We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cucina Italiana

La Cucina Italiana
Ranked #80 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

La Cocina Italiana is run by real Italians out of their home. They make a smorgasbord lunch in which you choose your entree. You get soup, bread, a small salad, and tea or lemonade with the lunch. We had chicken Parmesan and spinach ravioli, and both were very good. We like the homey atmosphere. And the prices are great. Our bill for 2 was under $200 pesos. ($16 US)....not counting tip.

So don't compare the food to Prima's or some high end Italian restaurant that charge 4 times more, because it is a little cheaper and more mass produced. Still, it is great food.

Remember..it is only open for lunch after 1PM.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubadoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a cute little place in town. It is a lady from Italy, and it's the atmosphere is like a home. It's sort of a buffet style. You get soup, then salad, then you pick from the items of the day. Each day is different, but it's great authentic Italian!!! It's the cutest place to eat and very friendly. Everyone loved the food, and we all shared. The dressing on the salad was amazing...I could have had a glass of it! But, while the main course was good, I about died when I had the tirumisu. I have never had anything like it before, and worth the whole trip! Search out this little place...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

As you walk into the restaurant (which is the living room of a house), you are greeted by a counter full of the day's offerings, each with a different price. You select from one of the entrées, take a seat, and the lunch begins. Each entrée comes with soup, salad, toasted garlic bread, and agua fresca, and the meat dishes come with a small side of pasta. The first course was somewhat-interesting chicken and Israeli couscous with a hint of cloves, but it was a bit on the bland side. The salad, though small, had very good, crisp lettuce, and it had just the right amount of a delicious balsamic vinaigrette. I ordered the chicken parmesan and my wife ordered sliced pork tenderloin with a brown gravy. My chicken was tasty, but soggy (all of the food is cooked before you arrive and is reheated once ordered). The accompanying pasta was also on the bland side. My wife's pork was very dry and also lacked flavor. Also, the melon agua fresca had obviously been in a pitcher of ice that melted, because it was way too diluted. The service was quite friendly and attentive, which always makes the experience better. All in all, it wasn't bad for the money, but I'm not dying to return.

PS...the name of the restaurant is actually La Cucina Italiana. The tripadvisor title is wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benitodisparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family restaurant always the way to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Casual loving feeling with home made food, hard to go wrong here.
When the owners of a restaurant are there to take care of you and they know, its always a win win experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmoman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

One of the finest Italian cuisine for those who like food with little add on flavors. It serves only lunch and opens Monday to Friday from 1 pm to 5 pm. The best way to find its location is to go to San Miguel Hospital from Rafael melgar ( which is a downtown street) and walk straight further 1 block.

The place has a different main course menu every single day. It serves vegetarian, chicken, beef, bacon, rabbit, seafood and lots more. A single meal comprises of A bowl of soup, a bowl of salad, garlic bread, main dish which is generally accompanied with pasta and unlimited fruit flavored drinks or iced tea.

Around 10-15 USD a nice complete meal can be enjoyed with their best dessert in town called Tiramisu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina Italiana also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing