We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary with friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sunscape Sabor has recently been renovated and from what we conceive they are owned by Secrets next door. We booked with Apple Vacations which gave us quick transport to our resort and also had a concierge where we could book excursions. Arriving at Sabor we were impressed with the bright white villa and colorful paintings and decor. My wife and I were on our 2nd anniversary joined by our friends to celebrate their birthday. Luckily our room was ready but their's was not for another 30 mins. We were whisked away by a bell hop all the way to the other end of the resort by the Portofino restaurant.

This section used to belong to another resort (Regency Park) but was beautifully transformed. Our room, 3911 was very spacious with tile floors, two full size beds, TV and bench. Our friends had a nice couch and not sure why we did not. The room was well air-conditioned and had no problems at all with smells, mold, damage, etc. A mini fridge held soda, water and beer and was restocked. It did take a couple days to get room service and once we reported it to the front desk it was never an issue. Once settled in we were hungry and went to the Market Cafe where you have breakfast each day. Lunch is also available here each day, buffet style. There is also the Seaside Rest. with burgers, nachos and quesadilla's. Best guacamole and pico de gallo I've had in a while and they are generous servings. Don't feel limited by your choices, the staff are happy to accommodate to your needs. The buffet generally carries the same items each day but there is a lot to choose from you can certainly diversify your meals, especially with the giant omelettes. (They will even make an egg white omelette if you ask.)

After lunch we filled up our tervis cups with lids at the bar with some margaritas and hit the beach.
*Tip - If you bring your own cup you can avoid using the small 12 oz. red cups they use.

The beach is surrounded by coral reefs and these beaches were a little more rough but not intolerable like some people say. Do bring water shoes for the ocean because it is rocky and you will scratch your feet. We brought some snorkeling gear (you can rent some for free) and had a great time being followed around by tiger fish.

Friday evening a Mexican fiesta was held with authentic cuisine and grilling meats on site. make sure not to sit too close unless you want to smell like smoke. The entertainment was fun and interactive. We took some candy from the pinata and left it in our room. BIG MISTAKE. The next morning we had bad ants, luckily some bug spray we brought took care of them.
*Tip - Don't leave any food in your room. If you do room service leave it outside or return it, don't leave it in your room.
Being far from everything was a positive as we were away from the commotion of being near the beach or other resorts and walked off all the food and drinks we had. Luckily our friends were in the building next to us. Interestingly enough we learned some of the staff lived in the rooms above us. Going to the resort this time of year was not very crowded and very few kids were around.

Our days mainly consisted of breakfast, lounging on the beach in the morning, drinking and kayaking or sailing. Weather was moderately warm in low 80's with clouds and breeze. Ideal island weather. I will warn you they have some annoying birds flying around. They don't bother you except for at the Market Cafe where they scavenge for food. When we first arrived they had nets up to keep them out, but once they had a photo shoot they took them down.

The only other negative was the photo shoots they would hold throughout the week we were there. It was bad enough when they closed off sections of the beach or kept people confined in a certain area for breakfast. With a sunrise of 6 a.m. they could have gotten it out of the way earlier. Other than that we had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary with close friends.

Get out of your comfort zone, Unwind, relax and have a cerveza. You are now on island time, not rush around U.S. time. Sabor made us feel welcome and safe. We were well fed with great cuisine from El Patio and poured some excellent drinks from the swim up bar. If there is something you need, only ask and they will do their best to accommodate. I'll make the comment now; not really sure what everyone else is complaining about. We have beach, sun and endless drinks. What more could you want.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwelzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Bwelzba,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, staff, the restaurants, bars, rooms and the general relaxing atmosphere . Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

The biggest mistake my wife and I made was returning for a second year to Sabor. Our first visit was outstanding. This past April 2013 was an entirely different story. We entered the room and thought the toilet had backed up into the bathroom. Much to our surprise, it was the FRESH water that stunk, not the toilet or floor drains. Last year the resort allowed free access to all the restaurants on the three properties (Aura, Sabor, Regency). Not so any more. You have one decent restaurant at night, a beach bar grill and open air breakfast and lunch restaurant that features countless birds whizzing by your head and landing on tables and serving stations. So much for healthy eating. The staff, which seemed to be half of the previous year and maintenance guys were delightful in the wake of all the complaining. We were not alone trying to sort out the broken furniture, stained toilet seats, smelly water, frozen closed drawers, moderately clean room. They never filled the refrigerator once with drinks. Augmenting our disappointment was the smarming salespeople around the lobby trying to sell you vacation time shares. Lastly, we were BOTH sick with Montezuma' s Revenge for a week after the trip from the sewage scented sink and shower water to the cheap dirty plastic cups from the beach bar, or maybe it was the birds landing on the dinner tables and serving stations. The manager heard all these issues and we completed the departing survey with candor. We would not return even if offered a free vacation for ANY of their properties.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 414David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear 414David,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at Sunscape but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless apologize for any dissatisfaction and we will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just returned from a most wonderful stay at Sunscape! The food was excellent, beach is absolutely beautiful, staff was awesome... We absolutely loved our stay. Do not pay attention to the bad reviews!!! My husband looked forward to a fresh made omelet each morning, lunch buffet was plentiful and delicious, and the restaurants, Portofino and El Patio were exceptional! We enjoyed savoring our dinner each night with several courses to choose from. The Mexican Fiesta night was awesome!!! We loved the entertainment and of course, all of the yummy food.

The beach: You could not ask for a better beach! We have been all over the Caribbean from Jamaica to Aruba. The beach at Sunscape is one of the best! Drinks from the bars were excellent!

Can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. We enjoyed everyone we met. One thing to remember when traveling to a country that is not America, not everyone speaks English. It's OK to have a small language barrier. It adds to the experience of being somewhere new. The staff went out of their way to make our stay excellent and we returned the favor with a few tips. The people work so hard, we saw them working non-stop. They deserve it! Great place with great people!

We recommend Sunscape to anyone looking to relax, eat yummy food, and spend time with good company.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa San Francisco, Room #3363... BEAUTIFUL views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We feel so satisfied to know that you had a wonderful vacation with us at Sunscape. Thank you for mentioning our beautiful beach, excellent meals and amazing staff. We can ensure you that our staff and Management are very grateful for your comments.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ive stayed at this resort 3 times now with a group of divers. Its great location close to the reefs and the rooms are not bad. The food can be hit or miss as with alot of hotels here but its above average. I do not like the small cups you get at the bars but the service is good. Every time I've had any issues the hotel has do everything they can to make me happy. Its very relaxing and the beach is beautiful at sunset.

Room Tip: Beach units are great but loud, wifi is not available in every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TxPi239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear TxPi239,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words as a returning third time repeat guest including the highlights of your trip as our accommodating staff, beautiful beach and sunsets.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We arrived in Cozumel on Friday May 10th, 2013 to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. I must admit I was a little apprehensive after reading all the bad reviews. I called the resort the Tuesday before we left to touch bases. I requested to please put me in a clean room that doesn't smell (after reading several reviews that said Sabor was dirty and stinky)..They put my husband and I in a room all the way at the end of the resort, which was fine with me. The room itself was very clean but a little bland. Absolutely no pictures on the walls. But I got what I asked for, a very clean room..The toilet got plugged up the 1st day, in which they came and fixed right away. We did notice some funky smells in some parts of the resort but nothing permanent. It seems to me that some people cannot be pleased no matter what. I stayed there for 7 days and did not see any of the things that I've seen people post. The food was plentiful and good. Drinks were never ending. Most of the bartenders and waiters were amazing and very attentive. The housekeepers always made sure our room was clean and stocked. The one thing I can say, is that I did not see very many people tip. Which I thought was a little odd being this is a service industry. Please tip your servers, waiters and housekeepers. They work very hard even though it is hot and muggy as hell. We took $100.00 in ones just for tipping.
I can say we had a blast at Sabor and made alot of friends. Would I stay there again. Absolutely!
I just wish we would of had more time. Just when I got used to the time change, it was time to go.
I really had fun that last night with our new friends. Try getting on a plane with a hangover. A good trip is what you make of it. Like I said some people cannot be pleased no matter what.

Room Tip: I would choose a beachfront room. That is not what we got but that is what I will get in the future...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Anita M,


Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services and that it was a positive experience. It is very pleasing to read wonderful comments especially from guests like you, We are thankful for your attention and we will make sure to share your kind words with our staff members, so they know they did a good job in providing you with an wonderful anniversary holiday.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This has been the most wonderful relaxing beautiful vacation I have ever had.
The resort was great from Sophia at the front desk to every single person that is empolyeed there.
Every one working was very happy helpful and a delight to see every day..The service was excellent in every aspect.
Our room was perfect we could see the pool and ocean view...Couldn't of been more convenant, and relaxing
The spa was top notice! Loved the entertainment,Elvis was wonderful!
The resort was great! Great Value! Great employees! Most beautiful beaches! we will return again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hbhappy2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear hbhappy2day,


Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent vacation with us. Your comment about having the most relaxing beautiful vacation ever was duly noted. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, food, drinks, general ambiance, beach, activities, and staff were also motivating to our entire team.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Worst vacation ever, ruined our honeymoon. The whole place stunk (especially the rooms regardless of level or location!) like sewage because they use grey water for the shower, sink and toilet water. We spent as little time as possible in the rooms because it stunk so bad. The food was not very good, the two restaurants were closed all week because of low population and the snack bar was closed for renovations. Only thing to eat was the buffet which was mediocre at best. Between the water and the food, we both got Montezuma's revenge sick on the start of day two and it took us two weeks back home to fully recover. Room was not very clean. Some of the service staff was friendly, but most of them either didn't know what was going on or gave us a run around when we had questions. Drinks were served in dirty plastic cups. Other couples we talked too all had similar experiences. The beach chairs were very uncomfortable, the only nice ones were at a pool where they were doing construction all week, so the sound of saws and drills was non-stop. It was not worth the 50% discounted price, you could not pay us to go back there, where are the negative star ratings...the only redeeming feature was the sun, but you can get that anywhere south of Alaska.

Room Tip: Don't go, all of the rooms smell like sewage and make you sick due to their use of grey water fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Dan J,


Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were disappointed to learn that your stay with us was so unsatisfactory. On behalf of our Management, we would like to apologize for any undue stress caused by being ill on your vacation. I do apologize that you felt that the staff was unhelpful and that the resort had a smell we did not do anything to try and accommodate you on your honeymoon. Please be assured that incidents such as these are not the norm and steps are being taken to ensure that this does not happen to future guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,788 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5,071 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £94 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing