We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R & R Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“R & R Vacation”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have to admit we were all quite nervous about going to the Sunscape Sabor after reading all the negative reviews. We were all pleasantly surprised by most everything about this resort. A group of 6 of us traveled to Cozumel from April 5 - 12. My husband and I had reserved an ocean front room and it was as ocean front as you can get. Room 3722 opens up right onto the water. It was beautiful, clean, well stocked and we could not have asked for anything more. The air conditioning worked great, the water pressure was good, the room was cleaned by mid-day every day and the refrigerator was well stocked. The 2 couples that we traveled with had reserved regular rooms and they were quite disappointed in how tiny they were,. They were clean, but some of the fixtures in the rooms showed signs of rust and the curtains and bedspreads had seen better days. They opted to upgrade to pool-front rooms after the first night. The new rooms were airy, spacious and up-dated. The amenities at this resort are wonderful. You have the beach or choice of 2 pools. The beach is long and narrow and there seemed to be plenty of chairs. We chose to sit by the smaller pool most days and there was a nice little bar right there for us. No blender drinks at this bar, but a short walk to the beach bar and we could easily get those if we wanted. There was a small buffet set up there for lunch every day with burgers, hot dogs, pulled pork sandwiches, salads, chips and guacamole at lunch time. Every morning for breakfast we ate at Portofino. There was so much to choose from. Fresh fruits, pastries, toast, eggs, sausage, Mexican dishes, and the made to order omelets! They were awesome. The omelet lady sure knows what she is doing! For supper, it was a little more hit or miss. The food was good, but we did wish for more variety. It would be nice if there would have been a buffet for supper, so you could pick and choose what you wanted. By the end of the week we were a little tired of the choices. With that said, we never went hungry! The staff is amazing! They work so hard and such long hours! Someone is always sweeping and cleaning. We had a wonderful vacation. It was very relaxing. I'd go back to this resort, but I would make sure to book the pool front or ocean front rooms and I'd go into town more often for a meal now and then.

Room Tip: Ask for pool front or ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J&J'sMomMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi J&J'sMomMichigan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor that you enjoyed the staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    837
    364
    165
    96
See reviews for
763
841
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

stayed here a few years ago when it was the Wyndham. stayed here again last week 4/18/14 thru 421/14 and enjoyed it. have booked again for 7/16/14.
a nice property in a central location. employees were great. food was good. drinks were good. room location 3213 was too close to pool area and noise did travel.

Room Tip: V35, V36, V38 and V39 buildings are my choice to stay in next time. not on the beach but quiet and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi MarkTexas,

We appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed; it is a pleasure to us that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, we are all the time trying to please to our guest, and when we see that you enjoyed your stay we are happy, because it shows what we want to provide to our guest at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, our staff is always offering to our usual level of service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First of all, remember that you are in Mexico and not at the Four Seasons or the Broadmoor. After reading all of the bad reviews, we were very nervous about staying at this resort. We were happily surprised.
Upon arrival we were able to upgrade our room to a large ocean front suite and had drinks served to us as we waited. We had amazing service from the moment we arrived. Our room was 3713 (March 29 - April 5) It had a beautiful view which and it was updated and clean (except for the doors and windows being updated). I wish we had lounge chairs or a sleeping bed on the deck as we would have been happy to sleep there every night. The food was as expected...some was great...some not so great...remember you are at an all inclusive...not at a 5 star dining resort. We loved Portofino...we ate there almost every morning. And the pizza place is awesome for lunch. We loved Marcos (who at that time was serving drinks at the upper pool). Our drinks would be refilled before they were even empty. Rememeber, these guys/ladies switch areas every few days so that everyone gets a chance to receive the same amount of tips...and do tip...it does help. We always had soda/water/beer and extra coffee in our rooms. The beach was beautiful and you did not have any high pressure sales people trying to sell you a timeshare. The only problem we had was that the concierge (or whoever it was) trying to get us to go to "breakfast" DON'T DO IT...we still got our $200.00 vouchers...don't waste your time. Reggo at the beach bar was also an awesome guy...we had great service all around. One day we did have low water pressure and the water could be a bit cold in the shower (let it run a bit first) but you are on an island...that's what happens. We did here a few people complain about some things, but I hear that every day at home...You are on vacation...remember that! We would gladly return to this resort...Do bring tip money...it's how these young men and women are able to survive and feed their young families.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front...it is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLNissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi CLNissen,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The food was awesome. Fresh fruit every morning. The service was wonderful. Every one was so friendly. The beach the room the pool. Everything was great. Ive read some of the other reviews. And people come on its Mexico. Not maui. This place is a divers paradise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Justin T,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed; it is a pleasure to us that our guest enjoyed their stay with us, we are all the time trying to please to our guest, and when we see that you enjoyed your stay we are happy, because it shows what we want to provide to our guest at Sunscape Sabor, our staff is always offering to our usual level of service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We originally booked a resort in Cancun but after the small airline we booked our tickets with went out of line our travel agent presented us with this resort. From the time we arrived we felt very welcome and taken care of. We were traveling with 3 teenagers and were worried that there might not be enough for them to do, but we were wrong. They snorkeled, went sailing (with an experienced sailor), and enjoyed the pools. Before this vacation I had only snorkeled a few times, but ended up snorkeling every day right off of our beach where we saw amazing sea life. At first I was disappointed that we didn't have crashing waves and a sandy bottom but the snorkeling quickly made up for that. We took full advantage of the beach bar and really enjoyed Gabriel, the bartender. The rooms were not extravagant but very clean, in good repair, and they didn't smell...which we experienced during our stay in Cancun. Our room was just steps away from the ocean...and the beach bar. I gave a rating of 4 stars instead of 5 based on the food. The food wasn't bad but there was not much of a selection and I didn't feel that it was entirely authentic. The Italian restaurant was no more than premade pizzas at lunchtime...that weren't very good. Our favorite restaurant was the Patio as some nights you could order from the menu. Service was excellent throughout the resort. The maid service was very good and polite. We left them a modest tip each day and they rewarded us with wonderful towel art creatures on our beds. The wifi was not good, but that's ok...it is vacation after all. The best 'hot spot' was near the trampoline past the pool. :) We went on a few excursions during the week. The first was the jeep tour. In the end we enjoyed the tour but it was far too long...7 hours from start to finish. It took us a good hour to get started as we stopped at several other resorts to pick up more guests, which got to be very frustrating. I would rent a jeep on my own next time. We also went to Chankanaab and the girls swam with the dolphins and the boys did Snuba (cross between scuba and snorkeling). These were both great! We rented scooters right outside of our resort to go to town one day (which isn't very close) to grab some necessities and ended up negotiating keeping them overnight. My husband and I decided to get away for a bit and took the scooters up the coast to a small 'Marley Bar' as we called it. It was a neat place with t-shirt, shoes...and other items, on the walls and raggae music playing. It was quite a ride on the scooter, but I loved it!
In the end, this is definitely on our list of places to return to. If you are looking for a place to lay back, enjoy the sun and surf at a reasonable price, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WiShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi WiShelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I just got back 2 days ago. We were married on April 4th 2014 in our hometown and then spent our honeymoon at the resort from April 9-20 2014. We both enjoyed every minute at the resort expect for our initial experience with the front desk. The only unpleasant thing was that we did not receive any special upgrades or special amenities for it being our honeymoon. When we booked the resort, we were told to bring proof of marriage when we got there and we would be upgraded and treated respectfully. But, unfortunately we received absolutely nothing special for it being our honeymoon.

However, once we got over the initial misunderstanding, we had an absolutely excellent time!! The rooms were clean (somewhat outdated, but nice), we always had bottled waters in our room, and the food was surprisingly really good too! I know sometimes the food is sub par at all-inclusive resorts, but the food truly was delicious at Sunscape. The maid service was great and respectful as well as all of the food and bar service people. The food and bar service people always did an outstanding job on making sure that you were happy, satisfied with your food and they made sure you did not walk away hungry or thirsty. MAX did a great job on making sure that we always had a drink in our hand when we were lounging by the pool. All of the restaurants had great service and our drinks and plates were always full. We ate at all 4 restaurants and they were all delicious. The snack bar during the day always had hamburgers, hot dogs, quesadillas, salsa and guacamole made fresh to order. The breakfast buffett even had a make your omelet station which was pretty awesome. It was great that WENDY at El Portofino always greeted us every morning with a smile too! She started everyday with a great morning.

The most spectacular thing about the whole vacation was MANUEL and ENRIQUE from the entertainment team making the most out of everyday. There was never a moment when those 2 guys from the activities crew were not making us laugh. We got to play volleyball, water polo, go on bike tours, kayak tours, snorkeling, and play bingo by the pool everyday. Manuel and Enrique were easily the funniest people we have ever met. The days and day activities would have not been the same without them. I even feel like we all bonded and made an actual friendship. I never even thought that you could make friends with workers at a resort, but because of their personalities, it was very easy to establish a friendship with Manuel and Enrique.

I would definitely stay at this resort again because the food was excellent, the bar was great, the service was good, and best of all, Manuel and Enrique really made us feel at home with the their personalities and exciting daily activities. I just wish i could forget our initial reaction at the front desk.....but luckily everything was so perfect that it made up for the initial bad experience.

Drew&Anna

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Drew M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

We sincerely apologize about the initial misunderstanding

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have been going to this property for many years, and while things have changed, our visits are always memorable and enjoyable. This year, even though we were there for peak season, we extended our visit longer! When we go to Mexico for a diving trip we want a barefoot resort, not a high heel resort (however, you have the option if you choose to book next door at the sister resort Secrets/Aura if you prefer to dress up for dinner every night). Don't get me wrong, shoes and clothing (or at least a swimsuit coverup) are required in all of the restaurants, (you may want a tropical weight pair of long pants for Dinner, they actually may be more comfortable) but otherwise, bare feet on the sand is the order of the day. Do I have your attention yet? This is the Caribbean, and this is Mexico. The rooms are clean and everything works. To say that the staff is competent, pleasant and eager to please is an understatement. Everyone works very hard. I was also there when the power went out, and the staff had the tables out by the pool and the candles on the stairs and walkways before I even knew what happened. The resort is on the longest stretch of beach available to any resort on the island. The dining options had more selection that we could take advantage of, even sharing several entrees. I have never had a negative food issue here ever. If you appreciate visual presentation, you will be impressed. The local Mexican flavors and specialties offered here have increased, and I urge everyone to take advantage of these offerings. The Hamburger specials for the month are very good, (but do you really go to Mexico for hamburgers)? Come here if you want to really feel the hospitality of a Mexican Caribbean beach resort. You will get much more than you pay for. Oh, and did I mention that world class scuba diving and snorkeling are right there off the beach? It is a great place to learn the sport, and for advanced divers there is some serious stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtndiverdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi mtndiverdad,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cozumel
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,948 reviews
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
19.8 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
7.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Property: Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing