We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort great, weather not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Resort great, weather not”
Reviewed 3 May 2004

My husband and I took our 2 girls (12 and 9) to Park Royal Feb 12-20, 2004.
The hotel accommodated us perfectly with a 2 bedroom hotel room that was very clean. The beds were all twins and very comfortable, not hard as some reviews have mentioned. The hotel pool was nice but water was cold. Their beach was very small. The kids pool was enclosed with 2 small slides. Pick up your towels first thing as they tended to run out later on.
This was our first all inclusive with kids. Breakfast was the best meal as it was buffet style with the usual foods. Lunch could be eaten in the buffet again or at the pool bar. Dinner was either the buffet again or a small restaurant. The problem was the food at night was similar to day and it never changed. The restaurant was nice but out of the 7 days we were there were only able to get a reservation for our last night. Book this before 7am or earlier for that night - it fills up FAST and they don't take reservations for the following night.
The website promised entertainment every night. We only had a show 2 nights.
Rent a jeep from the hotel lobby and drive the island. There are some very nice beaches and restaurants. This is a cruise ship port so sometimes the town gets very busy.
The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and we felt very safe. Despite the very rainy and cool weather (we only had 2 days of sun), we had a great vacation and would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    1,429
    557
    214
    159
See reviews for
1,274
1,677
75
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2004

4/10/2004 thru 4/17/2004 We had agreat time,food was good chief on duty breakfast,lunch and dinner.To start 3eggs fried or omelets,pancakes,toast and coffee.Wife had fruit,casadas with bacon,green peppers,cheese,tomatoes,and mushrooms and cereal.
Then it was off to pool,4 foot deep swim up bar on one side and or swim up to back sit in pool and eat lunch cheese bugers.nachos.salsa or cheese topping andice cream and drinks. then it was lunch at the buffet again chef was on duty more cheese bugers or roast chicken which i ate every day. more drinks, then down to beach wife laid in i sat at bar guess more drinks. Yes beach is small but protected from intruders.safe for kids. and you can swim out man made reef (airplane). Staff was excellant, friendly, and hard workers. We already planning next trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2004

We read the reviews (after booking) and were a little nervous, but figured we were not the kind of people who complain over nothing. I do have some complaint though. First the positive--the staff was very nice. The social directors were great. The snorkling was wonderful. The drinks never stopped flowing--we were not impressed with that--we were on a family vacation with the kids. The food was not a problem, nor were the beds--they were hard, but not bad. We had no problems with bugs )and I brought plenty of bug repellant after reading the reviews, but didn't need to use it!) The island is magnificent--you have to rent a car and go to the east side and see the gorgeous beaches. The negative now! The front desk did not have our reservation for us when we arrived even though we had a confirmation number given to us over the phone before leaving home. We were supposed to have adjoining rooms with our kids and that did not happen. It rained for two days and that's how we found out just how bad the place is. There were buckets out everywhere collecting the rain leaking through the roof making it an obstacle course. We were told the resort is closing down to make major renovations and will open as a luxury resort, (the model suite is beautiful) but that did not help us this time. If it hadn't been cold, raining and windy--which I'm told we had very unusual weather--then my review wouldn't be so bad, but we did and I'm being honest. The car rental at the resort was a disaster. The car was a death trap--it would never have passed inspection here in this country. So all and all I'm 50/50 about the Park Royal. I did enjoy myself, but we had too many problems to overlook and say it was great.

Helpful?
2 Thank nairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2004

We just returned from a great trip to Cozumel. We loved the island, the people and the reef! We did several dives (boat and shore) and found each trip out to be better than the one before. There's an excellent reef and a small plane just off the shore in front of Park Royal. An easy snorkel or shore dive. All the staff were lovely - especially if you use nice MANNERS and speak a little Spanish whenever you can. I was stunned at how rude so many of the tourists were with these gracious, hard-working people. We took a whole bunch of little things from the dollar shop and gave them out everywhere - people were delighted with these simple little gifts and never forgot us throughout our stay.
Little items for the maid resulted in elaborate towel art - roosters, turtles, an elephant and of course, swans. The bartender served us first, remembered our orders and filled our glass. The food was very good and there was a huge variety of offerings. The grounds are magnificent - beautiful trees and plants, shade and sun, lovely pool, excellent little beach. The rooms are ordinary, a little run-down but clean and great views! If you go, be sure to rent a car and see the magnificent beaches on the far side of the island and snorkel at Dzul-Ha (just south of town). We will definitely be back - I can't wait.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2004

My wife and I stayed for seven nights and had a wonderful time. Some of the negative reviews I've read smack of chronic complaining. This is a three star place for sure but our room was clean, the staff were very helpful and we didn't ever see any bugs in anything we ate. We had no problem getting a cup of coffee and didn't mind getting our own cup when things got busy for the staff. You folks complaining about the Latinos in the floor shows etc. etc. should stay home and watch wrestling. This is a great place to stay and we will definitely come back. Adios Amigos!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 6 July 2016
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your enchanting experience and for choosing Grand Park Royal Cozumel as host of your vacation.

It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities as well as the service provided. Our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible and it is gratifying to know that we succeeded.

Reading such positive reviews motivates us to work hard in order to improve every day.

I look forward to your next visit to make your upcoming stay as memorable and pleasant as you deserve.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2004

We stayed at the Park Royal from 3/6 to 3/13. We got in early and were worried that we would have to wait for our room but we were checked in and shown to our room in about a 1/2 hour which gave us time for lunch and snorkeling. It was like having an extra day. The staff was very helpful, even though language was sometimes a problem. I read that some people were robbed at the resort and it did happen to our next door neighbors while we were there but they had strong boxes at the front desk which we took advantage of and had no problems at all. The resort grounds were nice and kept clean. The food wasn't the best in the world but it was good and served hot. You could go to the on-site resturant which was very good even though they only had 4 items on the menu. The only problem we really had was the room with double beds. We asked for a king but were told that they have no view. All in all our experiance was good and would stay at the Park Royal again

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear guest,..

Please let me thank you in the first place for staying at Grand Park Royal Cozumel.

Since our main goal is to constantly improve the services we offer, any kind of feedback is of great value to us.Please receive my most sincere apologies for the unfortunate situations experienced during your stay.

Please be sure that the corresponding departments have been aware of this situation in order to avoid future discontents.I hope you granted us the opportunity to demonstrate the enhancements achieved after our guests' valuable feedback.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager Dear Guest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2004

My sister, 7 yr old daughter, and I, just came back from a trip to Cozumel and stayed at Park Royal. I, like others had read good and bad reviews on this place before going. So I was a little afraid of what to expect. I definitely now frown upon all those bad reviews because our stay there was great. The food was good and of great variety. The staff was very friendly and informative. Our room was clean and no problems with it. The bars provided great drinks all day and all night. And they had several activities planned for adults and children throughout the day. I would definitely say that it's worth the money you pay and more when it comes to all those good drinks you can have. I would have to say that if your looking for an elegant, luxury type place this isn't it, but it's an affordable, comfortable, good place to stay and relax for a few day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Dear guest,..

It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities as well as the service provided. Our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible and it is gratifying to know that we succeeded.

Allow me to let you know that this kind of reviews encourages us to strive for a service of excellence.

I look forward to your next visit to make your upcoming stay as memorable and pleasant as you deserve.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager Dear Guest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing