We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iberostar Cozumel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Cozumel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Iberostar Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iberostar Cozumel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a great time.
Food was good, but choices seemed a little redundant after a few days. Entertainment team is great and a lot of fun. Don't miss the Fire Show/ Beach Party, it is great. The room was a standard and seemed a little small at first and somewhat dated, but was sufficient for the two of us. The room was cleaned very well every day including new towel art. The safe is small, a larger notebook or laptop will steal most of the space if it fits at all. The grounds are very well kept. They have a lot of the jungle flora and fauna in place adding to the beauty. The beach in front of the resort is rocky at water's edge. We found using the dock to get past the rocks or walking up the beach a little ways and finding an area with less rocks were better choices for entering the ocean.
If you don't scuba take a snorkeling tour, it's beautiful on the reefs they take you to. The guide on our tour was great and very helpful with pointing things out and watching out for safety.
Overall, a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank loonyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for writing your comments regarding your vacation at our hotel.

We get to understand from your comments that you liked our facilities in general and the service provided which is very gratifying for us. We will forward your kind words to the Entertainment Team as they clearly made a positive impression on you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at IBEROSTAR Cozumel for another great stay.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    1,764
    624
    222
    111
See reviews for
1,410
1,739
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladewater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a super stay!! No complaints at all
Food was great. Service was great te entire
Place we loved. Will come back rooms were
Clean food was the best we had had inMexico.
Pools were kept clean drinks were great
Great wifi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Lynnp374446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Manager and all the staff of IBEROSTAR Cozumel, we would like to thank you for your generous review.

It is rewarding that you took pleasure in all aspects of our fantastic hotel and we are excited that you are already planning your next trip.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had the best time at the Iberostar in Cozumel and would definitely recommend it to others. It has a wonderful family atmosphere and is great fun for kids as well as adults. The staff are all courteous and friendly. Food is great. Rooms are fun palapa style. Star Friends are young energetic boys and girls who put on a cute show every night and lead daytime activities for guests to participate in if they want to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank linda2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are excited to find out that you and your family had the best time while staying at IBEROSTAR Cozumel and especially enjoyed the activities and shows provided by our entertainment team. We will forward your kind words to them so they are aware that your vacation was memorable due to their hard work.

We hope to be welcoming you again soon at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff were incredibly warm, friendly and hard-working. The rooms and all facilities were clean & thankfully the rooms were air conditioned. The pool and beach were amazing, perfectly relaxing yet social. Did I mention the staff was awesome? Every last person. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeggyZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Cozumel on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to learn from your comments that you liked so much our facilities and the service provided by our staff. We will forward your kind words to all our staff as they are the ones who made a special impression on you and thanks to them your vacation was extra special.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful, far enough out of town and close enough to some of the more enticing things to do on the island. You are 10 minutes from the Chankanaab snorkle beach, 15 minutes into town, 10 minutes from the Punta Sur ecological park, and the leeward side of the island, which is dotted with wonderful places to eat, bars with great music. You are 20 mins from San Gervasio ruins and just across the road from El Cedral, which has a small set of ruins and wonderful people/dogs as well. The hotel itself, is really clean, a/c works great, beds are comfortable, food is pretty good as well. The only issues we had were trying to get someone to the room to check out an issue in a timely manner, and not one of the ice machines we found, dotted all over the property, worked. Sporadically, at best. Americans love their ice! I have come back to this property for many years and will not stray to another again. This is the best price you will find for what you get .. unsurpassed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiwafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Cozumel with us and the online community.

We are thrilled that you choose our beautiful property once again for your well deserved vacation. Thank you for providing detailed information about the location of the hotel, we are sure that possible future guests do appreciate this information. We are sorry that you had trouble finding a working ice machine, we will have all of them revised to avoid reoccurrence. Please accept our sincere apologies if this affected your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed everything but the beach at this resort. We understand that it is a preserve area
but on the pictures of the brochures we don't see the rocks on the beach. So whit out water shoes it is impossible to get in the water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We get to understand from your comments that you liked our facilities in general and the service provided which is very gratifying for us. It is disappointing however that you did not fully enjoy the beach. As you righty mentioned, our hotel is located within the Cozumel Marine Park which allows our guest to see a lot of wildlife right in front of the hotel and we therefore provide a convenient entrance for our valued guests right off the pier where you can enter the water without difficulties.

We will be reviewing the pictures mentioned.

We hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to IBEROSTAR Cozumel in the future as it would be our pleasure hosting you again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We just got back from a family vacation at Iberostar Cozumel. This was a nice resort. We have stayed at nicer ones in Mexico (first stay on Cozumel though) but we have also paid more for those nicer hotels. With that being said, this hotel was nice. The rooms were clean and so were the resort grounds. Our family really enjoyed the animals on this resort. Our girls loved the green parrot in the lobby and the cats walking around the grounds as well. There were also peacocks, flamingos, and various other animals.

The food was decent for the most part. We aren't terribly picky either. I did however stay away from the foods that would need refridgerated. The cold food bars were not necessarily cold. It was best to eat breakfast by 8:00 am and lunch around 11:30 or noon or you are fighting crowds of people and that was not fun! And if you did eat at the buffet during busy times, the food was pretty picked over and it always looked like there was only one person refilling the food other than the hot grilled stuff. We stayed 4 nights so we only got one reservation at a specialty resturant and you have to be at the guest services place between 9-11 to make that reservation.

From reading other reviews previously, we heard about a resturant down the beach that was supposed to be good called Alberto's. It was sooooo good! You can walk to it from the resort too. They serve fresh seafood and it was well worth it!

Our air conditioner in our room didn't work the greatest. We called 3 different times to get it looked at. Not sure it ever was looked at though. One time someone showed up to work on it, I was in the shower and they were to come back. We went with friends and their air conditioner in their room worked great. It's not that ours didn't work because it did, it just didn't get as cool as it should have.

We really enjoyed the beach as well. The water felt great! We were prepared and took our water shoes as others had suggested. You can swim right off the dock as well. There were a ton of pretty fish that swim around the dock too. We rented the snorkle gear one day and enjoyed that. Then the couple we went with (father and daughter) rented a kayak one day too.

I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't venture that way in the evening.

Would we reccommend this resorts to others? Definitely! It was a nice resort and we enjoyed our stay despite the high heat and humiditly that goes along with Mexico in July.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank lnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Cozumel with us and the online community.

We are thrilled that you had a perfect family getaway where you enjoyed the impressive wildlife within the property and found our product to be good value for your money. We are sorry that you were not 100% pleased with the temperature of your room, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused.

We do however appreciate the recommendation of our beautiful hotel and hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
3.9 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cozumel

Property: Iberostar Cozumel
Address: Costera Sur, km. 17,785, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, in a rocky, coral–filled cove with unspoilt waters. A paradise for diving and snorkelling. Sub-tropical mangrove forest. Bungalows in typical local style. Second-largest reef in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Iberostar Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Iberostar
Iberostar Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing