We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, quiet, right in town on pedestrial mall.”
Review of Hotel Mary Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mary Carmen
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
OttawB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Safe, quiet, right in town on pedestrial mall.”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I have stayed twice at this hotel for a total of three weeks, and as a single lady, I've always felt completely safe. The family run hotel staff are Spanish speaking, but we were able to communicate. Most people on Cozumel are friendly if you make an effort to connect. The maid is a sweetheart, and was so pleased with little gifts and tips I left on the pillow each day. I never felt the need to be concerned about things left in my room, nothing ever went missing. This is not a 'tourist' hotel but It is a very relaxed place to come and go as you like at an excellent price. The hotel is built right on the pedestrian walkway in the center of town. The two floors of rooms rise around a sunken, open patio inside the building where I liked to sit in the afternoon shade and have a pleasant drink from the bar across the walkway, read, and watch the turtles wander about. The rooms are clean and simple with Mexican motifs. The shower could use an update, and it was often cool, but I found it refreshing. If you shower in the morning, there was hot water. The air conditioning might have been a bit noisy, but you get used to it. I might head down one block to the main square two or three times a day, and there was always something to watch. Free concerts in the plaza every Sunday evening, and many local families turn out to enjoy the entertainment. Local restaurants kept the food budget on track, and the the food is very good mostly everywhere. There are modern corner stores where you can get bottled water, and snacks. Even though many cruise ships stop here, you can head a couple of streets back from the malecon, and hardly know there was one in the harbour. I would highly recommend this place for laid back people who like to be a bit 'off the beaten track', and like to really experience a place as opposed to sit on a beach. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else while in Cozumel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OneSetOfPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    42
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
44
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

After one night in another hotel I moved to Marie Carmen where I enjoyed my stay.

My room was nicely decorated with cute touches--tile, cut-outs, etc. Room contained a safe, tv with some channels in English. Hotel staff was pleasant and available and rooms surrounded a cute courtyard that was clean with several turtles living in it. Reception area was warm and welcoming and looked newly decorated.

The airconditioner in my room was of the old rickety and noisy variety, but despite waking me a few times in the night, it worked fine. Bed was hard but sleepable.Bathrooms could use the same makeover the rest of the rooms seem to have gotten--but everything was spotless.

Walking distance to the town square without being overwhelmed by the town square noise. Overall good budget digs for a few days of diving.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyosha666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Q.Roo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The bedrooms are very cozy! with mexican handcraft deco, is very good located in the heart of cozumel. We left our stuff in the bedroom and we didn´t have problems, there are nice honest persons working in this hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo Spgs
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

This was a two day advance trip so I just walked into the hotel and got a room. It is located just south of the square and one block in from the ocean. It is near Primas and Suites Colonial.

The room had two beds, AC a small TV but no fridge. The amazing thing is that the water pressure is high and the water about the hottest I have had in Cozumel. It was also about the quietest since it does not sit by a road.

I used the hotel safe with no problems. Overall it was consistent with the $40 USD a night price and adequate for a guy.

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — Thin bedspread
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CO_Pilot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary Carmen

Property: Hotel Mary Carmen
Address: Quinta Avenida N 132 | between the 1st Street and Adolfo Rosado Salas Street, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary Carmen 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated in retro 60's style with old tv, phones and furniture, Mary Carmen Hotel is really closed from the sea in the heart of Cozumel. Surrounded by bars and restaurants. 5 minutes walkint to de Ferry . It features a terrace in the center of the hotel where you can relax and meet friends . Kitchen available for hotel guests , Reading Area , Led TV with Cable, Safe , Fan , Air Conditioning . Continental breakfast and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mary Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing