We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Diving, Average Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Diving, Average Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed Nov. 8-15. This was our sixth trip to Iberostar Cozumel.

Resort:
Check-In/Out is easy and the desk staff is friendly and accommodating. Requested upper floor, king bed, close to dive shop (in advance), and all requests were met.

Rooms are average, but adequate, in a bungalow style. Yes, they have a musty smell, but it is the tropics. Ask for a mattress topper (or two) as the beds are quite hard. Limited space for unpacking and hanging clothes. Great big shower, no tub. The mini-fridge blocks long clothes (dresses) from hanging properly. I mainly dress casual when at this resort. Maid service is awesome. (Thanks Elana!) Umbrellas in the room were a huge plus since it was a rainy week.

Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Downside was all the flooding issues when heavy rain occurred. Walkways were quite slippery when wet. Including the bungalow stairs. Many first floor room entry areas flooded.

Pool is nice and kept clean. Didn't use the pool bar on this trip.

We were scheduled for time in the jacuzzi (at the spa), but it was raining heavy and the jacuzzi is outside so we cancelled. We did not have any massages, but heard great comments from those who did.

Restaurants could be hit or miss. Hubby loved his food at the steak house and I didn't like my meal at all. We were not able to get a reservation for Mexican restaurant as they only let you book from 9 am to 1 pm. Kind of ridiculous when the bulk of people are diving during this time. It is like they intentionally don't want you to book them. Buffets were good, but repetative. I was always able to find something to eat though. Breakfast was exceptional.

Bars were good with plenty of bartenders, but not a lot of wait staff. Wish the lobby bar was bigger as there was rarely room to sit and have a cocktail there.

We didn't watch any shows as they have never really impressed us here. The live entertainment by the bar was okay at best. I like the painting demonstrations every couple of nights.

I would have given this stay an average rating, but because the staff was so great and handled any issues we had promptly, I bumped it up to a very good rating.

Diving:
The diving is amazing, but yes there are a lot of divers and boats out there. A couple dives we did not run into other groups at all, but it was more common to run into one or two on any given dive. One dive we ran into several other dive groups.

Dressel Divers is organized and friendly. Yes, they cost more, but you can book ahead and get great discounts from their office in Spain. Don't forget to let your bank know in advance if you are doing this or they might deny the credit card charge.

Room Tip: Upper floors help avoid flooding issues. We like close to the dive shop since we dive almost every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ma_golfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    1,764
    624
    222
    111
See reviews for
1,410
1,739
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were staying in the Iberostar Paraiso Beach on the Rivieva Maya and decided to do an excursion. We caught the shuttle bus into Playa Del Carmen then crossed to Cozumel by ferry, hired a scooter and zooted around the island, stopping at this wonderful oasis on the beach. Our first impression was that we had entered the garden of Eden! Beautiful lush vegetation, brilliantly coloured flowers, waterways, wooden bridges and pink flamingos. We headed straight for the beach and were met by dazzling white sand and turquoise sea. Loungers under thatched palapas offered shade to those who wanted to just lie and take in the awesome beauty. The jetty led visitors to waiting dive-boats, luxury sailing yachts or deep-sea fishing vessels. The snorkelling off the beach was super. We found the food tasty, well presented and varied. All in all this was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Client

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference toward the Iberostar chain.

Thank for all your kind comments about the service we provide at Iberostar Cozumel. As you mentioned the hotel is well integrated into the natural resources of the island; that is why at our resort you can encounter cats, flamingos , iguanas, turtles and peacocks among others.

We are pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the day here with us and that you liked our food, beach and the settings around the hotel.

We really hope that for your next vacation you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our property!

Sunny Regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We just finished a stay here and actually checked out early. We paid to upgrade to an oceanfront room and the view was spectacular but it was right by the dive shop and beach bar. It was so noisy that it really spoiled the great view.
Read the other reviews, they are true. If you enjoy food and drinks this is not the place to go. The food was simply unappealing, very bland and lacked variety. On the buffets it was not kept at the correct temperature, hot food was not hot and cold was not cold..that's dangerous! We had to leave because I felt sick and just didn't want to eat any more of their food, didn't trust it....and we vacation in MX 2 or 3 times a year. Cold eggs and potatoes for breakfast and cold soup, pasta and meat for dinner, not at all enjoyable. 2 hours later we are at our new property snorkeling and my Husband who has a stomach made of concrete (it seems) is sick. ...hmmm!
The liquor was another story. Only some bars had name brands like Bacardi, Smirnoff, jose Cuervo, kahlua, jim beam...this was their top shelf. The rest of the bars and their preference to serve (unless you asked for name brand) was all bottom of the barrel stuff. Plus, unusual for an all inclusive, they were very short pours. It was supposedly Dos Equis on tap but it was not like any Dos Equis I've ever tasted and thats my favorite Mexican beer on tap at home.
The housekeeping, bellmen, wait and bar staff were great, no problems there at all. If you needed something they got it for you. Our fridge was broken, they got us another. We needed more pillows, they got them. Always smiling!
Bear in mind that this resort is for avid divers and snorkelers. There is no where peaceful or relaxing to escape to. It is smaller, but it is busy.
I wouldn't say you get what you pay for because we stayed at Now Jade on the mainland in March and there is no comparison....and the nightly rate was the same.
...oh by the way, we spoke to the manager before we decided to check out. He suggested he might be able to move us to another room if we pay a 'small' few! He also said it couldn't be their food that made me sick, they have standards to uphold.
Just read the reviews!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the dive center and restaurants are quieter. However those rooms are in shady areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Client

We thank you for all your comments on the recent stay with us at the Iberostar Cozumel and for taking your time to write to us and the rest of the online community.

We feel happy to know that you enjoyed the service all of our employees provided you.

On behalf of the Management we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay in our hotel.

Regarding your letter, our company has a high priority for Health & Safety. With thousands of clients, if that was not the case, we would create a massive contamination. We have our own H&S Department that controls the quality of food, manipulation, conservation and temperatures. We also have a control program with an independent company (SANICONSULT) based on the HACCP. This company comes every month to verify our system procedures and we always obtain good results. We are sorry however that your husband got sick and truly hope he is better.

We hope you can give us or any of our sister resorts another chance, to change your point of view.

Best Regards

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Iberostar Cozumel hotel. It is the perfect location for divers or those wanting to dive. The diving is plentiful and convenient. We were welcomed back by Miriana who was so sweet and very helpful. As part of our package we were promised a $100 resort credit and a free tank dive. We had to make a few inquiries and after Miriana made sent a few emails she was able to have our $100 resort credit honored; however we never received our free tank dive -- which is disappointed as we purchased over 30 dives for this trip. (And I have confirmation of booking where this is stated.) We requested king sized bed on 2nd floor near the dive shop and was given a room in bungalow group 33. There have been some concerns expressed in the past about moldy and damp rooms and I think that the key is asking for rooms near dive shop -- as they are frequented more often and therefore the AC is running more often in these occupied rooms (and therefore they have less dampness issues).

Food is as reported in prior posts -- plentiful but can be repetitive. We were there for 8 days and I always managed to find something to eat; however, food is not the primary motivator for my stay. There are 3 "restaurants" where they provide a la carte service; however if you are a diver who likes to do the morning dives (as we did) - it makes getting a dinner reservation nearly impossible. You are "guaranteed" a certain number of a la carte dinner reservations dpending on the number of nights you stay (for us it was 3) but you can only make reservations between the hours of 9 am and 1 pm -- which is when you are generally on the dive boat. They should consider this and make special arrangments for diving couples to better accommodate their needs.

We had a maintenance issue which was handled quickly by Martin at the front desk -- but maintenance had to come and change battery on the safe -- this was supposed to happen within a 15 minutes of my call but took hours before anyone showed up to replace it.

Stuff to consider: if you don't dive or do not have a family member who dives - this location is a little more remote and getting to the center of town is a $20 cab ride each way. Hair dryer -- if this is important to you bring your own travel hair dryer, you'll be much happier. Electronic devices -- can be hard to charge as there are 2 outlets in the bathroom (which can be very damp always) and 2 in the bedroom (one of which has clock plugged into it). If you want to charge your laptop, phone, tablet, etc -- consider packing a power strip.

FLIGHTS -- we flew into Cancun and took May Air flight from Cancun to Cozumel - it was brilliant and cheap and fast -- but you are very lmited in luggage you can bring -- so ensure this is ok before doing it.

I would score 5 out of 5 but I'm frustrated about the free dive and that they did not honor this promotion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our third time at Iberostar...fourth to Cozumel. We were not as impressed this trip November 9-16 as we have been in the past. The ladies at the front desk were exceptional....even giving the nine of us Iberostar tshirts for being returning guest......the grounds were well kept as always....the Star Friends were absent for the most part...except for one young lady that found us on the beach a couple of times......they closed the beach bar, due to inactivity although we counted fifteen people sitting around.....we complained and all the sudden it was opened again....(..the regular bartender Fernando was off that day). We asked and they staff said the resort had been sold.....and the new owners are falling behind. Food was so/so....ate lots of pizza and French fries.....the specialty restaurants were great.....but could only get two nights set up although we were told three would come with our stay. We did with the help of Wilbert get a taxi and do the bar hop on the other side of the island.....good trip for something different. Think we will start researching other locales......and yes diving, parasaling was enjoyed by different members of our group.

Room Tip: Always ask for a mattress pad....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelsonlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just returned from a seven day vacation and enjoyed it second time around.
Unfortunatly it rained 5 out of seven days,but there's nothing you can do about the weather.
We are divers,so in the water is better than out of water while its raining. Not sure what you would do other than read a book.
We liked the fact that the rooms are situated in bungalos around very lush vegatation. Bug spray is a concideration if your suseptible to getting bites. And watch out for slippery wood when wet. Had 2 falls on the bottom of our steps to the room. Thankfully only a few bad bruises and no beaks or sprains. Walked in bare feet most of the week because of the rain to avoid slipping.
Forgot that they serviced the mini bar every two days,and no more than 4 beers. You can keep the coke. Our TV wasn't working but they repalced it promptly. Hot water takes about 5 min running before it reaches your room, so be patient. The blowdryer blows cold air, so if your blow drying your hair bring your own. Fortunately mine is curly in humidity.
Yes, the booze is "gut rot" so stuck to beer and tequilla. Great cappucinos.
Food was OK. Not hot,but warm. Discovered the microwave near the end of the trip. Great salad variety. You would'nt go hungry.
The dive shop(Dressel Divers) was great.Second time around with them too.
The beds are hard, thankful for the mattress pad. The rooms were cleaned daily,and if you don't want to reuse and conserve the towels, just throw them on the floor for new ones.
All and all we would go back, the diving,as well as the dive shop is more of an attraction than the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and email the resort before you travel. I requested a room nearer the dive shop. Ended up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Repeat Guest!

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty with the Iberostar chain, and for taking your valuable time to give us your opinion about your recent stay.

We are thankful for your comments on our strongest points in our services and also in the ones we had to work on. As you mentioned we are located in a very natural area and near the best reefs in the southern part of Cozumel.

We apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay and you can be sure that we definitely work on the ones we can change.

Warm Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent 11/9/13 thru 11/16/13 at the Iberostar resort. All inclusive, southern most of the resorts on the sheltered side so close to dive sites - no long boat rides needed! Resort feels old and tired, musty, little to do but dive, food is ok but even the "specialty" restaurants will not wow you. We encountered heavy rain (flooded streets, etc) which is unusual but with no place to hang clothes but on the balcony, which has a sun shade not a roof, went home with everything wet. For consistent water quality Cozumel is hard to beat but therein lies a story - this is truly "production line" diving. Several times I found myself in the midst of 4 different groups of divers wondering where my group was. Never got on the wrong boat but I have never been on a reef and encountered so many other divers. At times I could count 25 boats on the reefs with others coming and going. If you wish to snorkel out to the reef forget it - boat traffic and local regulations keep paddle boarders, snorklers, etc, close to shore. Final thought was of being taken advantage of in currency exchange, car rental, food, etc. Even the resort credit had to be used in certain places and when we checked out we were told we owed $130 when it was about $4! Got it corrected but left a bad impression. If you go to dive you can cut your dive costs in half by booking the dives ahead of time on line directly thru Dressler.

Room Tip: Very few "Ocean view" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for all your complete review on the service provided at our hotel and of course for having chosen us.

Please let us assure you that all your comments are important and we always use them to improve our services for the complete satisfaction of you and the rest of our guests. As you mentioned Cozumel is one of the best destinations for diving in Mexico and a lot of the guest that come to Iberostar Cozumel are divers or love to do snorkeling as the hotel is located near the most important reefs in the island (Palancar & Colombia).

In reference to your comment about the humidity it is true that usually we have a lot of humidity; as we are on the rainy season (July to November) it is higher than other months, but our staff do their outmost to eliminate the humidity in the rooms and the common areas of the property. We are sorry to hear that you had this inconvenience.

Our hotel was completely renovated in 2006 and over the last few years we have renovated small areas around the property such as the theatre, the palapas in the rooms, the screen tv , the gym and others. As we open all year around, maintenance and changes are made by areas, so that our guests are not disturbed. Your perception is important, though, and has been passed on to Management and our Maintenance Department.

In regards to your comment about the resort credit we apologize for the misunderstanding. The resort credit vouchers explain that the amount has to be used in several services such as: internet 20 usd, 50 usd spa 10 usd and shops 20 usd. They cannot be used for only one service. We will review this so that we avoid these situations in the future.

We hope you will give us the chance of welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
3.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing