We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good food, beautiful location, annoying people trying to make you join their club/timeshare.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, beautiful location, annoying people trying to make you join their club/timeshare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed there for only 1 night, sadly. We booked our stay through Cheaptickets for $150 for 2 people, all inclusive.

Check in was easy. We took a taxi from the ferry for 80 pesos. Don't fall for the guy trying to sell you a rental car if you plan on staying in the hotel for most of the time. It is not worth it. It was annoying to be attacked by the so-called concierge people who are actually just trying to get you to join their club. We had it easy, since we were staying for just one night. We just told them we had no time.

THE ROOM
We had a garden facing room that was clean and spacious. It had two double beds and a large shower with good water pressure. They provided us with ample toiletries, which was nice, even though we had our own. Our bed was comfortable, clean and nice. We had lots of channels on TV and a nice view of the trees. I found it weird that their shower is glass enclosed being in a room for up to four people...

THE FOOD
The food at the buffet is alright, not extraordinary. For breakfast the had basic dishes. They do have an omelette/egg station. They serve fruit, toast, juice, cereal, and a few other things.
For dinner at the buffet it was Asian night. The selection was not very large, but the food was pretty tasty. We stopped by for a small dinner, as we had reservations at the Mexican place. Both times, the service there was ok.

The Mexican place was delicious! We had late night reservations. The food we ordered was deliciously excellent. The flan that has caramel mixed in it is to die for! In addition to your meal, they bring you a plate to share with a little sample of authentic Mexican snacks. It was so cute/tasty! The service there was EXCELLENT!

The food at the snack shops was good too! The one by the beach/pool had the BEST service. They were serving freshly grilled burgers, hot dogs, pizza (the pizza wasn't all that), nachos, a variety of cut up fruit with powdered chile (if you wanted). We had a feast!

THE SHOW
We went to see the Pre-Hispanic show. It was blah. I tried hard to enjoy it, but was glad to have to leave for our dinner reservation.

CHECK OUT was easy.The guy at the front desk was polite and friendly. They helped us get a taxi for 80 pesos back to the ferry.

We were there on a VERY, VERY windy/cold day and couldn't enjoy the pool or beach, but it was still beautiful to look at. I think it would have been very nice in nicer weather.

We will be going back!

Room Tip: Maybe one near an elevator, just to make it easier to get to the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizluvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    1,371
    535
    198
    151
See reviews for
1,186
1,611
73
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kihei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Park Royal Cozumel for 15 days in May 2013 and 10 days in November 2013. Both times were superb - great food, clean rooms and grounds, friendly staff. Time share people can be a bit pushy, but once you let them know you've done the presentation once they lay off! The scuba diving in Cozumel is the best in the world - great viz, vibrant colorful corals, sea fans, etc. All in all, I would recommend Park Royal to everyone - for the price you can't beat it.

Room Tip: request higher floors, above palm trees, for best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mauiblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A beautiful resort with employees to please.. I could not say enough about the service we received at the hotel, restaurants, and bars. They truly made me feel pampered . They had a buffet with plenty to offer for every pallet. A little fine dinning in the Mexican Steakhouse or the Italian Restaurant. either fine dinners had mouth watering dishes that melted in your mouth. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were average, but comfortable. The pools were clean and well maintained . Definitely enjoyed. the swim up bars and tasty snack bars. A very nice private beach sitting between 2 of the pools. A very clean relaxing environment. If it is to costly to fly direct there is a cheap flight from Cancun to Cozumel for around $ 60 U.S. dollars. .Alraedy booked a return trip in a few months.`

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy610_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Me and my wife been there for a couple of days, the rooms are very basic and not looks so good, but most of the time you are not in the room at all so it's OK.

The 2 pools on the beach are amazing and with the snack bar and the open bar- we just stayed there all day.
There are no so many youngsters there so the activities during the day are pretty poor. and as mentions before- The internet is not included and there in no wifi on the beach area.

The location- like any others good hotels in this island are driving distance from the center.

Last thing- for some reason when we stayed there was no hot waters in the room and the air condition was not working for couple of hours in all the hotel.

Room Tip: The Italian restaurant (need to make a reservation, but it's free ofcourse) is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in February 2013, went well. My travel partner worries about getting sick in Mexico and he didn't on this trip so when we went back he didn't want to change a thing. We made reservations in April for a November stay, bringing 2 other couples with us.

I have 2 major disappointments. Despite making a request 8 months in advance that we have rooms near each other, that didn't happen. We got a very nice email stating our request was received but that's it. Not only were we not on the same floor, we weren't even on the same end of the building. One of their 2 buildings was closed due to low occupancy and rooms on the entire first floor were being worked on, so I don't think they were too full to accommodate our request.

The second problem was the push to sell time shares. When we stayed in February maybe they were too busy to notice, otherwise they have ramped up pressure on the staff that sells time shares. I don't mind being asked once, but it became a DAILY nuisance, so much so that I would avoid walking through the lobby or certain parts of the property where I knew they were sitting. They start the conversation innocently enough too, "what are you doing today", "what can I help you with" but then its hard to get away. I felt like I had to be downright rude. I speak Spanish and can get around fairly easily in Mexico, I feel bad for those who get wrapped up in this conversation thinking they are getting legitimate concierge services.

Otherwise a great property. We chose it initially for the little bit of sandy beach that it has (one of the few in Cozumel, fairly close to downtown action). The group was happy with food choices, staff were pleasant and eager to please and the property is kept very clean.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ViJWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Park Royal from Nov 8-15, 2013. Too bad it was rainy season (our mistake), because the hotel and pool areas were beautiful. We were able to make the best of it by taking tours (snorkeling; submarine; chocolate making etc.) and did get a couple days at the pool. The food at the buffet was average, but the Italian Restaurant was fabulous! The sales people were around, but after the 'presentation' on the second day, they left us alone. The room was very nice (1 bedroom suite) and spacious. We would return in a different season!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite on the 8th floor at the very end of the main building. View of the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Park Royal for our honeymoon. Luckily we got a voucher from livingsocial, had we paid full-price we would have been a bit disappointed. The TravelAdvisor people in the lobby will chase you down which was quite annoying especially since we would tell them we weren't interested and they would continue to follow us through the resort. We just wanted to relax on a beach, we werent interested in activities. We pretty much avoided that area most of our trip. We did not receive a king size bed as requested for our honeymoon but did not give too much of a stink about it. Also, we had to ask for the other perks included in our voucher but that's ok too. The beds were very firm but I found them comfy, the rooms are on the small side.
Good things: the food was delicious, we really enjoyed the buffet and the Italian restaurant. The snack bar was convenient as well. We kept feeling as though the bar staff was expecting tips and noticed that after our first day they paid less and less attention to us and weren't as friendly and the drinks were weaker. We were advised that we were not supposed to tip (via the voucher and also front desk staff), so we were confused on that.
The snorkeling was awesome, we "rented" snorkel gear (basically just give them your ID and they give you the gear for an hour). I would advise buying or bringing an underwater digital camera, such a great investment.
It was pretty cool to see the cruise ships docked and we met some really cool cruise ship entertainers while we were there. The mall that is next door was just kind of okay. Nothing too special.
Wifi is not free, the gym is not free, and the phones they have for international calls require you to purchase their phone cards and some of the phones are not in perfect working condition (I wasted 100 pesos calling my mom-- the phone was broken and she couldnt hear me).
To use the gym it costs $5 a day. The treadmills in the gym were broken, but we used their weights and elliptical. They have a "spa" and we chose to do both the private steam room and private jacuzzi. Very relaxing!
Overall, it was a nice first leg of our honeymoon trip but Im very happy that we scheduled a couple days in cancun as well.

Overall: It

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing