We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here!”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our stay at this resort was very nice!! We stayed for 5 nights in room 8313. I must say though, if you can afford it, book the presidential suite. Goodness, was it amazing. My aunt and uncle booked this suite so while they were scuba diving, we enjoyed ourselves there!! Room 8313 was upstairs - which I DO RECOMMEND. My aunt and uncle go to Cozumel about 3 times per year and they always say do not get a bottom floor room due to the sand fleas. We didn't have any problems in our room upstairs at all. I do recommend taking plenty of bug spray and sunscreen. Put both on even before you walk to breakfast in the am. If you don't, your stay will be miserable.

The food was surprisingly good. After 6 days, 5 nights though, we were ready for some good ol' American food. The Steakhouse was very good. The Mexican restaurant, eh. The buffets had a good variety of food! The resort has a beach bar, swim up bar, and multiple bars scattered throughout the place. Alfredo @ the beach bar makes amazing drinks and Gaspar at the swim up bar is great too! Fransico is head over the StarFriends shows and entertainment and we enjoyed the Ideal Couple show and the Movie Night show. The pier at the hotel is okay for snorkeling - you see lots of fish!!

Before you even come into Mexico, take plenty of cash... more so than you think (lots of small bills)!! The hotel has an ATM, but it does have a significant charge. This ATM also gives you U.S. currency while others in town gives you pesos.

RENT A CAR. Tour the island. Go to Coconuts to have lunch. Go to Money Bar for dinner and/or to snorkel. Renting a car is so much easier and cheaper.

Room Tip: Book the presidential suite if you can afford it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your positive comments with us.

It is gratifying to read that you enjoyed the food and beverage provided as well as the friendliness of our staff. We will make sure that Alfredo, Gaspar and Francisco get your kind words of encouragement.

We hope to be able to host you and your family again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 5,000 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

compared to other all inclusives this one is above average. overall we enjoyed our stay here.

the food is not the worst buffet food. it's actually pretty good, but they do have some temperature issues at times. they have a respectable mix of authentic mexican dishes which isn't always the case at all inclusives. the a la carts were less than stellar. the steak restaurant was actually kinda bad. we did enjoy the mexican one, but only ate there once because in the end, the food wasn't very different from the buffet.

there is a spectacular amount of shade both on the beach and pool. this is also a rarely seen at resorts. for whatever reason, most think that just because you enjoy the caribbean, you like to fry in the sun. kudos here!

if you chose to pay for the wi-fi, you will not be disappointed. i was sitting on the beach (in the shade!) IM-ing back home almost instantaneously. email, sending pics and web pages all worked nearly as well as home.

rooms are ok for two. there were three of us, me, my husband and teen daughter and it was a little crowded mostly because there was nowhere to really stow the luggage, of which we had extra from the dive gear.

staff is very friendly and seemed ample. the only exceptions were the lack of wait service on the beach and poor bell/front desk service the morning we left. we had to leave at 6 a.m. on sunday morning, but the night before we were told we could get a golf cart ride to the lobby if we called the front desk. we tried several times but no one answered so we ended up dragging all of our bag from the back of the resort to the lobby. aside from feeling bad about the hour and noise we had to make, but sweating from the heat and humidity at that hour soured our trip home.

dressel divers is great as is the overall diving off the island. snorkeling is better done from a boat.

if you are looking to go to any attractions on the mainland, you'd be better off staying over there. to do anything over there, you generally need to make the 6 a.m. ferry. no thank you - i'm on vacation!!

and finally - the beds are hard as a rock and there are no soft, pillowy pillows. it gets old by the end of the week.

overall though, there's not a lot to legitimately complain about here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank site-c-r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our beautiful property for your recent vacation. We have noted those aspects of our service and the staff members who made your trip to Mexico even more special. The IBEROSTAR Cozumel team was happy to have served you.

However, we would like to humbly apologize for the fact that our food did not quite meet your expectations. Please be assured that we adhere to strict food standards and would never serve food that is not fresh; we will certainly be forwarding your comments to our Executive Chef, and no doubt will he look into your complaints as a matter of urgency.

We are also sorry that your check out experience was not a pleasant one, we will make sure the Front Desk Manager is made aware of this shortcoming to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that we can have the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My hubby and I stayed at the Iberostar for one week. This was our first all-inclusive vacation and overall the experience was positive.

The service at the bars and restaurants were great. The quality of the food is decent. Our expectation was not high to begin with, considering that it's an all-inclusive. We would probably prefer to see greater variety though. Despite the so-called different themes at the dinner buffet each night, the food is pretty much the same. The à la carte restaurants were not bad, but nothing exceptionnal.

It is true that the beach is rocky, so that's not the place to be if you are looking for a white sandy beach.

There were 2 shows in the evening that were quite entertaining, with a little bit of acrobatics and audience participation. The rest do not seem that interesting, and there is nothing much else happening in the evening.

We are divers. That's basically the reason why we chose to visit Cozumel, and you won't be disappointed! We dove 5 days, which kept us pretty occupied for the most part. If we were non-divers, I am not sure there were enough activities at the resort or excursions on the island to keep us busy for one week. You can always choose to do excursions on the main land, but it's always more expensive and takes longer to get there, so we thought it was not really worth it. I would rather stay at Riviera Maya if we really want to visit places on the mainland.

The hotel is also located at the far south of the island, it will cost you 20$ US one way to go to the town or to the pier by taxi. That's something to consider if you are interested in getting out of the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dada23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are thankful that you chose IBEROSTAR Cozumel for your first all-inclusive experience.

It is exciting to hear that your stay overall was very positive for the several reasons pointed out such as great service, enjoyable entertainment and an incredible dive experience.

We will keep working on creating wonderful culinary offerings for our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Iberostar Cozumel from June 15th to June 21st for our honeymoon. We definitely will be coming back! We had a great time and any problems that arose were taken care of swiftly. The staff were great and even let us join in their "staff only' viewing party of the Mexico-Brazil World Cup game (which was a blast!). Food was good, grounds were clean and well taken care of. The beach are has beautiful views and plenty of seating. Thrifty Car Rental was on-site to make it very easy to grab a car to drive around the island (which you definitely should!) Could not have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our beautiful property for such a special occasion as your honeymoon. We are honored that we were able to contribute to such a pleasant stay where you enjoyed the food, the spotless grounds as well as the beach and our wonderful staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your 1st anniversary!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I just got home from a 6 night stay at Iberostar Cozumel, we are not divers & made the best of our vacation. The grounds are beautiful & the staff are very nice. Ericka was my favorite, she's very friendly & she stood out, She's 1 of the entertainer for the shows. My biggest dislike is the cats in the eating area & ants on the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justme4151969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for spending your recent holiday at IBEROSTAR Cozumel for such a special occasion as your anniversary.

It is gratifying for us to know that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and the entertainment provided by Ericka. We will make sure she receives your kind words.

Regarding the cats in the resort, we are sorry you felt uncomfortable with them. We have a program in place called "Cat Cafe" where they are vaccinated and sterilized to make sure they are in good health. They help to keep other wild animals away, such as snakes and others. The restaurant is surrounded by a mesh but occasionally they do find their way in, although they never approach the actual buffet area but stay close to clients who feed them.

We hope you do come back again to offer you a wonderful holiday.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This rating is primarily low due to food temperature and flavor. I am not very picky however I would rate a majority of meals at a 3 at best. As a recommendation reduce the selection and increase quality. The selection and presentation of food was a 10 however this is overshadowed by its quality. Also as a reference the mix drinks followed the same pattern.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your latest holiday.

We get to understand that you liked the grounds in general which is satisfying for us, however it disappoints us that you found our food quality lacking. Please accept our apologies for the shortcoming in this aspect; we will forward your comments to our Executive Chef for consideration to keep making improvements for the future.

Please rest assured that we are working constantly on maintaining a high standard and improving our culinary selection, we hope we will be given the chance to prove this commitment to you once again.

It would be our pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Starting with the positives - the pool is very nice and the restaurant staff are very friendly. Now the bad part - as previously mentioned the beach is pretty much unswimmable and the pool closes at 7. I know they need to put in chemicals but they could start that a little later than 7. That is the best part of the day to swim since the sun is so intense earlier in the day. We could deal with that but the part of our experience that really gave us a bad taste was the feeling that the hotel management either didn't care or didn't have the sense to arrange things for the comfort of their guests. The hotel was definitely not close to being full but they put us in a room that had construction going on next door or across the path all day from early morning to night. There was a man using a chainsaw or a jackhammer a few feet from our room most of the day. My husband and I had to laugh because it seemed ridiculous that they were using pretty much the loudest equipment they could use. Our baby couldn't nap and that was a big problem for us but I have to imagine even people without a baby would have been irritated by that going on so early in the morning. They were replacing the porches, which definitely needed to be done since it looked like termites had eaten through our porch, but I feel that the management could have just not put people in the buildings that were being worked on. I thought of complaining to the front desk on the second day but the front desk staff were so unfriendly and unhelpful that it just seemed like a waste of time that would leave me more frustrated.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Calliope_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cozumel for your vacation. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit as it helps us to improve in the areas you pointed out. We are pleased to hear that you liked our pool as well as the friendliness of our restaurant staff.

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced regarding your room allocation. We are constantly working on maintaining and improving our property, it is therefore disappointing for us to find out that you were disturbed by the Maintenance team. We would have loved to offer you a different area of the hotel for you and your baby, had we been aware of your discontent during your stay.

We are working on training programs for our staff and keep planning improvements in our resort. Once again, apologies about the inconveniences.

We hope we will be given the opportunity to prove our commitment to excellent customer service to you once again in the future under more favorable circumstances.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,684 reviews
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
8.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £110 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing