We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of New Especias

New Especias
Ranked #121 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An Authentic and Cozy Italian Restaurant in the Wonderful Cozumel Island!!! (We moved from ITALIANINI!!!)
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Truly a great discovery. Authentic Italian Cuisine in a relaxed environment, the chef delivers amazing examples of disches you won't find anywhere on the island, or even at home.Francesco, we thank you and look forward to seing you again soon. Service is very good, pricing is very reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    25
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We gave this place a try last night for dinner. Our son had Lasagna and i gave it a try and WOW i was very impressed and i come from an italian family. I had the pasta with tuna and my husband had filet mignon. We were all very happy with our choices.
Service was good as well
We will go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvfish0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a great little place off the main plaza in Cozumel. The owner is from Rome and imports his ingredients from Italy. It's upstairs so there is no interference from the street and there is a little terrace to sit on if you choose.I had the Lionfish special with Chardonnay. So wonderful and fresh. Great service. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya Beach
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“!st time to New Especias”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a great meal at this restaurant last night. Tried Lion Fish for the 1st time and it was delicious. Our waiter was very attentive, and over all service excellent. The menu is varied, and I'll have to go back to try some other dishes. Prices are reasonable, and it was pleasant to sit out on the upstairs balcony and enjoy the breeze. The wine bar downstairs is very cute, and when friends visit, I can see us sitting there and enjoying some great wine. Try this place, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Presentation of Food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We decided to give this (our second try) after the New Especias took over. We enjoyed it so much in the days of Adrian owning it with Abraham playing the guitar. Things change and this second experience of the New Italian Especias was much better. We had a new waiter who was excellent and friendly, salads were fresh, seafood and pasta very good. We took our time and ordered/ shared the hot chocolate cake which melted in our mouths it was so good!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Especias also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to New Especias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing