort ! Love this place !!

Helpful?
Thank Xraycathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, not crowded, great service”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I were just there last week. We came in on Oasis of the Sea, and booked online, NOT through the cruise ship. While a bit apprehensive, the reviews on the other sites were quite good.

We've been to dozen of other all-inclusives, and this was different in that there was no hotel. But no matter- it has everything else, including a HUGE restaurant/pool area (plenty of cover in case it rained, which it did for 15 minutes before returning to sunshine).

Overall, very impressed. We were greeted as soon as we got out of the cab, and we selected a thatched umbrella on the beach. Nearest couple was 6 chairs / 25 feet away, making it pretty private.

The food was authentic Mexican and very, very good. The salsa was the best I have ever tasted- obviously made fresh that morning if not 10 minutes ago! The seafood soup was also very, very good. You can order off of the menu in addition to the included 3 courses, and while french fries are $22, it's in Peso's so it's very reasonably priced (about US $1.70!)

Drinks and service were great. Had the usual beer selections and frozen drinks. Waiters had no problem serving on the beach. The pool is huge, and there is both a swim up hot-tub and pool, though the hot-tub wasn't 'hot', but definitely warmer.

Despite having several large ships in port, it was never crowded- there might have been 50-60 people there and we never waited for service. In fact, I can honestly say it was 'comfortably' crowded, in the sense that we met several couples and ended up sharing some drinks with a few of them (again, never having to wait for a round).

This resort is perfect for couples or families with small children. While there are some activities to do, it's *not* really meant for the 9-15 year old set, though there were a few of those around. (From the resort you can see Mr. Sanchos, which has numerous water inflatables and a crowd to match- that's where we'll take our boys next time).

Overall, 4.5 stars to make it a 5 on the review. My only complaint is that the activities guy really didn't know English that well and kept trying to get us on the waterski's, though I already talked to someone else. Most of the staff spoke English pretty well.

We would definitely recommend this to our friends and family- a 9.5 out of 10. They did a great job.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would NEVER RETURN!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked this resort after we read some good reviews.........I would say I do not at ALL AGREE for the most part. You are paying for all inclusive but it is NOT. It takes forever for a waiter to get you drinks and food...so basically in the time that we were there we got three drinks each. You can order one appetizer, one main course and one desert ALL of which are of poor quality and taste. The service was HORRIBLY SLOW and EVERYTHING was extra $$$$. A towel $5, Wifi $5 (paid the $5 and that too was horrible), beach activities $$$$$. The beach itself was so pretty and the sand so tropical but I would never return. They really play up the fact that they are never crowded like the other beaches and resorts BUT I would have much rather go somewhere that was just a bit more crowded but had more INCLUDED perks.
To top is all off the customer service and hospitality was nothing to brag about. Just so so.....I guess once they have you there and you have paid they figure why try......its not like they would refund you if you complained.
Do not waste your money or time on this resort!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Limofam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chavez also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Chavez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing