We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cantil Condo Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient to Everything”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Rented a condominium on the 5th floor of El Cantil Sud with much enthusiasm. Very clean, staff were impeccably helpful and the location is most desirable. Across the street from a fantastic grocery, 10 blocks to the downtown central area, and on the main drag for taxi service island-wide. Would recommend renting from this exceptional condominium complex in a minute.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just got home from 9 days at Casa Caribe Azul on the first floor of El Cantil Norte, and I would recommend it to anyone. Here are a few specifics that make El Cantil stand out.

All staff that we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. The pool/beach area is well maintained. There are 2 piers and a walk-in access point to the sea that make it very easy to snorkel directly off the shore. FYI- there is a sunken bridge directly to the north that houses some interesting underwater creatures. Watching the comings and goings of the cruise ships that dock a half-mile north is fun as well- their sheer size is overwhelming to those of us non-cruisers.

Prima, the restaurant on the top floor, is especially convenient, however the breakfast is only adequate. I believe that this is a product of the fact that it is free if you book through the website. Lunch and dinner more than make up for it though. The lunch menu is available at the pool/beach from 12-3pm. No one in my group had any complaints about the quality or the price of anything that we ordered during the week. The Steak Prima served at dinner is one of the best entrees I've had anywhere- I had it 2 times in 3 days!

The location of the property is ideal as well. MEGA (Walmartish) is a 5 minute walk. We went almost daily, getting everything from water shoes to booze to food to suncreen. EXTREMELY convenient and nice being able to get things based on mood, and not having to plan what you want for food/libations during the week. There are chains (Margaritaville, Carlos and Charlie's, etc) a 10 minute walk away if you're into that kind of place- I'm not. The shopping area is a 15 minute walk and there are TONS of authentic, local places to eat and drink all along the way. A car is not necessary.

One tip that I would point out is that in my opinion, being on the first floor at this complex is key. Sure you do not get the view that would be afforded by a higher floor, but the convenience of having immediate access to your living space for drinks, your own bathroom, etc. is MUCH more important. Guests on other floors must use the stairs or elevator (there is only one) to shuttle themselves and their wares to and from the pool/beach area through the garage. No thanks...

The couple of irritants during the week had nothing to do with the property itself. There were 2 groups of travelers with no pool etiquette. They threw footballs across the length of the pool, and at one point even tried to set up a blow up volleyball net that they brought with them. I bring this up only as a plea to anyone reading this- WHEN YOU ARE ON VACATION, UNLESS YOU HAVE A PRIVATE POOL, THERE ARE OTHER PEOPLE ATTEMPTING TO ENJOY IT. HAVE SOME MANNERS AND RESPECT OTHER PEOPLE'S SPACE. Thanks.

There were some minor maintenance issues with the condo itself, but since it is a unit with a private management company, I will address them on Flipkey, as they have no bearing on the review of El Cantil. It was a wonderful vacation and great property. Book your stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor all the way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Casa Tropical, Unit 4C Sur, at El Cantil was absolutely the most incredible condo experience we've had. Clean, comfortable, incredible view, tropical feel, great pool area, swim right out into the ocean to snorkel... All this made our vacation experience one of the best we've ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The sweet maid was very accommodating. The restaurant was fabulous. Our expectations were not only met, but were far exceeded. We will definitely stay here again and again. We had a 3 bedroom condo, each with king beds and their own bathrooms. The hot tub was a fun extra. Highly recommend El Cantil!

Room Tip: For 3 couples, Casa Tropical was perfect! A view of the ocean is a must. El Cantil sits between two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawas City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Ideal place to stay, short walk to town, Margaritaville, Senor Frogs, and Carlos and Charlies... We would spend all day alternating between the beach lounge chairs, the ocean and the pool. The staff was wonderful and very much appreciated. The lady that cleaned did a through cleaning EVERYDAY! Always plenty of beach towels. I will stay there again! Maybe Carnival next year???!!!

Room Tip: The ground floor which is open to the ocean and you can just walk right out ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Small_T0wn_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed in unit LDN which is a ground floor 4 suite condo which has direct access to the beach/pool area from the back patio. The condo was well stocked with everything we needed, very clean and large enough so that everyone had plenty of space. The pool is very nice and heated(almost too warm to be refreshing from the heat of the sun). The wait staff at the pool was nice and the food/drinks reasonably priced. The included breakfast was very good and allowed us to eliminate the need to cook, some afternoon snacks were all that were needed before heading to town for dinner at night. The staff were very accommodating, especially Abraham, who will take care of anything you need. The location is perfect, two large grocery stores for supplies are right across the street, and many great restaurants within walking distance. We would surely return to El Cantil.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowhed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We rented unit 6C Sur, which is a 4 bedroom/4 bathroom unit, all of which are master suites. The unit had two rooms with two double beds and two rooms with a king bed. This worked perfect for our family - 5 adults, 3 kids, and one infant. The unit is modern and spotless, and the furniture is clean and comfortable. The unit comes with maid service, which will clean the bathrooms, floors, and kitchen (including dishes) as well as make the beds and do the laundry (that belongs to the unit). The kitchen has all the basic dishes and utensils as well as a reverse osmosis water system. Added bonus is the "left overs" from previous guests such as salt, pepper, oil, soap, etc. It was nice to not have to buy these items ourselves, since we wouldn't have used them completely. Both of the large markets are within walking distance (one is across the street) and all of the main tourist stops downtown are within a 10-15 minute walk. The balcony overlooks the pools and the ocean, and is perfect for watching the cruise ships come and go. The "beach", like most of the hotels that claim to have a beach, doesn't actually touch the water. It is just groomed sand partitioned from the rocky coast. This doesn't matter for most adults, but the kids were a bit disappointed (at least initially, the pools occupied them just fine!).

The service in the building office is very helpful. They were happy to provide recommendations and directions (there is also a guide written by unit owners). They also booked our excursions for us.

The unit comes with breakfast at the Italian restaurant in the north building. Only some of the menu items are included, but this was a large enough variety that you don't have to repeat items during a weeks stay. The pancakes must have been excellent, because the kids ordered them pretty much every morning. Like pretty much every place on the island, the coffee is weak. The wait staff was very friendly and prompt (and very patient with the small kids).

The living room and one bedroom have TVs with mostly English channels. The unit has its own wireless internet (see the back of the modem for the name and password), but it is a bit slow.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snickelfritz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOVATO , CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Oh My God, what a trip. We have stayed in some pretty nice places over the years , but this one takes the cake. We rented the penthouse suite with another couple for a week in Dec 2012.

From the moment you open the doors, you are greeted with an amazing view of crystal blue water, that you could never tire of!! The kitchen is well stocked with anything you could possibly need. The dining room and table are beautiful and large enough to host a black tie dinner, but who are we kidding? Bikinis would do just as well!! The bedrooms and in suite bathrooms are large and have enough storage for everything you could have possibly packed! The beds are comfortable and we slept like rocks! Leaving the slider open at night to hear the ocean was heavenly.

The balcony and seating outside was awesome! We spent most of our time, while at the condo, outside. We just could not get enough of the view! Watching the cruise ships roll in and out was all the entertainment we needed. Having a cocktail watching the sunset was probably all of our favorite activities of the day. I'm not sure there is another place on earth I would rather watch a sunset. Simply beautiful. Of course, watching from the hot tub wasn't too shabby either!

The pool and surrounding areas were always kept clean. There were plenty of chairs and sitting areas to accommodate everyone. If you are missing the beach, there are palapas and lounge chairs in a sand area. The view from the infinity pool is very nice. The pool is a great place to grab a drink and cool off and relax an afternoon away at!

Claudia, in the office, was a huge help when it came to answering any questions and booking the excursions we were interested in. She also was very informative and helpful when it came to showing us around the penthouse. Claudia has a fantastic sense of humor and we look forward to working with her again! Abraham, one of the staff, always greeted us with a huge smile and open arms. The wait staff at Prima, the rooftop restaraunt, was also excellent! Great place with an incredible view.

You are close to town for restuarants and entertainment. Shopping just across the street. This is a very convenient place to be as well as a beautiful place to be. We will be returning to El Cantil for our next visit.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank markbaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
3.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barracuda
Barracuda
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cantil Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cantil Condo Resort

Property: El Cantil Condo Resort
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar s/n, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cantil Condo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your El Cantil Condo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing