We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying to be a top notch resort, but not there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trying to be a top notch resort, but not there yet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

As an RCI member made reservations for two rooms for 7 days. I reservations were for ocean front rooms with a king bed, above the 5th floor and I requested that if possible the rooms be adjoining. The only thing we got was the adjoining. When I questioned the desk clerk he became "almost" rude. He stated to me what I've read on trip advisor from previous reviews. If you are not part of their timeshare company, you do not get any of the good rooms. We were put on the 3rd floor. While we could kind of see the ocean, it wasn't the same as ocean front. The rooms were clean, but well worn and the beds are like sleeping on bricks. The HVAC in one of the rooms wouldn't turn down and it was under 60 degrees in the room. Once we called they did take care of it. The food is ok, they try and have a different type of food each day. The specialty restaurants dress code is a JOKE! I packed long pants, and a dress shirt and my wife wore a dress. We get there and see that we are the only ones meeting the dress code, most are in shorts and t-shirt. I write about this because I specifically called the resort and asked them if the dress code on their website was enforced, and they said it was. Don't pack the extra clothes; go in your shorts and sandals. The pool bar closes 1 hour before the pool closes, not sure why this is but it sure doesn't seem right to me. I would stay here again for two reasons. One, the scuba dive shops will pick you up on the peer next door. Two, the room only cost me $250 for the week and the all inclusive was under $700. There are nicer places to stay in Cozumel, but the all inclusive packages at those places are outrages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank team-tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. All our clients are important for us and we will pass along your feedback to our management team and greatly appreciate you sharing your concerns.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    1,371
    535
    198
    151
See reviews for
1,187
1,612
73
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

May 2014 my wife and I took an all inclusive vacation at the park royal. It was an excellent vacation,the staff was wonderful and very attentive. Juan the food manager did everything he could to make our stay the very best. He and his staff made for a memorable vacation. The grounds were clean, although the infinity pool could be updated. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher up gives a better view of water and cruise ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad to know you had an amazing time staying at Park Royal Cozumel.

We love taking care of our clients and it makes us proud that we could assist you during your stay with us. This review will certainly be helpful for those who plan on staying with us.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort is part of a chain of timeshare properties so you can be sure you'll be pressured to listen to a sales pitch when you arrive. The grounds and our room are very neat and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good and the ala cart restaurants are excellent. However the method to reserve an ala cart dinner is ridiculous (you must either phone or show up in person from noon to 5 each day) and difficult to do unless you never leave the property. So we only went twice during our week-long stay. The beach is okay and you can snorkel right there off the property. Loved the convenience of the dive shop right next door and they are highly recommended. My chief complaints would be the limited hours each place is open for each meal. Yes, you can eat from 7 am to about 10 pm but you have to know the schedule for each restaurant. The drinks were good and the bartenders were friendly. One of the three pools was closed for maintenance during our stay. We didn't like the limited seating in the lower level lobby bar where everyone likes to hang out in the evening and you could count on someone smoking there every night despite the no smoking signs. Overall a nice resort in a convenient location and a good value for the money.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the 6th floor or higher. Otherwise your ocean view will be limited due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthebeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Park Royal Cozumel.

Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection; please, let me offer an apology if some of our services did not meet your expectations, however, we appreciate your comments and they'll be taken seriously as they give us the opportunity to better understand the needs of our customers.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show the improvements made thanks to your valuable comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second visit to the Park Royal Cozumel. As like the first time, the grounds are impeccably maintained !!! Never any litter of any sort on the grounds. Check-in was a breeze and our rooms were ready when we arrived at approx 1:30. The only thing negative with our room was the shower handle was loose which made it a bit of a task to find the hot water side, but not a big deal.
Drinks were free flowing and they would make whatever you wanted as long as they had the ingredients( no mint so no Mojitos:( ). The food was excellent, plenty of variety, always fresh, and plentiful. If there was some food that wasn't out, like guacamole, just ask and they'll bring you some, fresh made !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad to know you had enjoyed your stay at Park Royal Cozumel.

We love taking care of our clients and it makes us proud that we could assist you during your stay with us. This review will certainly be helpful for those who plan on staying with us.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again on the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We don't have too much negative things to say about the place - the staff are very polite and service-minded, the entertainment is fun, they have a good selection of drinks and the Italian a-la-carte is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our three-day stay.

However, staying for a full week would have been a drag for a few reasons: There's no internet connection, not a free one anyway, instead you have to pay a ridiculous amount of money to access the web. This is 2014, no serious places charge their guests for wifi anymore.

Then there's the evening entertainment. Sure, there are shows every night until 10PM, but after that the place falls asleep quickly. There's a sports bar open until 2AM, but there was rarely any people there at night. For a one-week vacation you would appreciate at least one night out. It's an all-inclusive place, so many people are reluctant to leave the grounds, but are unfortunately forced to for the reasons mentioned above.

There are plenty of activities by the pools and the beach, so your days won't have to be boring. The rooms are spotless and spacious, and there's plenty of food and snacks available all day. Some sort of 24-hour availability of drinks and food would be preferred, however, since the resort is quite remote. Walking to the city takes some 45 minutes, while the taxis charge 8$ one way.

Anyway, we had a great three days and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for shorter stays, or for people who goes to sleep early and don't use internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Park Royal Cozumel.

Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection; we appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, however, we will seriously consider your comments about our services.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show the improvements done thanks to valuable opinions like yours.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Pretty sweet spot to spend a couple of days in the sun beside the pool or snorkeling in the private beach. Good food variety with the 3 different restaurants, the Mexican restaurant was definitely the best place to have dinner. My partner had the 1 hour massage but was disappointed with the experience. There is only a thin curtain between the massage place and the spa so can hear everything people are saying by the pool. The massage was supposed to be a soft massage but she found it too hard and not very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We're glad to know you had a good time while staying with us, however, we would like to extend an apology for the discomfort you experienced at the massage area. We´ll be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

We take feedback from our guests very seriously and will certainly pass along your concerns to our respective teams.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I took a trip with friends to Cozumel. They had stayed at the Park Royal several times before and loved it. I was so impressed at how beautiful it was! The landscaping, pools, beaches and architecture were beautiful. We ate daily at the buffet, some days were better than most but for breakfast you must get an omelet!! It was delicious and breakfast was probably the best meal.

Probably the biggest pet peeve I had was with our room. They were great and i liked that our room each had a door that we opened and could get into each others rooms without going into the hall.... but although we had rooms next to each other our shower water temp was on opposite ends of the scale. They had the perfect temperature every time they showered and the water actually got hotter or colder depending on which way they turned the dial. My husband and i had the shower that if you turned it all the way to hot it was still freezing cold. It was extremely unpleasant. We didn't complain but know that now that before we unpack we need to check the water temperature.

Overall, we had an amazing trip. It was so much fun and staying at the Park Royal was definitely one of the highs of our trip. I don't know if I would stay anywhere else when we go back to CZM. I'm pretty sold on the Park Royal.

Also, as a side note - they have peacocks by the theater!!! If you stay here then definitely check them out! We got lucky the first day because the males had their tales fluffed up and we got a ton of beautiful pictures.

When we asked for a better room in the tower we were denied, we tried to give them some "incentive" to give us a better view but they said there were no rooms. Better luck next time!

I'm sure I could say more but overall it was a lovely stay, even with a cold shower every night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We appreciate all of our guests' feedback and are happy to hear that you had a great time. We´ll be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing