We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Cozumel, everything was excellent. Cant go wrong for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in Cozumel, everything was excellent. Cant go wrong for the price.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well if you are looking for an all inclusive this is the place to stay. I will list everything below:
1. Property was clean, inviting. Right on the beach, sunsets every night. Bar was on the beach too.
2. Staff was always nice, smiling and helpful. They really understood customer service. From the check-in desk to the waiters and bartenders all were escellent.
3. Food. Saw some reviews about the quality of food here. We thought the food was excellent. For a room that is $150/night (not per person like some others) everything included what do these people expect. You can have food prepared just like your ordering in a fine restaurant. They also had buffet style. And yes if you arrive at the buffet late the 'hot food' may not be 'hot'.
4. Room was clean, stocked with waters, sodas, and beers in the fridge. Again these items are included in the price. Air conditioners worked flawlessly and were very quiet. The shampoo and conditioners in the shower were such high quality my wife inquired on how to get the brand.
Other items to consider when travelling to Cancun, Cozumel, Playa or Akumal.
1. Convert some US dollars to pesos. Many places dont accept credit cards (taxis dont). Most currency convert location will typically give you $12.5 pesos per US dollar. But when you take a taxi for example they will only give you 10 pesos per dollar. I asked how much at taxi ride into town was. $15 US or $150 pesos. The $150 pesos only costs you $12 US. So we saved $3 US everytime we took a taxi paying with pesos. Not picking on taxis just using this as an example. Most stores were the same way. Put an app on your phone that does the conversion for you, its very helpful. If you rent a car pay with peso for gas, they are the same as taxis. Make sure they put regular unleaded in your tank not premium.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NovatoMcElroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi NovatoMcElroys,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    827
    357
    159
    91
See reviews for
741
834
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned for a 7 day trip to this hotel. We stayed in two ocean front rooms which were great. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, especially Enrique (who was part of the entertainment staff). We snorkeled right from the dock (but the coral reef was wiped out in a hurricane). We saw plenty of fish, lobsters, and a sting ray. We also used the sea kayaks, a Hobie Cat sailboat, and paddleboards (all included). It also has a nice workout area.

The food was fine but it lacked variety. Seascape Grill offered burgers and hot dogs daily, they also had a pizza restaurant, and Portofino had a buffet lunch (and breakfast daily). After 5 or 6 days, we would have enjoyed more variety. All of the waiters were great.

We did have a negative experience with the Apple hotel representative (Vincente) who did a bait and switch when we attempted to book a snorkel excursion, and we were not able to resolve it satisfactorily during our stay.

We went shopping near the plaza twice and found some great deals. We have stayed at nicer overall all-inclusive hotels with better menus with more available food options, but this was a good place to stay a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We asked for ocean view and got ocean front (probably due to the lack of guests at the time). We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tas1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi tas1104,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the beach, staff and snorkelling however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The facility was quite nice. Spacious rooms and nice views overlooking the pools or toward the beach. They always had a nice choice of foods at the several restaurant whether A-la-carte or buffet. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and would go out of their way to be of assistance. The only down side was that it was too far from San Miguel to walk, but it was a quick and inexpensive taxi ride to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi Craig K,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your comments about our beach, restaurant, service and staff was most motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Naturally I was nervous about staying at this resort after seeing the reviews. Now, after seeing the resort first hand for myself I can honestly say some people just love to complain lol. My cousin and I stayed for four days. Check in was at 3 pm and no earlier, Ha. But whatever, there was a bar within walking distance of the lobby. How can you ever complain when there are free drinks to drink? Our room was right on the beach. Absolutely amazing! As for the food. I think it was great for an all inclusive. There was a buffet at two restaurants in one night, we couldn't decide where to eat so we tried both. My taste buds were pleased. Anything that I didn't like I just washed it down with a free drink. My only complaint would be the staff. The men were very forward and it became pretty annoying. Other than that I had an amazing time. If you're not overly picky and just looking for a place with good food, great views, and affordable this would work for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jezziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi jezziv,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the bars, restaurants and rooms however, we are very concerned about the people of the Vacation Club, we are going to share this comment with that company.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robinson, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This resort is a nice resort and it is in the transition period of having a new owner. The food is good but there is not a lot of choices. There is NO buffet restaurant - it is just served on the poolside a couple nights a week. The beach is nice and we enjoyed basking in the sun :) the water is very rocky. If you go please take water shoes and walk slowly. The staff was fantastic! The drinks were great - and strong, just the way I like them. The entertainment staff was a lot of fun and they remembered us every day they came by and called out to us by name. It is a nice place but it still needs work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nips_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi nips_45,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel that you enjoyed the resort staff. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

The resort has a buffet restaurant which is Porto Fino, in this restaurant you will find buffet breakfast and lunch.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and stayed at this resort in February 2014. We read some bad reviews but decided to go and see for ourselves. Not all reviews were bad. The food wasn't spectacular but not too bad. There were three different places for dinner and we tried them all. The cafe next to the main pool was the best. The chicken dish I had was great. We had breakfast at the beach bar and it was always good. Pizza for lunch was good too. Snorkeling right in front of the resort was good but we had a better time snorkeling at Chakanaub park. We have stayed at better resorts but paid much more too. All in all we had a great time. It's what you make of it. We also went to Playa del Carmen by Ferry. Fun day walking the streets eating and drinking. Taxi and Ferry rides were reasonable. They have a separate street that goes around the island just for mopeds which can be rented at all resorts. Safest way to ride a moped for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean were breezier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Bartman77,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First let me say I have been to over a dozen resorts in cancun , playa de Carmen and cozumel. This was defiantly one of the better ones... (And I only stay at a five or higher). Although it is small only a few hundred rooms, it is peaceful, a great location, and clean.
The staff was wonderful. We didn't meet one rude staff member. Everyone spoke, a lot used our first names, and all were very helpful with whatever we asked of them.
I had read a lot do bad reviews before I went and can tell you I found none of them to be accurate.
They do have two sit down more formal restaurants ( formal clothes not needed). Portofinos was wonderful, with beautiful views. Food was great for Italian food in Mexico... Service was wonderful and dessert was delicious . El Patio was also great . The chicken fajitas were some of the best I ever had. No reservations needed, and we never waited .the seaside grill by the large main pool had burgers, hotdogs, nachos,fries, etc for lunch...and Da Mario Trattoria had pizzas and garlic bread for lunch. All the lunch food was good. Seaside grill also serves a cook to order breakfast. The fruit plate was great, 5 to 7 different types of fruit each day. And the omelettes were also great. They also have cereals, breads, and the typical American breakfast foods.
The resort has four bars, all were great. They made anything you ask and suggested different drinks for you to try. Our favorite was the small bar by the smaller pool. Rigo is the bartender there and he was awesome! He never let us run out of drinks. He always had a smile and was very helpful with suggestions for things to do and information on town.
At seaside resturant Rosana and Ishmeal were fabulous. They called us by our names from day one and always had a smile and gave us something to laugh at everyday!
We had a ground level oceanfront room(2911) .the room was cleaned and always well stocked. Beer, soda and water and plenty do towels. A few dollars tip for housekeeping and a couple dollars put in the fridge for the person stocking that goes a long way.
There was great snorkling down by the dock, to the left and around the rock bluffs by portifinos . There is a beach bar also so you never have to go far for a drink.
We did do the snorkel tour to three reefs for 50 dollars. It was worth every penny, and the service was great with that. You can book that thru the hotel or your apple vacation rep.
We also took a cab to town for 15 dollars. Don't be afraid to get off the Main Street and shop a few blocks back. Items are cheaper and we had no issues walking around anywhere. Lots of little places to grab drinks and lunch.
This place was peaceful, not overcrowded , and worth what we paid for it. I will say this isn't a party party party resort. So if that's what your looking for you should stay in cancun . It's great for families and couples. Don't let the bad reviews stop you. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Beachfront is a must, rooms are just a few yards from the ocean. Although the garden view rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Tammy W,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as restaurants, bars and services.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful service.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 52 in Cozumel
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Property: Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing