We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and informative”

Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission
Ranked #96 of 281 Tours in Cozumel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ever wondered how Mexicans turn a spiky plant into their national drink? Free Tequila Tour by Casa Mission can provide you with all the answers. Are you ready for a real taste of Mexico? It's TEQUILA time! Free Tequila Tour by Casa Mission is the only one of its kind in Cozumel. Here, Toño, owner and producer of "HACIENDA LOS 3 TOÑOS" in Amatitlan, Jalisco will take you on a journey through the making of the national drink of Mexico, and you will learn basic fundamentals, like how to drink tequila to best savor. After or before the seminar, you can luch in Casa Mission offering an atmosphere that transports you through the history of a magnificent HACIENDA. Today, this property belongs to the Miranda Morales family who remodeled with tall ceilings the large hallways of the dining room, because here it is where they love to share with their guests the aromas and flavors of this Mexican home away from home.TEQUILA SEMINAR Sample 8 different varieties of tequila, and learn about the differences between them! Anejo, Reposado, Blanco, cream tequilas, dessert tequilas an more - you've never tasted tequila like this before. Learn the history of the Tequila making process and how different types of tequila are distilled and made. Enjoy lunch in Casa Mission #1 restaurant in Cozumel by Tripadvisor
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I were in Cozumel for a day from the cruise ship. It's definitely worth making a stop if you're purusing the island. The staff is nice, friendly, and fun. It's very interesting to see the natural process of how tequila is made. You also get to sample different varieties of tequilla and you simply can't beat that! :-)

In reference to some of the posts regarding the tequila quality, we purchased a bottle of tequilla and it was fine....no issue with it at all. It tasted just like what we sampled.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T_luvs2_travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    52
    17
    8
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Awesome little stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you are out and about touring the island, definitely make this a stop during your day. Informative and entertaining and lets face it, there's always room for more tequila.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry19_62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This tour was wonderful, educational and NOT a scam. I think some people are confusing this place with one down the road. This was a high end restaurant and our Tequila is exactly the same as what we tasted.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ripped Off! Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

While in Cozumel we were taken to this tour. Had a lovely informative tour. Tequila tasting was awesome! Smooth and Delicious. Which is why we bought $110.00 of les tonos tequila. Came home, opened it and its acrid and disgusting, NOT the tequila we tasted. In addition, a simple google search shows this same bottle on sale for $69.99.
Rip Off
Avoid

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank threesixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damianmirandam, Owner at Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
I ask an apology in advance for your bad experience in Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission

Casa Mission wants the best for their clients, that is why we are getting better each day in the service area. All recommendation are analyzed and discussed in the end of the day to assess the successes and mistakes.Therefore, to provide the quality service that have distinguished us for 20 years.

Our tequila is produce by “NOM1459 (173) Tequila Selecto de Amatitlán” in tradicional process.
Although the agave goes through the process of cooking , juice purification obtained , fermentation, distillation, and aging in barrels, each of these stages affects the color, smell and taste.

It's like preparing a mole, not all do the same, tastes the same and even if is done by the same cook.

Pineapples agaves have to be selected and should verify that contain simple sugars such as fructose so it can be fermented by yeast , otherwise there would be no fermentation. And this is a factor that influences the organoleptic characteristics (color , odor , flavor , texture) of the final product.

Other external factors such as agitation of the bottle, the weather, and the misuse of the bottle kill the natural flavor of the tequila. Tequila bottle should be treated as a baby.

Now with internet we have problems with companies offering our tequilas even without having them in stoke. This obviously with the aim of appealing to consume in their site and offer other products

if you are not satisfied with the quality of our tequila you buy. Please contact me at mail info@missioncoz.com for full refund of your money

All the staff in Casa Mission invite you to come again and see how we are improving!

Best Regards,

owner and friend

Damian Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Informative and Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Short visit through the tequila tour, very informative, tastings were good, bought a bottle of anejo spent $85 for a bottle but what are vacations for if you have to worry about every penny you spend, looking forward to sipping this good stuff. Guava flavored was very good, chocolate a bit too sweet for me and the mango was good as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tuftxnswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission also viewed

 

Been to Free Tequila Tour By Casa Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing