We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck!”
Review of Hotel Posada Edem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Posada Edem
Ranked #18 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this establishment two years in a row during our diving trips to Cozumel. Room is good value for people who are simply looking for a place to spend a few nights. The hosts are very straight forward, informative and nice. I loved watching the turtles swim around and built a little attachment to the cat who always followed me around. I love supporting small businesses than giving my money to those overpriced resorts and making the rich richer. I plan on staying here once again for my trip next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Hotel Posada Edem. Our flight came in too late to make the ferry to Playa. The owners and family here are absolutely delightful. We only payed 320 pesos for 3 adults. The room was very basic and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The bathroom was ok and the room in general was very clean. The room was quieter than we were expecting which was an added bonus.

The next day we decided to go to a beach club and asked if we could store our luggage until 4pm. The owner locked it up in a small room and we returned to pick it up and everything went well.

We would recommend staying here if you are on a tight budget. We felt it was very safe and the location was wonderful. Very central. No problems whatsoever. We would stay here again the next time we visit Cozumel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frozengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights for the price of 4 on the tripadvisor promotion and were very pleasantly surprised.

The location in town cannot be beaten, 2 mins to the ferry terminal and lots of places to eat, rent cars (shop around and haggle!) etc nearby.

The staff were lovely and available at the ring of a bell until 9pm when they shut the main doors (access is by code after this time).

Beds were comfy, clean, there was 24hr hot water, flat screen tv and plenty of cable channels ($3 extra!). Towels provided and ceiling fan was fine for us.

Free purified drinking water and book exchange were a bonus.

The building felt secure and overall we would recommend this to anyone as a place to stay and base your activities from.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently stayed here while competing in Mr Sanchos Triatlon. The hotel staff were wonderful and a big thank you to the lady owner who was very acommodating. The rooms were basic, tv hotwater and aircon, comfy beds and no mosquitos!!! Enjoyed and would be back again!!!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank emerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Simple clean place. Nice people working there. Noisy dogs. I would certainly stay there if I went to Cozumel again. For the price its very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

For the past several years my wife and I have spent a month on the island of Cozumel for the purpose of scuba diving. We were, and are still, lucky to have found Hotel Posada Edem. The owners, Gustavo and his wife, are very friendly and helpful. They have become our friends. The rooms are clean. There showers have hot water 24 hours a day. The fans are quiet and reliable. The hotel is only 100 yards from the Zocalo which has live music and other cultural events on the week-ends. Good restaurants abound nearby. The rates are more than reasonable. If you want to spend your time and money enjoying the wonderful activities on the island, Hotel Posada Edem will extend your stay considerably. If you want to sit in a pretty room with elegant accoutrements, well, what can I say? Two thumbs up for Posada Edem.

Sincerely,

Don and Judith, The Alaskans

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akdivebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I asked a snorkling guide on the ferry to Cozumel where a decent cheap place to stay a few nights.
He advised the Posada Edem just one blk up from the ferry terminal in Cozumel turn left to the first street, then right half a blk in the middle on the left directly across from the taxi office.
There is a large water storage container on the roof with the name EDEM on it.
The lady is older and is making sure her daughter can have a good viable business.
It is very low key, fountain with live turtles in lobby, couple of friendly dogs, just like home.
200.00 pesos per night about $18.00 Cdn, save your money to buy silver!!

Room Tip: I only saw one room, it is set back from the street, so I don,t think there is a bad room. Don.t ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hubey2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
2Tank Dive Hostel Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Edem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Edem

Address: Calle 2 Norte No. 124, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Posada Edem 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the most affordable hotel in Cozumel, with rooms basic but comfortable and clean, with family atmosphere and with a privileged location, 130 meters from the Mar and of the central park Benito Juárez, in front of the union of Taxis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posada Edem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing