We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "ok"”
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Most of the disappointment was with the room and cleanliness of the grounds. Rooms were quite small and not very updated or well kept. No dressers to put clothes in either. Compared to other all-inclusives we have been to, I just don't think it was as nice. The food was just "ok", but got a little boring after a week and could have been a bit more "Westernized", especially with traveling with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your informative review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food even though there were other areas of the hotel that did not fulfill your expectations. It is disappointing for us that you did not enjoy the layout of the rooms, we would like to inform you however that we are currently remodeling some rooms of the hotel and upgrading them into more spacious Junior Suites to have a broader variety to offer to our valued clients.

We hope that you will consider IBEROSTAR Cozumel once again for your vacation.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,860 - 1,866 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a great time at this resort, our first stay at an all-inclusive, but we will probably stay in a different area next time. We liked Iberostar but for a lot of reasons would choose a different location if heading back to the Cancun area.

One thing I did not appreciate about the iberostar was the fact that I could find so little specific information about it online, even on their own website. They give you a flier with some specifics when you get to the resort, but why not allow people to read that ahead of time? Because I'm a blogger, I figured people would appreciate being able to find such info, so when I returned, I wrote a detailed, specific review post, which you can find here: http://www.halfpastkissintime.com/2014/07/everything-you-wondered-about-iberostar.html

Room Tip: Ask to have a bungalow that doesn't face the pool. It's fine if your building is next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CBean63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your latest holiday. We get to understand that you liked the grounds in general which is satisfying for us, however it disappoints us that you found our website to be lacking. Please accept our apologies for the shortcoming in this aspect, we will forward your comments to our Marketing team for consideration.

We have read your blog, thank you so much for posting so much information on your impressions on our resort; it will certainly be helpful for possible future guests. You have taken beautiful pictures. We take note of all your constructive comments as well; it is thanks to our customers' feedback that we keep improving.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at IBEROSTAR Cozumel as it would be our pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love staying at Iberostar Cozumel. It is quaint and has everything we need. We are divers and you could not ask for a better location, dive operation, and suitability to divers needs. I have been to this resort 3 times and it is my favorite of the Iberostar resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank kpaolisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Manager and the whole IBEROSTAR Cozumel team, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful property once again for your well deserved vacation.

We are excited that you keep enjoying the diving in Cozumel, which the island is famous for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at your home away from home.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Iberostar is a very good resort! The service is great. Everyone there works incredibly hard I make sure your stay is great. Beautiful grounds with lots of animals. Peacocks, parrots, cats, turtles, flamingoes and iguanas. Very jungle themed.
The food was good and a lot of it. Drinks were ok, kinda watered down but u can expect that at all inclusive.
The only negative is the taxi fee for going anywhere from this resort is $20 one way.
Also, the beach isn't as pretty here as it is closer to town. Not the blue pretty water, but lots of fish by the pier.
Also, they had entertainment every night with the star friends.
Overall, we would go back! Great vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy12241025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your rewarding comments regarding your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Cozumel.

It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the friendliness of our staff. Our hotel is located within the Marine Water Park with the second largest reef in the world, which allows our guests to experience an abundance of fish right in front of the shore.

We are thrilled that you had a great vacation and hope to welcome you again in the future for more memorable days with us.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ran out of water twice during my shower. No air conditioned restaurants, very uncomfortable. They fumigated during our stay and caused a SERIOUS allergic reaction to the point I almost had to go to the hospital. DO NOT LET THEM FUMIGATE DURING YOUR STAY!!! I am still afraid to unpack my luggage, don't know how long those nasty chemicals will linger in our stuff!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear client,

On behalf of the manager and the whole IBEROSTAR Cozumel team, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful property for your recent vacation.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you encountered several issues during your stay. Our hotel concept is very natural therefore the majority of the public areas are open air so our clients can appreciate the lush vegetation and wildlife that surrounds us. We are sorry that you found the lack of air conditioning in the restaurants to be uncomfortable.

Regarding our fumigation program: we are a Green Globe certified hotel and therefore we are not allowed to use harmful chemicals. All products that are used inside and outside of the rooms are biodegradable, non toxic and harmless for humans and animals apart from the bugs which they are designed for. We are sorry to hear that you had an allergic reaction during your stay, however this never happened to anybody else and as stated, it is proven to be harmless. We do hope you feel much better now.

We hope you consider IBEROSTAR again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our group visited this resort for the first time the middle of June & all had a great time. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Our three families consisted of teenagers through adults & there was a wide variety of activities to suit everyone's preferences although the spa manicure/pedicure service was not up to the quality we experience at home.

The pool and beach are clean and well maintained. Not once during our week stay did we have trouble finding chairs at either the pool or beach. Security on the grounds and beach made us feel safe at all times. In keeping with our experience at other Iberostar locations, the landscaping is immaculate & is an attraction in itself. I have read some reviews from folks who did not enjoy the animals on the property but we actually appreciated and enjoyed the birds and cats - made us feel at home!

We found the food to be fresh, great quality and a great variety. There's no way you will get bored with the food unless you are an extremely picky eater & eat the same thing every time. The taco bar & paella on the beach were so tasty & fun! We found the steak restaurant to be hit or miss, with some items being overcooked to our taste. But we're from Texas so I suppose we take our steak pretty seriously, lol! The Mexican a la carte was outstanding but hot inside. We also took a short walk down the beach & enjoyed sunset dinner on the beach at Alberto's one evening which was fun.

We found the bar service to be great but we were surprised there was less selection than we have grown accustomed to at our usual destination at the Hacienda Dominicus. We enjoy spending evenings in the lobby having cocktails and were pleased to enjoy musical performers there some nights. We would definitely recommend improvement in cocktail service (perhaps additional cocktail waitresses) in the lobby during the evenings as we generally had to go stand in line at the bar ourselves for drinks. Efrain and Gaspar at the pool bar were wonderful - always so polite and fast service no matter how busy the day.

The standard rooms are small but we don't mind at all since we only spend time there to shower and sleep. Just as in any Caribbean beachside resort, it is expected there will be some degree of dampness - it just smells like ocean to us! The beds were comfortable and air conditioning functioning well so we always slept well. Housekeeping was thorough and mini fridge kept well stocked.

Having Dressel Divers on site is definitely a plus. They immediately accommodated our group's assorted diving needs and were professional, safe and fun. It did look like the dock could benefit from some updating relatively soon. As others have mentioned, ironshore along the beach prevents direct entry into the ocean but we never found that to be problematic. A short walk down the dock provides entry by ladder with some cool snorkeling right there. Some in our group also had fun taking out the kayaks.

Overall, this was a wonderful trip & we would most definitely return should we visit Cozumel in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amnesiac1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Manager and the IBEROSTAR Cozumel staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful property for your latest holiday.

We are thrilled to read your kind words regarding our facilities in general, the grounds, beach and wildlife in particular. We will definitely forward your comments to our department heads as they are certainly rewarding and encouraging for the whole team. We would like to let you know that we are planning on updating the dock before the end of the year so you can keep enjoying it during your future visits.

We are confident that we will be seeing you back at our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I’ll start with the positives as there are a few good ones.

STAFF: The Ibrostar staff are incredible people! Everyone that we interacted with were always very friendly and helpful; everyone works very hard and with a smile. We were greeted throughout the day with pleasantries and happy faces. This was greatly appreciated from our family and we were happy to tip staff members for their hard work
.
GROUNDS: The grounds are beautiful and if you like wild life like we do then you will enjoy walking around the resort and seeing all the different birds, turtles, iguanas, peacocks and more that roam around the resort.

LOCATION: If you like to dive then this location is good for you and the onsite dive shop is great. The diving we did was incredible I would recommend it to anyone interested. Even if you don’t and you like to snorkel you can go right off the pier and see many fish, lobsters, sting rays, barracuda and more for a $2 fee.
Now for the negatives about this resort.

ROOMS (7202): The rooms are completely inadequate in size and furniture to put your close away. There are no dressers of any sort to put any close in at all and the VERY small closet in also home to the mini frig and safe with a make shift little cubby which will not hold anything.. We were only a party of 3 and we stayed for 9 nights and had nowhere to put close. The room was cleaned very well by maid service but it was very old and the bathroom sinks and showers were a little discussing with caulk and glue everywhere trying to hold things together. The A/C worked fine and the beds for fine for are family just too small. The outside deck only had one chair on it so my wife and I could sit together in the morning for coffee and late in the evening enjoying a drink. Our deck handrails was so rotted it fell apart one day but this was fixed during the stay.

FOOD: Again we stayed for 9 nights and were given only 3 reservations at the specialty restaurants. This is not what we were used to from other resorts for a 9 nights stay; other resort usually give you at least 4 guarantees. The restaurant we liked was the Steak House.
I’m sorry but the buffet for DINNER (breakfast buffet was fine) and LUNCH options was some of the worst food we have ever eaten. The food was either under cooked or over cooked and not replenished properly and just plain terrible food. If you like fast food places such as McDonalds, Taco Bell and other buffets then you’ll fit right in with the buffet here. In the 15 years that my family and I have been taking all inclusive vacations we have never left a resort so many times to go eat dinner, WHAT A WASTE!

BEACH: The beach in front of the resort is all rock so you can’t get past it with shoes and there is construction to the left of the resort as your facing the beach. If you go right past Albertos restaurant then the beach gets real nice and the rocks go away but the water drops off very deep really fast. But this is the direction we typically went to walk and get in the water.

THE TOWEL POLICY: The towel policy is the same at every resort we have stayed at, only the price of the towel varies. You are responsible for your towel and if you lose it or its stolen you pay for it which is quite expensive. During our 9 night stay (July 3rd – July12th) our towels were stolen twice and we knew 4 other couples that had the same issue that week as well. This is the first time at any resort that we have had this issue although we have heard about the problem for years. This is not so much a resort problem but a very low class guest problem. I mean really, who steals another person’s towel because your too stupid to keep track of your own! I personally would like to see all resorts find a better way to handle the towel issues. This was very frustrating!

We won’t be back and would not recommend this resort as there are so many better options for more value; but if you still plan on staying here then here are a few tips.

TIPS:
1.Don’t even use the Iberostar Towels; bring your own beach towel with some print on it that stands out. The only reason these idiots steel your towel is they don’t want to pay $30 for the one they lost, they don’t want your personal towel.

2. If you decide to do any tours like seeing the island or going to the main land to see the Myan Ruins rent a car to do either. It will save you $100’s of dollars and you’ll get more out it. We rented a car for a day and toured the whole island, saw the ruins on the island, went to different beaches, bars, restaurants etc. for $65. We did the same when we went to Talum. We took a taxi, ferry and rented a car to go to Talum and saved around $250.

3. Try to stay in a ground floor one story building. We heard from many people that were on the ground floor two stay how noisy it was for them and couldn’t sleep because of the people above them.

4. Definitely walk to the right of the pier and eat at Albertos the service, food and drinks were awesome! It’s not part of the hotel but its better than anything you’ll get at the hotel. The hotel should try and make some sort of deal with Albertos to be included into the resort prices

5. When you arrive at the airport the cheapest way to the hotel is to exit to the right and buy a taxi ticket to the hotel. It’s only $20 and about a 35 – 40 minutes ride based on traffic. DO NOT get sucked into going left as all those people will tell they provide taxi service and try to sell you all kinds of transportation and tour packages which our not of any value. Even if you don’t rents your owns cars you can get all the

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and a single story building so no one is above you and slightly away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for having stayed at our hotel recently and for sharing your opinion with us via this medium.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful layout as well as the friendliness of the staff. We will share your comments with all the staff to encourage their performance as they are clearly on the right path. We will make our partners from Dressel Divers aware as well that you enjoyed diving with them.

We are sorry to find out that you considered the room size to be inadequate. We are currently working on remodeling some of our rooms into Junior Suites which will be ampler and might be a better option for 3 adults during a 9 nights stay.

It is disappointing as well that you were not fully satisfied with the variety of food, be assured that our Executive Chef works constantly on maintaining a high level of both quality and variety. We will forward your comments to the kitchen department for consideration in the future. It is correct that for a 9 night stay you are guaranteed 3 reservations in our a la carte restaurants but depending on availability you might be able to get more.

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for not fulfilling your expectations due to the issues outlined above. Rest assured that we will take corrective measures wherever possible to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

We hope the situations mentioned did not tarnish your experience as it would be our pleasure hosting you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,879 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
6.2 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £111 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing