We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Scuba Divers”
Review of Scuba Club Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scuba Club Cozumel
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for Scuba Divers”
Reviewed 30 December 2008

I came across Scuba Club Cozumel while perusing an issue of Sport Diver magazine. My significant other & I wanted to dive Cozumel for the longest time, and the hotel offered an "all inclusive" package catering to divers, so we booked our trip. The staff at SCC is wonderful. EVERYONE is super nice, polite and genuine. English is spoken well, so if your Spanish isn't quite up to par, no worries. You'll get your point across. The rooms are clean and spacious, with tile floors and patios that accomodate wetsuits and gear. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms, but you can bring your computer and connect to their wireless network. Most of the rooms have ocean views. The food is good, and special meal preperation requests are a cinch. They can prepare vegeterian meals, or almost anything you want, just ask Mario. (Don't forget the name Mario, I promise you'll thank me later...) You may store your gear in the lockers near the pool or the dive shop, so remember to bring a lock... not so much to protect your things, but to lay claim to your locker. The environment is really great, and there is a watchman on duty all night, so we felt really comfortable leaving our things in the locker. If you forget something, there are a gazillion dive shops within walking distance of the hotel. Last but not least, the diving is excellent. The boats and crew are outstanding. They are excellent at what they do, and you can tell everyone enjoys their job. The boat and crew run like well oiled machines! We are most definately returning to Scuba Club Cozumel!

  • Liked — comfortable room and view, close to the bottled water
  • Disliked — a lot of stairs to climb
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    174
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
82
199
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My wife and I, and two friends, just spent a week at the Scuba Club and can recommend it to divers.
The Rooms are simple. No telephone or TV but you can watch the little refrigerator make cold. The air conditioner kicks on and off but you can minimize that by turning down the temp and putting another blanket on the bed. The bed is a mattress on a concrete pillar which makes it a bit hard but you won't disturb your mate if you get up in the middle of the night. The bathroom and shower were nice and the rooms were cleaned well daily. Our room looked out over the boat dock. It was very convenient to put on our wetsuits and boots, walk down a flight of stairs, grab our BC's and other gear and step onto the boat.

The food was excellent. A buffet type breakfast had many choices. At breakfast they solicit choices for lunch and dinner, or you can order from the menu at lunch. Dinner choices might be a sea food dish, pasta, or a filet mignon; though it changed nightly. All the food was first rate and Mario and the staff were very attentive.

The diving experience was also first rate. Luis was our dive master and he quickly sized up the small group's diving skills and was attentive according to skills. We dove off the Dive Cat each of our five days and it is the easiest dive boat to dive from I have been on. There is a lot of room on board, easy ingress and egress with the water, and the crew is quick to help with the gear.

The ferry dock and "downtown" area are about a mile away. It is an easy walk or a $5 cab ride will get you most places on Cozumel you want to go see.

  • Liked — Easy Diving, great staff
  • Disliked — No TV, Noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapper49504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Scuba Club Cozumel is a perfect resort for anyone that wants to do a lot of diving and doesn't require luxury. This is a simple resort that is close to town and caters to divers.

Rooms:
Were kept very clean on a daily basis. Air conditioning was quite loud, but worked well. We always had hot water and great water pressure. The room had a mini fridge so that you could keep food/drinks in your room. Rooms do not have phones or TV, which made me happy.

Food:
We had the 3-meal a day plan. Beverages (except breakfast) are not included. Coffee was ready each morning by 6am. Breakfast was buffet style and had many tasty options each day. There was always a local dish along with eggs, pancakes, cereal, etc.

There was a lunch special each day so that the meal was ready quickly for divers. You also have the option of choosing from the menu. Many local and American options. I tended to stick to the special or one of the Mexican dishes and was generally pleased. The beef tacos were my favorite and I was thrilled to have tortilla chips and salsa available every day.

For dinner there was a choice between soup and salad; 2-3 entrees and at least 2 desserts. Dinners weren't as good as lunch. The sopa lima was excellent though! The atmosphere in the upstairs restaurant was relaxing after a long day of diving. We ate out in town 2 nights during the week. One night during the week is usually Fiesta night. Local cuisine is made outside on the beach, there's music and a piñata. The food is excellent!

Dive Shop/Diving:
The dive shop was great. Tanks were available from about 7am until 6pm, but you could put tanks in your locker and use them for night or dawn dives. Boats arrived in timely fashion in the morning and the crew took care of your gear set up if you wanted them to. Our dive master Luis was great. He chose good dives sites and was open to requests. He was there as a guide if you were interested and pointed out a lot of stuff, but was also okay with us staying out of the group. The dive boats were never packed. We never had more than 4-6 divers on the boat.

Dive lockers were available if you brought your own lock. The house reef didn't have much coral, but we found a lot of marine life. We even found 5 octopuses on one night dive. There was plenty to see if you were looking for it.

Service/Staff:
The hotel and restaurant staffs were very friendly and accommodating. No "island time" at this resort (though I never feel like I do a lot of waiting in Cozumel). The lock on our room wasn't working when we first arrived and they had someone up to fix it within 10 minutes. There was a guard at the front gate at all times and most people were comfortable leaving their wetsuits, etc. on their porch to dry each night. We kept most of our gear in the locker, took camera and dive computer to the room and left the wetsuits outside.

Grounds:
The resort was kept clean. There isn't a beach, but there are beach chairs and hammocks to relax in. I never saw any trash lying around. Very easy access to the house reef from the docks and ladders.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want to do a lot of diving, be around other divers, be close to town, relax and separate yourself from the rest of the world. I will definitely be a repeat customer!

  • Liked — Easy access to scuba diving, small amount of divers on boat, decent breakfast and lunch, relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Would prefer safe in room instead of at front desk, dinners could use some improvement
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucidblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Being a former scuba instructor we have returned time and time again. The staff takes great pride in making your stay very pleasent. You tell them where you would like to dive and they can accommadte you. You'll meet many great people with whom you'll stay in contact with and some even will come back to scuba club when you do.
Scuba ray

  • Liked — The scuba diving
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rscubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

This is an attractive stucco-adobe-style resort that is a short walk to town. It's nice to be able to walk to town, but the walk does get a little tiresome. Still, more pleasant than being right in town.

The rooms, for the most part, are cheerful and well-decorated. Mine had a terrific view of the ocean, and a wonderful balcony for lounging on. Some rooms on the first (ground floor) level were dark and a little musty smelling.

This resort has a very well-developed dive shop and a good fleet of boats. The guides, however, were not so good in my opinion ... they pretty much ignored any safety issues that came up with the group while diving ... it seemed that responding was not part of their job description. The issues included two out-of-air emergencies that required buddy breathing to the surface ... both times, the guides just kept on guiding, and didn't bother to make sure things were okay. And the out-of-air emergencies should never have happened (two on one trip?!) They were partly due to diver error (divers should have checked their equipment better), but also party due to staff error. The staff change tanks for people here; in one case they simply failed to change the tank, and in the other, they failed to turn the air all the way on (the rubber was loose on the knob, so it was hard to tell if the air was all the way on). I prefer to change my own equipment anyway, but if staff is going to take something on like that, they should have better procedures for ensuring no mishaps. I found this a little shocking for a place that is famous in the States for the quality of its dive operation.

  • Liked — Cheerful furnishings, great view of ocean, short walk to town
  • Disliked — Some of the ground floor rooms can be a little dark and dank
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Originally known as the Galapagos Inn, this is one of the oldest resorts on Cozumel. It is fabulously maintained and a great dive resort. It is small, about 60 rooms and very quiet. The Bar closes at 10:30 but if you really want to party, San Miguel (Town) is only a short walk. The dive operation was very professionally run and the 3 meals a day included in the packages were very good to excellent.

We have been to Cozumel about 20 times. This was the first time we stayed at Scuba Club. There were no screaming kids and no Bingo games (or other activities) around the pool like the all-inclusive resorts further South. And there is no TV in the rooms so we were able to get away from the never ending political campaign. And meals were served instead of buffet style. And there is unlimited shore diving on the shallow house reef included.

This was one of our best vacations ever. Everything, even the flights were good. The room was ready when we arrived.. It was clean and made up daily, usually before we returned from our dives. Diving was excellent. Boats were roomy and divemasters were good and gave us long bottom times. And the food and service were great.

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet
  • Disliked — 45-60 minute boat ride to dive sites
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Was my 2nd scuba trip and I was still a bit nervous. Luckily got in a room right by the restaurant and with the best view of the ocean. The rooms were okay, nothing spectacular but I didn't go for the rooms. The staff was awesome. Our dive masters and boat crew were fantastic. My dive master was perfect and helped put me at ease with my fears. The waters are beautiful and the diving was breathtaking. If I get to go back I want to stay at the Scuba Club cozumel again because I know I will be taken care of in the special way tourists are supposed to be.
Great place!!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaladyTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.8 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,686 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Club Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Club Cozumel

Property: Scuba Club Cozumel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar Km 1.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Scuba Club Cozumel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scuba Club Cozumel is one of the few dedicated dive resorts in Cozumel. With 60 air-conditioned ocean front rooms, each with its own private balcony. Every detail has been made to make a divers vacation as easy as possible with all the services you need in one convenient location. Resort amenities include a private beach, fresh water swimming pool, 2 Restaurants and bar, small work out room, FREE WiFi and a 5 Star Dive center. The rooms are just a few feet from our private dock where our 7 custom dive boats will pick you up. Store your gear mere feet away from the unlimited beach diving day or night that is included in our dive packages. Never be rushed to make a dive as our restaurant and dive schedule are coordinated to make sure you can relax and enjoy your vacation. We have given the "DIVE, EAT, SLEEP" another dimension with superb food, quality service and a first class dive operation. Located 1 mile south of downtown Cozumel, it's an easy walk to check out the town. Our on-site 5 Star dive operator offers instruction from beginner to Divemaster with a host of specialties. Daily dive trips along with additional excursions such as Night Dives, Twilight Dives and Wreck dives are also available. There are a lot of activities available after the dives that can be reserved by the front desk or just hang out on our oceanside hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Scuba Club Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scuba Club Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Scuba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing