We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Average”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Landisville, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good & Average”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay at an all-inclusive in Mexico and it didn't compare to our first experience in Rivera Maya 4 years ago. Pros & Cons - depending on what you're looking to get out of your vacation. Pros: The staff was excellent - happy & friendly all week long no matter where you went. The resort compound was kept clean & manicured nicely - feels like you're in a jungle. Lots of wildlife roaming freely - flamingos, peacocks,iguanas, turtles, lots of birds, There's lots of food available for every type of taste. The open bars/liquor was -free- and flowing. The resort had lots of activities available, lots of trips & excursions could be taken to explore the island. WIFI was $40 per device for 7 days and it worked great (worked great at the dining areas, at the pool, and in the rooms). Free snorkeling at the pier - lots of fish (bring your own snorkels/masks). Lots of water, soda, and even beer in the frig in your room. Cons: Lots of mosquitoes in the morning and evenings. Bug Spray cost $11 US.and suntan lotion cost $28 US at the gift shop - so bring your own!! . The pool was lovely but had bugs & debris floating in it (we had to ask to have someone skim the pool). There is a beach - but made of coral/rocks - you can't swim there. The resort is like 11 years old and needs some upkeep - power washing, painting, staining & patch work in many areas needed. The hairdryer and shower light didn't work (had to request maintenance - which came at 8pm at night). Towel hooks & light fixtures hanging loosely from the walls (pulling out of walls). It literally took 20 minutes for warm water to come out of the shower. You can't put toilet paper in the toilets either. There were only 2 restaurants available and you had to make reservations or you wouldn't get to eat there (good food at the restaurants). The buffets were the only other options available. The buffet food didn't change 'much' from day to day and the food was 'OK' (not like home). But then again....we tend to 'be careful' and not wanting to get sick while on vacation. We had a great vacation - but - I would honestly say, I wouldn't come back to this resort again. Lots of resorts & areas to explore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JansterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,067
    1,806
    636
    228
    112
See reviews for
1,459
1,790
91
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Iberostar and would rate our experience as excellent. Check in was friendly and efficient and they even let us check in early. The rooms were not large but comfortable and the beds were comfortable. The food was good and plentiful with a wide variety. Drinks were good but not outstanding and the service was excellent. Maid service was excellent. Ice machines were many and convenient. There were plenty of pool and beach lounge chairs. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The entertainment didn't start until 9:30 which was too late for us and was just so so, but we didn't go there for the entertainment. The sound system at the pool was too loud during the pool games. Overall we had a nice relaxing and restful experience and would recommend it for that. If you are looking for a wild time with lots of entertainment, go somewhere else. We plan to visit the Iberostar again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BoydPLeesburg_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff at Iberostar Cozumel, like their other resorts, are top notch. This was our first stay on Cozumel. This is a much smaller resort than the Iberostar on the mainland, but worth every penny. The pool and the beach are super fantastic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thejimbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottighamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

what a fantastic time we had, second time back to this hotel so we knew what to expect and they did not disappoint. most of the staff are the same and it was great to see David the bell boy Christan and Alma even the hotel manager remembered us from last year.it is so reassuring to go back and be remembered makes you feel like your going home. the food is good not brilliant but there is always something to eat and it is OK. all the staff work so hard to please the guests and paid so low have such a bright outlook and appear happy at there work. gardens are immaculate and are being worked on all day everyday. the rooms are as described in the brochures cool comfortable and roomy and kept clean. the pool is good but the beach is better. the diving we did with Dressel Divers again but why would you go with anyone else when they are on site and so good at what they do. we had a ball thanks to Jake and the team for looking after us we loved it, these galls and guys are perfect Hi to Sophie jay bill fantastic. the only downside this year was the mosquitoes so if you are going take plenty of repellent specially for the reception restaurant and diving center areas but remember you are in the jungle but that aside it would not stop us returning. we went on a great taxi tour round the island great value at $100 for about 4 hours saw plenty of local attractions and places of interest. we went with havis and jarvis who are about the only company that offer the package to Cozumel this was booked through Thomson tailor made the only disappointing part of holiday was the flight and that was a farce. delayed from the off then again and again should of flew at 08,15 eventually flew at 3.30,one hour into flight we were told the aircraft had developed a fault and would have to make an emergency landing back at Manchester and would have to dump fuel but not to worry, ha!! back at Manchester fire engines ect waiting for us and approached so fast did not think we would stop almost catapulted through the bulkhead had to Waite at the end of the runway until it was cleared by the safety staff the taken towards the stands but not on them, off loaded and bussed back to terminal and then off to a hotel. then put in a rabbit hutch fed packet soup, sausage and chips horrible and cheese cake. bussed back to airport to get flight. er no, the plane had not been cleaned or old food off loaded and new food loaded 09.04 finally got to fly out. we paid for premier seats but no drink or paper seats did not feel any bigger than a normal seat, they had not loaded new movies as they did not have time and so were so old i think they must have been on vhs. the the food came round we requested the curry but were told there were not enough to go round so one of us would have to have sausage and mash then the drinks ran out and to top it all 3 of the 4 toilets were not working great off the plane thought get our luggage and get tis holiday started 24 hrs late but never mind at least premier we should get it fist and get away, ha NO LAST OFF what did we pay £200 each extra for Thomson shame on you what a rip off. incidentally our luggage was last off coming home as well

Room Tip: if you are diving ask for a room near the dive center thy are good and if they can they will we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdezcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every year this is my choice for Vacation. The place is very nice a lot of activities, and has decent food and choices. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The Diving Operation is fantastic with Dressel Divers.

Room Tip: Try getting room close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanMarcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Totally secluded all-inclusive resort located at the very southern tip of the island. They have a great dive shop right there at the beach and it's really the best place for diving. If you're looking for hot chicks or great parties this is NOT the place for you. But the food is great and it's a great place to unwind and relax. AND DIVE!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The customer service here was amazing, and truly made our trip fantastic!

We were a group of 8, and stayed here May 17-24th. Everyone – from maids, to receptionists, to bartenders – was extremely pleasant and helpful. The “Star Friends” were the highlight of our stay; they were constantly socializing and running activities throughout the day, and had entertaining shows at night (the acrobatic and fire shows were awesome!). Francisco and Alejandro were particularly great, but all the Star Friends we met were lovely (Guillermo, Patricia, Erika, and Brenda). People in our group have stayed at other resorts before, and agree that the Star Friends make this one stand out.

The quality of drinks varied, but you just have to find a few good bartenders and stick to them – we loved Alfredo! The food could have been better and had more variation from day to day, particularly since you can only make 2 reservations at the a la carte restaurants for the whole trip. Breakfast is the best meal, if only it ended later than 10am.

The resort itself is clean and well designed – we enjoyed the villa concept, and all of the animals like flamingos, parrots, iguanas, peacocks, etc. roaming around. The rocky beach wasn’t the greatest, nor was the nightlife in Cozumel, but these were obviously not under the control of the resort. For a better night life and nice sandy beaches, you could always take a ferry to Playa del Carmen. It's also worth bringing extra money for activities like parasailing and scuba diving, which aren't included.

Overall, great resort and great experience - thank you all!! We’re already looking into other Iberostar locations for next summer :)

Room Tip: Big groups like ours can get rooms with a connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sahar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,467 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing