We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to an authentic family lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of los chilango's

los chilango's
Ranked #148 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
174 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Welcome to an authentic family lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had lunch today at this quaint home . The Mexican World Cup game was on while we enjoyed lunch they had about 8 options and the meal started with a hearty shredded chicken soup which was great there was a pitcher of what we thought was ice tea with lime on table that 2 of us drank the whole thing they also had a selection of sodas .
We tried the beef flank steak, grilled chicken, chicken adobo and pork all served with rice and beans all were good and very inexpensive 5 of us ate for about 35 American and could not finish plates
As someone else mentioned the flan is very tasty

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frexinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home cooked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Went with my teen son (hard to get him to admit liking much). He preferred to come back to the same restaurant the next night. Good flavorful home cooked food. Limited English spoken. Menu on the wall lists what is avail. for the day. Cheap. No alcohol, or drink selection-- you get a pitcher of what tastes like Kool aide. This is local flavor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jollyguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tamales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We wanted a local place for dinner. Chilango's was recommended to us and it definitely did not disappoint. The tamales here are terrific!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SKulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome, Idaho
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This restaurant is in the home of a local resident. She opens her home for lunch. The food is excellent and portions are generous. As a special treat, try the flan. Yummy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“maybe the best salsa I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The food was good here, and was a great value, but the salsa is absolutely amazing. I put it on everything on my plate and would have taken a bottle home if it were available. Go here for the salsa alone!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank benitodisparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed los chilango's also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to los chilango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing