We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible, not superb, we wouldn't go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was an acceptable resort, not terrible - but also not grand. We have stayed at a lot of other all-inclusive resorts in the area and this was probably our least favorite. We had a few issues; the room wasn't cleaned everyday and the "mini-bar" wasn't stocked very frequently. There was a half drank bottle of water in the fridge when we first arrived. Another couple we met said they had half a bottle of water as well.

We could generally find some food that we liked; but there was very little variety and it wasn't ever anything we would have wanted to eat again. They alternate between 3 restaurants and buffets for dinner. Restaurants were very, very slow. It was clear they didn't have enough wait staff or kitchen staff and the service suffered for it. Another big complaint was that food was very inconsistent. We ate at a couple of the places more than once and even when we ordered the one thing we liked it would come out different. Buffet nights weren't always well stocked or fresh-looking. Again, service was slow or lacking, we usually just got drinks from the bar ourselves. They set up a number of 8 person tables, so if you are a couple - go into the Mexican Restaurant for a smaller table. The pizza place was good; but it took a very long time.

Generally speaking, they had some good entertainment going on and we got involved in some of the afternoon activities to pass the time when we weren't diving. You have to walk across the neighboring resort to get to the pier for the dive boats to pick you up.

The main activity pool was in desperate need of cleaning and some good filtration. It was pretty murky, and it only rained on one afternoon.

This resort doesn't have cocktail servers at the pool or beach. Nor does it have a swim-up bar. They generally had 1 bartender at 2 locations, so mid-afternoon and late evening we frequently had to stand at the bar for 5-10 minutes to get a drink. Like the restaurants, a little more service in this area would be nice.

Do not waste your time at the time-share place unless you do some up-front research. If it is too good to be true...

There was a rare couple of people who were nice; but we frequently felt like a hassle to the staff. We had to stop by the front desk a few times for beach towels and they weren't very friendly. Check-in and Check-out were similar experiences, rushed and not-overly friendly.

We made small talk with a lot of people at the resort. In general, the people who had been at other resorts weren't very impressed. First-timers were a little happier - so if you aren't comparing it to other resorts... We also found that there were a few people coming from the Secrets resort next door to see if the service/food/atmosphere was any better. We were happy we didn't spend the extra money to stay at the secrets resort, and were wishing we had stayed somewhere else entirely.

Room Tip: This is a villa-style resort, so the rooms are in small buildings with exterior doors. The main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bgilmore382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear bgilmore382,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort.

We value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

While we understand the way you felt about the situation experienced during your stay, we do hope that our reply to your feedback restores some semblance of trust on us. Please contact us directly at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com to take care of your next reservation.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just stayed at the Sabor Resort for the past four days in an all-inclusive trip (26 June to 29 June). I cannot say enough good things about the experience. The hotel was clean; the staff were friendly and helpful; the food & drink were excellent; the grounds were incredibly beautiful; and the unlimited water sports (kayak, sailing, paddleboats, snorkeling, water volleyball teams) was an exceptional value. There was also free nightly entertainment (big screen movies, Broadway style songs & dance, etc). This is a great long weekend getaway for couples and families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Hugh R,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was wonderful and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service, cleanliness of rooms, delicious food and drinks and various staff members. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I plus another couple stayed here from June 16 to June 26 2014 and the entire trip was enjoyable. Understand, this is NOT a high end resort (like Secrets) so if you are looking for that type of experience then pay the money and book there. The rooms are basic but the a/c is cold and the shower is warm. The food was good and we did not have to wait long for service. The beach is well maintained, and the drinks are free. We went diving for 5 days and used an outside dive service because the dive operation on the resort was more expensive. Staff was friendly (thanks Karina) and we had to work to find any complaints. My wife and I are seasoned travelers and we rarely go to the same place twice but I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: We are older travelers (over 50) so we always book a bottom floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JurassicDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear JurassicDiver,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, staff, the restaurants, bars, rooms and the island Cozumel. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We read all of the reviews too. I was already convinced that some people were probably too picky based on many of the posted positive reviews. For the price it simply cannot be beat. First of all, you are going to an island and it is all inclusive. The staff is awesome. I watched them all and they all were great. They worked soooooooo hard but ALWAYS were smiling. They always made the guests feel great. Granted, this was my first all inclusive but I was very impressed. If we paid 850.00 per person, you have to subtract 400.00 right off the bat for the price of the airfare from my state. There is no cheaper airfare than 400.00 from Ohio. That leaves 450.00 for a week of accommodations, all the food, all the drinks, all the liquor (top shelf at that!). I don't know how they can do that. That is not to mention the entertainers, grounds keepers, maid service, cooks etc. No where in the states can you even get a hotel room for 450.00 for a week. The place was super clean, the grounds, flowers, gardens were beautiful. The pools were clean! Sparkling clean. I'm sure my 12 year old son drank 100.00 a day in smoothie type drinks and they were always served to him with a smile. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank honeybuny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear honeybuny29,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were a large group of 21. When we first arrived we had some problems with the rooms but were fixed. We booked the resort back in November and apparently things changed by the time we got there (mid June). They had split the resort and we no longer had the amenities that were indicated on the website such as swim up bars and the nice restaurants and you have to be 18 or older. Nelly went above and beyond our expectations to accommodate us. Thank you so much Nelly!!! The food in our resort was mediocre and the service was friendly, but very slow. The housekeeping definitely needs improvement. When restocking our fridge, they spilled an open soda can but never cleaned the inside of the fridge or the floor. There were times when towels were not replaced and we did not have bottles of water. We stayed in a Tropical View room but from what I heard the ocean view rooms were much nicer and housekeeping was much better. With all that being said, the entertainment was great!! Jose, Enrique and Santana made our stay very enjoyable. They were very interactive with the guests and had lots of activities to participate in. I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts in Mexico and this one was by far the best entertainment. Thank you Jose, Enrique and Santana, you guys rock!! I haven't found a resort yet that has both great accommodations and great entertainment.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are much nicer than the Tropical View rooms and apparently housekeeping was bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Debbie N,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you enjoyed however, we are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this resort 10 years ago when it was the reed club they have done a great job upgrading. I work for an airline and have been coming to Cozumel for 20 years. The resort is kept very clean and the service was good the only problem we had was when they cleaned are rooms was no towels left. The food taste like Cozumel food it's kinda the same no matter where you stay. IM an advid scuba diver , the reef in front of the resort is beaten up and not much to look at if you want to snorkel. You might want to go down to chacknaba. The dive shop, dive house was friendly and helpful. The resort is good for familiar with lots to do for the kids. For the price and what you get I would say it's one of the best deals on the island.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Paul H.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Before vacationing at the Sunscape Sabor I read all the reviews and decided to go despite some of the more frightening ones. I am glad to say that my family and I had a great vacation. Yes the resort could use some upgrades, but nothing I saw or experienced spoiled our trip. The food was adequate to meet our needs. The burgers at the seaside grill were very good, as was the Portofino Buffett. But as we learned at both you need to be there early to get the best food. The breakfast at Seaside was also very good, they had a good menu to choose from and the food was cooked to order. I have read in several reviews that the resort employees left something to be desired, but I am here to tell you that I did not meet one person at the resort that was not friendly or helpful. They all engaged us with a with a smile and greeting. I was also impressed by the front desk staff who always knew our name and room number. After making all the glowing remarks above I do have a couple of negative comments. The maid did not leave towels for us one day after cleaning our room, I contacted the desk and they promised a quick resolution, I had to ask two more time before they were delivered. They also failed to leave us bottled water the last day of our stay which is essential. The beach, the daily activities, and the staff are all number one in my book, anyone thinking of going to Cozumel should give this resort a look. If you don't scuba dive the snorkeling from the beach is amazing, saw hundreds of colorful fish, stingrays, small squid, Barracuda(a little scary), and a starfish. They also have Kayak, Hobie Cats, and paddle boards for the use. I want to thank everyone at this resort for a great experience.



Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank hawkeye61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear hawkeye61,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Sunscape Sabor that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,775 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,061 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
11.6 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £90 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun is at the heart of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the perfect Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway in an ideal island destination. Located on the small island of Cozumel, Sunscape Sabor is the most complete beachfront resort complex on the island. The 218 spacious guest rooms and suites offer finely-appointed amenities and beautiful views. Each guest room has a private balcony or terrace, mini-bar, flat screen TV, individual temperature control with air conditioning and more. Sunscape Cozumel's family-friendly experience features a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids. Connecting rooms and family suites plus kid and baby-friendly amenities are perfect for accommodating families. Families, friends, singles and couples will enjoy Unlimited-Fun(R) privileges with a variety of amenities and activities throughout the resort including limitless access to dining at four reservation-free restaurants and national and international alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages at three bars and lounges. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at the Seaside Grill. Take part in land and water sports, relax by one of two sparkling pools, indulge in the Spa by Pevonia(R), or bask in the sun on the largest beachfront of any resort in Cozumel. The kids can have a blast at the Explorer's Club, a fully supervised club with Red Cross certified staff for ages 3-12, while participating in various activities and programs. As a bonus, explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Dive into the deep at world-renowned dive sites with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator. A fun-filled getaway in the perfect island destination can be found at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing