We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vacaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just got back from a seven night all-inclusive thru Apple Vacations, non-stop flight with transfers. Upgraded to room #2622 just footsteps to the bar, beach and pool, well worth it. A modest resort. Buffet breakfast and lunch at Porfinos was allways good but for dinner there's three restaurants, Sea side Grill, El Patio and Porfinos, they alternate closing one of the restaurants at night, made it confusing and a stain on the other two that are open and took about hour and half to two hours to eat. Tip all the sevices and thy will treat you right! Snorkel under the pier,kayak, there's plenty of activities, so go and smell the roses and have fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicojoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear mexicojoe13,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as breakfast, bars, beach and room. Due to the fact that we are still undergoing a low occupancy in Cozumel we have to rotate the opening times of restaurants and bars, but you will always have restaurants and bars for enjoying.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience in the near future.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was said to be a 4 ☆ hotel. We did our research and looked at the pictures and read all the reviews like most. My boyfriend stayed up till late at night to read all the 300 reviews and thought it was okay. Pictures of rooms looks clean and livable.

We arrived pretty early to the hotel that day and kinda waited around. Almost instantly you are bombarded with sales tactics to either buy this or buy that. We were hungry at that time and just said pretty much to anything. It was a "free lunch next door to a sister resort" with no catch but spend our time of 120 min to eat and listen. That was what was told to us. Well, 4 hours later and I'm walking off pissed off leaving my man still sitting there as he listens to how great it would be to invest in this "non time share" resort.
Hello!!!! We are on VACATION. OMG!!!!! Let me take a breath to calm down. Any who, we go to the room and it Feels dirty and the duvet cover didn't look like it was changed.....bring slippers. You may not want to walk bare foot in the room.

We were on vacation so thought, okay we are not going to stay in the room too much being we are on the beach and things we could be doing while we are here.

The entertainment sucked and was not thought out well. Services was slow and well, slow... we were even offered "DRUGS" on this property by their own staff. We were so shocked beyond belief. Apparently drugs of any kind.

On the positive side you should rent a car and venture out to the other beaches. It's beautiful. .. Down town shopping is good. But make sure you have a money conversion and find out exactly how much the us dollar to pesos. Some locals may tell you it's different in some places. Another way of scamming monies off of you.

To sum this up, I would rate this as a high end motel 6. We have stayed in a low end place and a 4-5☆ hotels but this one really leaves us most memorable. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Teena D,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate situation experienced during your last stay with us. We wish to assure you that our resort has a zero tolerance policy for drug use nad dealing and any case of this nature is given the highest priority. Kindly note that this is the first of its kind and is totally unacceptable. Please be advised that the relevant personnel is now aware and will now conduct the necessary investigations and implement the necessary measures in order to prevent the recurrence of same.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience, We kindly would like to invite you to reach us at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com with further details about your stay.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lets start with I was a flight attendant before 911 and worked for Club Med in their villages, am in Customer Service and have been my whole life. Looked at every possible review and picture after I found this resort, good and bad and haven't vacationed in 6 years.Expectations need to be realistic no matter where you go. Friendly people from the ground transport to the Hotel. Love that it still feels like a unpopulated island, yet go into town and feel safe. We were in room V2922, tropical view. However turn left on your balcony and you are ON THE BEACH. There are definitely some AMAZING spots around the small pool. Many are ocean/beach FRONT not view(critical difference), BUILDINGS WERE CLEAN, OUR BEDS WERE CLEAN, super comfortable, TONS OF PILLOWS, LIKE 6EACH AND A NECK ROLL, coffemaker, water, pop, beer, safe worked, lots of storage, not huge, but I don't vacation to be in my room,tons of towels and our toilet flushed strong. Worst thing if I need to pick, the tub needed to be re surfaced, but we weren't taking a bath and hot water was scarce when the entire resort goes back to their room at the same time. Great amenities. Going in May, off-season, lots of towels available, no towel card, however I agree with if you go in the height of the season, bring your own and a chair would be tough to get around either pool or on the beach. Even in May all spots for 2 under a palapa were taken, BUT we consistently had a choice of where. Food was fantastic! Breakfast buffet in Portofino is the best!, Omelet station, main dishes change, lots of fresh juice and fruit.3 restaurants for a la carte dinner, NO reservations needed! And you did not have to wear a bracelet either!!! ALL food was very good, portions are smaller than we are used to. WE thought it was perfect!!! The menu is set with 3 to 4 courses and you choose one in each or all, whatever you want, well paced, tasty and you aren't too full! Still hungry? Hit the Seaside Grill for nachos, quesadillas, fries, all fresh and homemade. The trattoria for make your own pizzas! Thin crust wonderful! Snorkel, paddleboard, kayak and Hobie cats, all included and you are on a reef. There is a drink of the day which we tried EVERY DAY! Marco the main man, wonderful sweet, spectacular service. We sat at the main bar for sunset and played Scrabble and our Pina Coladas were replaced without looking with 3 sips left for our whole game!!! Mario the Dirty Banana Master, Wilbert, Fernando, Gabriel, Luiz and Miguel all wonderful bartenders.
Ice and Water is filtered(bottled), no issues, replaced in the room daily!! 4 bottles!!
MOST IMPORTANT! Bring small bills and TIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We were given great service all week BUT we tipped, every meal and every 2nd round and our service started on the 2nd day to go to spectacular! Mimosas at breakfast! baileys in our coffee and SERVED at the buffet ! Knowing our names, saving us towels, saving a spot at the bar, Kisses hello. MUST SNORKEL OR DIVE OR BOTH! Do the Sunset Catamaran snorkel with Fury Catamarans, sooooo much fun and Sea turtles, lobsters, barracuda etc. We did not do Stingray each or Chanknauub Park, next time. The taxis are unionized and prices are set, just confirm, and go into the Market Square in San Miguel to shop and BARGAIN. And hit WET WENDY'S!!!! The craziest margaritas you will ever have, 4 and 1/2 ounzes and a 45minute lag time. Woo!!! These are hardworking beautiful people. YES, it is customer service and we are not the only ones to be treated so well, however I would definitely return and recommend!!!
Mahaline 2014

Room Tip: rooms in the front section of villas nearer the beach have been redone. a/c worked well and was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Lisa T,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed there two years ago and loved every minute of....from the accomodations, staff, food and drinks.

In looking at the photos of the resort I dont see the section that we stayed in.....three level groupings, with water slides that went into the main pool from theground floor terrace....beautiful thatche roof swim up bar....and a superb restaurant.

Is this section still part of the resort under the new ownership?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nyroluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello nyroluvr,

Thank you for choosing Secrets The Vine as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We have done some changeS during those years, We have updated all the resort, couls you please contact us at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com this is in order to provide you detailed information about all teh changes.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well if you are looking for an all inclusive this is the place to stay. I will list everything below:
1. Property was clean, inviting. Right on the beach, sunsets every night. Bar was on the beach too.
2. Staff was always nice, smiling and helpful. They really understood customer service. From the check-in desk to the waiters and bartenders all were escellent.
3. Food. Saw some reviews about the quality of food here. We thought the food was excellent. For a room that is $150/night (not per person like some others) everything included what do these people expect. You can have food prepared just like your ordering in a fine restaurant. They also had buffet style. And yes if you arrive at the buffet late the 'hot food' may not be 'hot'.
4. Room was clean, stocked with waters, sodas, and beers in the fridge. Again these items are included in the price. Air conditioners worked flawlessly and were very quiet. The shampoo and conditioners in the shower were such high quality my wife inquired on how to get the brand.
Other items to consider when travelling to Cancun, Cozumel, Playa or Akumal.
1. Convert some US dollars to pesos. Many places dont accept credit cards (taxis dont). Most currency convert location will typically give you $12.5 pesos per US dollar. But when you take a taxi for example they will only give you 10 pesos per dollar. I asked how much at taxi ride into town was. $15 US or $150 pesos. The $150 pesos only costs you $12 US. So we saved $3 US everytime we took a taxi paying with pesos. Not picking on taxis just using this as an example. Most stores were the same way. Put an app on your phone that does the conversion for you, its very helpful. If you rent a car pay with peso for gas, they are the same as taxis. Make sure they put regular unleaded in your tank not premium.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NovatoMcElroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi NovatoMcElroys,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned for a 7 day trip to this hotel. We stayed in two ocean front rooms which were great. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, especially Enrique (who was part of the entertainment staff). We snorkeled right from the dock (but the coral reef was wiped out in a hurricane). We saw plenty of fish, lobsters, and a sting ray. We also used the sea kayaks, a Hobie Cat sailboat, and paddleboards (all included). It also has a nice workout area.

The food was fine but it lacked variety. Seascape Grill offered burgers and hot dogs daily, they also had a pizza restaurant, and Portofino had a buffet lunch (and breakfast daily). After 5 or 6 days, we would have enjoyed more variety. All of the waiters were great.

We did have a negative experience with the Apple hotel representative (Vincente) who did a bait and switch when we attempted to book a snorkel excursion, and we were not able to resolve it satisfactorily during our stay.

We went shopping near the plaza twice and found some great deals. We have stayed at nicer overall all-inclusive hotels with better menus with more available food options, but this was a good place to stay a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We asked for ocean view and got ocean front (probably due to the lack of guests at the time). We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tas1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi tas1104,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the beach, staff and snorkelling however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The facility was quite nice. Spacious rooms and nice views overlooking the pools or toward the beach. They always had a nice choice of foods at the several restaurant whether A-la-carte or buffet. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and would go out of their way to be of assistance. The only down side was that it was too far from San Miguel to walk, but it was a quick and inexpensive taxi ride to town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Craig K,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your comments about our beach, restaurant, service and staff was most motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in paradise at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,683 reviews
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,000 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
11.7 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £88 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing