We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,583)
Filter reviews
2,583 results
Traveller rating
885
966
423
193
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
966
423
193
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillel patioportofino restauranttortuga barda mariodive housejuan carlosocean frontpaddle boardsmarket cafefishpizza placeentertainment staffbeach barnachosmain poolwater shoes
Filter
Updating list...
2,108 - 2,113 of 2,583 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It a 3 star hotel shame Amresorts
Not all rest open, core club closed pizza closed
It a rainy day a lot of people at lobby waithing for some activities no entertemaint team no shows they just reopen this resort...actually they are closing this resort...do not come here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allinclusive2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear allinclusive2011,


Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at the Sunscape but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless apologize for any dissatisfaction and we will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

We are still relatively new and are unfortunately undergoing growing pains, but I assure you will have made some changes to the entertainment program and things are improving daily.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at Sunscape Sabor May 13-19. Just like many others we were worried about the bad reviews. I guess I could understand the bad reviews if you are an extra picky person who wants a 5+ star resort but wants to pay a cheaper price. We went in to our vacation with a good attitude. There are very few complaints I have and many compliments.

Pros
- the view is AMAZING. I highly recommend an ocean front/view room. The sunsets are gorgeous! We spent a lot of time just sitting on our balcony enjoying the company of our friends and the scenery
- the staff is very accommodating. They work their butts off every day to make sure the guests are happy. Kudos to Enrique at the beach bar, Alberto at the pool bar and all the servers at breakfast. They were great!
- maid service came everyday, our fridge was stocked everyday. If it wasn't we called and they were up in minutes! We always asked for extra water and they were more than accommodating.
- the smell that everyone has complained about? I DIDN'T EXIST! I never once was disgusted by the smell of water and took a shower everyday. We had friends in 3 different rooms and none of them had an issue with smelly water.
- the snorkeling right on the resort is breath taking. Way better than what we paid for in Jamaica. And it was FREE!
- El Patio was by far my favorite restaurant. Good food and quick service. Portfinios was good but it did take a quite bit longer for the food. You are on vacation though enjoy the view and drinks an you will be fine! My recommendation would be to go early!
-the snack bar was great for a quick lunch. We actually never went to the buffet because we enjoyed the nachos, hamburgers and fries. Although the cook at for a mind night snack is not nearly as good as the one during the day.
- the pool bar was a lot of fun! We met many different people there and had a blast!


And now the cons. I really had to nit pick to find cons. Nothing would stop me from going back though.

- I know it sounds shallow but the only mirror in our suite was the one in the bathroom. It would have been nice to have one outside the bathroom so you can get ready to go out.
- the entertainment board was very confusing. It would tell you the activities for the day but wouldn't tell you where they were. My hubby wanted to be in the dart tournament but we could not find where it was located.
-the night time bar only played crap music. Rap and techno. They would have different theme nights of music but that would only last an hour then they would change the music to music that no one wanted to dance to anymore.
- the pizza place was closed but I hear it has opened now.


That's all the negatives I could really find. My friends room had a broken air conditioner and a broken safe and they fixed them both almost immediately. I highly recommend you hire a taxi for the day or rent a car and see the east side of the island. It is beautiful. If you go please goto the new bar Andale, right before coconuts. The owners are so friendly. We recommend the peanut tequila for sure! All and all we had an amazing time on our trip to Sabor and we are already planning our trip for next year. Although the one thing that will definitely change is we will stay for at least 10 days not 7.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dreamingcozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Kim Neyer Puryear,

.Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your objective review. We are enthused to hear that we have successfully met your expectations and that you found great value in our product for the price. Your reference to our accommodating staff, room, delicious food, snorkeling and service was also encouraging to our team. We look forward to welcoming home you and your group again in the near future for 10 days. We appreciate your suggestions and mention of areas that we maybe overlooking and will work with Management to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sunscape Sabor has recently been renovated and from what we conceive they are owned by Secrets next door. We booked with Apple Vacations which gave us quick transport to our resort and also had a concierge where we could book excursions. Arriving at Sabor we were impressed with the bright white villa and colorful paintings and decor. My wife and I were on our 2nd anniversary joined by our friends to celebrate their birthday. Luckily our room was ready but their's was not for another 30 mins. We were whisked away by a bell hop all the way to the other end of the resort by the Portofino restaurant.

This section used to belong to another resort (Regency Park) but was beautifully transformed. Our room, 3911 was very spacious with tile floors, two full size beds, TV and bench. Our friends had a nice couch and not sure why we did not. The room was well air-conditioned and had no problems at all with smells, mold, damage, etc. A mini fridge held soda, water and beer and was restocked. It did take a couple days to get room service and once we reported it to the front desk it was never an issue. Once settled in we were hungry and went to the Market Cafe where you have breakfast each day. Lunch is also available here each day, buffet style. There is also the Seaside Rest. with burgers, nachos and quesadilla's. Best guacamole and pico de gallo I've had in a while and they are generous servings. Don't feel limited by your choices, the staff are happy to accommodate to your needs. The buffet generally carries the same items each day but there is a lot to choose from you can certainly diversify your meals, especially with the giant omelettes. (They will even make an egg white omelette if you ask.)

After lunch we filled up our tervis cups with lids at the bar with some margaritas and hit the beach.
*Tip - If you bring your own cup you can avoid using the small 12 oz. red cups they use.

The beach is surrounded by coral reefs and these beaches were a little more rough but not intolerable like some people say. Do bring water shoes for the ocean because it is rocky and you will scratch your feet. We brought some snorkeling gear (you can rent some for free) and had a great time being followed around by tiger fish.

Friday evening a Mexican fiesta was held with authentic cuisine and grilling meats on site. make sure not to sit too close unless you want to smell like smoke. The entertainment was fun and interactive. We took some candy from the pinata and left it in our room. BIG MISTAKE. The next morning we had bad ants, luckily some bug spray we brought took care of them.
*Tip - Don't leave any food in your room. If you do room service leave it outside or return it, don't leave it in your room.
Being far from everything was a positive as we were away from the commotion of being near the beach or other resorts and walked off all the food and drinks we had. Luckily our friends were in the building next to us. Interestingly enough we learned some of the staff lived in the rooms above us. Going to the resort this time of year was not very crowded and very few kids were around.

Our days mainly consisted of breakfast, lounging on the beach in the morning, drinking and kayaking or sailing. Weather was moderately warm in low 80's with clouds and breeze. Ideal island weather. I will warn you they have some annoying birds flying around. They don't bother you except for at the Market Cafe where they scavenge for food. When we first arrived they had nets up to keep them out, but once they had a photo shoot they took them down.

The only other negative was the photo shoots they would hold throughout the week we were there. It was bad enough when they closed off sections of the beach or kept people confined in a certain area for breakfast. With a sunrise of 6 a.m. they could have gotten it out of the way earlier. Other than that we had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary with close friends.

Get out of your comfort zone, Unwind, relax and have a cerveza. You are now on island time, not rush around U.S. time. Sabor made us feel welcome and safe. We were well fed with great cuisine from El Patio and poured some excellent drinks from the swim up bar. If there is something you need, only ask and they will do their best to accommodate. I'll make the comment now; not really sure what everyone else is complaining about. We have beach, sun and endless drinks. What more could you want.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwelzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Bwelzba,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, staff, the restaurants, bars, rooms and the general relaxing atmosphere . Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The biggest mistake my wife and I made was returning for a second year to Sabor. Our first visit was outstanding. This past April 2013 was an entirely different story. We entered the room and thought the toilet had backed up into the bathroom. Much to our surprise, it was the FRESH water that stunk, not the toilet or floor drains. Last year the resort allowed free access to all the restaurants on the three properties (Aura, Sabor, Regency). Not so any more. You have one decent restaurant at night, a beach bar grill and open air breakfast and lunch restaurant that features countless birds whizzing by your head and landing on tables and serving stations. So much for healthy eating. The staff, which seemed to be half of the previous year and maintenance guys were delightful in the wake of all the complaining. We were not alone trying to sort out the broken furniture, stained toilet seats, smelly water, frozen closed drawers, moderately clean room. They never filled the refrigerator once with drinks. Augmenting our disappointment was the smarming salespeople around the lobby trying to sell you vacation time shares. Lastly, we were BOTH sick with Montezuma' s Revenge for a week after the trip from the sewage scented sink and shower water to the cheap dirty plastic cups from the beach bar, or maybe it was the birds landing on the dinner tables and serving stations. The manager heard all these issues and we completed the departing survey with candor. We would not return even if offered a free vacation for ANY of their properties.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 414David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear 414David,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at Sunscape but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless apologize for any dissatisfaction and we will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just returned from a most wonderful stay at Sunscape! The food was excellent, beach is absolutely beautiful, staff was awesome... We absolutely loved our stay. Do not pay attention to the bad reviews!!! My husband looked forward to a fresh made omelet each morning, lunch buffet was plentiful and delicious, and the restaurants, Portofino and El Patio were exceptional! We enjoyed savoring our dinner each night with several courses to choose from. The Mexican Fiesta night was awesome!!! We loved the entertainment and of course, all of the yummy food.

The beach: You could not ask for a better beach! We have been all over the Caribbean from Jamaica to Aruba. The beach at Sunscape is one of the best! Drinks from the bars were excellent!

Can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. We enjoyed everyone we met. One thing to remember when traveling to a country that is not America, not everyone speaks English. It's OK to have a small language barrier. It adds to the experience of being somewhere new. The staff went out of their way to make our stay excellent and we returned the favor with a few tips. The people work so hard, we saw them working non-stop. They deserve it! Great place with great people!

We recommend Sunscape to anyone looking to relax, eat yummy food, and spend time with good company.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa San Francisco, Room #3363... BEAUTIFUL views!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We feel so satisfied to know that you had a wonderful vacation with us at Sunscape. Thank you for mentioning our beautiful beach, excellent meals and amazing staff. We can ensure you that our staff and Management are very grateful for your comments.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews